Co2 vs Mopa Laser Engraver: Which One Should You Buy?
Two MOPA fiber machines compared for color marking on metal, by power, speed, work area, software and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
OMTech 100W CO2 Laser Engraver with 4 Way Pass Through Air9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
xTool F2 Ultra 60W MOPA & 40W Diode Dual Laser Engraver 100+9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
OMTech 100W Fiber Laser Engraver with Lightburn and Rotary9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
XUNKUANER CO2 Laser Lens 18mm FL 50.8mm / 2" CO2 Laser MirrorView on Amazon - 5
OMTech K40+ 45W CO2 Laser Engraver & Cutter with LightBurnView on Amazon - 6
OMTech K40+ 45W CO2 Laser Engraver & Cutter with Rotary AxisView on Amazon - 7
OMTech K40+ 45W CO2 Laser Engraver & Cutter with CW-3000View on Amazon - 8
OMTech K40+ 45W Desktop CO2 Laser Engraver & CutterView on Amazon - 9
OMTech Maker 150W CO2 Laser Engraver & CutterView on Amazon
A maker who sells marked metal tags and jewelry wants color marking on metal, and that need frames this choice. The co2 vs mopa laser engraver question cannot be settled from these listings alone, because both machines featured here are MOPA machines, so this guide compares the two MOPA machines in detail, with color marking on metals as the headline skill, and makes no claim about a CO2 machine that is not listed here.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Verdict: No CO2 machine is featured in this comparison, so this guide does not pick MOPA over CO2. Between the two MOPA machines featured here, the 60W machine wins on its stated 2-year warranty, while the 100W machine offers higher listed power and a deeper engraving pass. Both list adjustable pulse frequency and width for color marking on metals, gemstones and silicon.
Machines on the list

OMTech 60W MOPA Fiber Laser Marking Machine
A 60W JPT MOPA fiber laser marking machine with a 175x175mm work area, color marking on metals, LightBurn support and a stated 2-year warranty.
Pros
- Adjustable pulse frequency and width for color designs on metals
- 10000 mm/s rated speed with 0.1 mm accuracy
- Galvanometric system with F-theta lens under 1% distortion
- Footpad trigger and 4-pin rotary port for batch and curved work
Cons
- Open design with eyewear that states no OD or wavelength range
- Work area figures differ: title lists 7x7 inch, bullets list a 6.9x6.9 inch field
- No laser class stated on the listing
- Rotary axis connection only, with no rotary axis stated as included

OMTech 100W Fiber Laser Engraver with Lightburn
A 100W JPT MOPA fiber laser marking machine with two lens fields, color marking on metals, LightBurn support and a galvanometric system.
Pros
- 100W power with a deeper pass of up to 0.15 mm
- Two lens fields, 6.9x6.9 inch or 4.3x4.3 inch
- Same 10000 mm/s speed and 0.1 mm accuracy as the 60W
- Galvanometric system with F-theta lens under 1% distortion
Cons
- No warranty term stated on the listing
- Rotary axis stated as not included, despite the title wording
- Field figures differ: title lists 7x7 lenses, bullets list a 6.9x6.9 inch field
- Laser class figure does not match a 100W beam, so it earns no safety credit
Other machines to compare
XUNKUANER CO2 Laser Lens 18mm FL 50.8mm / 2" CO2 Laser MirrorCheck price on Amazon
OMTech K40+ 45W CO2 Laser Engraver & Cutter with LightBurnCheck price on Amazon
OMTech K40+ 45W CO2 Laser Engraver & Cutter with Rotary AxisCheck price on Amazon
OMTech K40+ 45W CO2 Laser Engraver & Cutter with CW-3000Check price on Amazon
OMTech K40+ 45W Desktop CO2 Laser Engraver & CutterCheck price on Amazon
OMTech Maker 150W CO2 Laser Engraver & CutterCheck price on Amazon
Side by side
| Spec | OMTech 60W MOPA | OMTech 100W MOPA | Reading |
|---|---|---|---|
| HQ Score | 70 | 61 | Stated warranty lifts the 60W total |
| Laser | 60W MOPA fiber, JPT | 100W MOPA fiber, JPT | Higher rated power on the 100W |
| Speed | 10000 mm/s | 10000 mm/s | Same rated speed |
| Depth per pass | 0.1 mm | 0.15 mm | Deeper pass on the 100W |
| Accuracy | 0.1 mm | 0.1 mm | Same stated accuracy |
| Work area | 175x175mm, 6.9×6.9 inch field | 6.9×6.9 inch or 4.3×4.3 inch field | Two field choices on the 100W |
| Software | EzCad2, LightBurn | EzCad2, LightBurn | Same software pairing |
| Rotary | 4-pin port for rotary axis | Port, axis not included per bullets | Check inclusion before ordering |
| Laser class | Not stated | Class 2, 0.874 mW output power | Figure does not match a 100W beam; no safety credit given |
| Warranty | 2-Year Warranty from Seller | Not stated | Only the 60W states a term |
| MTTF | Over 100,000 hours | Over 100,000 hours | Same stated MTTF |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 30 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
Laser power and engraving depth in the co2 vs mopa laser engraver choice
Both featured machines are JPT MOPA fiber marking machines, and neither listing states cutting, so the figures here are engraving depth per pass on metals, not cut depth. Both list the same rated speed of 10000 mm/s with an accuracy of 0.1 mm. The 60W machine engraves metals up to 0.1 mm on each pass, while the 100W machine engraves metals up to 0.15 mm on each pass, so the 100W machine lists the deeper engraving pass. The CO2 side has no listed example here, so no power figure is claimed for it in this guide, and no side is called better on a spec that only one side states.
Workspace
The 60W machine lists a 175x175mm work area with a 6.9×6.9 inch field, a laser locator, and a workbed with a built-in grid and positioning bars. The 100W machine lists two lens fields, a 6.9×6.9 inch field or a 4.3×4.3 inch field, with the same grid and bars. Only the 60W listing states product dimensions, at 17.8 inches x 22.1 inches x 27.6 inches.
Materials
Both listings name metals, gemstones and silicon for color marking, with adjustable pulse frequency and width permitting a rainbow of colorful designs, and both state an MTTF over 100,000 hours. Neither listing suggests PVC or vinyl, and those materials should never be lasered.
Software and ecosystem
Both machines include EzCad2 software for Windows, support various image formats, and list LightBurn in their bundle descriptions. A footpad trigger aids batch work on both, and a 4-pin port connects a rotary axis for curved surfaces. Software does not separate these two machines.
Safety and enclosure
Both machines use an open design, and both listings state that protective eyewear comes included. Neither listing states an OD or wavelength range for that eyewear, so this guide does not count it as rated protection. The 100W listing states a laser class 2 with 0.874 mW output power, but that figure cannot describe the output of a 100W marking beam, so this guide does not count it as a safety credential for the marking laser. Stay with the machine while it runs and keep a fire extinguisher nearby.
Ventilation
Marking metal still calls for a ventilated work area and attention while the machine runs. Neither listing states a ventilation accessory, so run the machine in a ventilated space and never leave it running unattended.
Add-ons and growth
The rotary axis is the main growth path on both machines, through the 4-pin port for curved surfaces. The 100W listing adds a second growth option in its two lens fields, letting the reader work across a wider or a smaller field. Note the inclusion gap on the 100W machine: its title wording mentions a rotary axis, but its bullets state that the rotary axis is not included, so a reader who needs rotary work should confirm inclusion before ordering.
Support and warranty
Warranty is the sharpest separator in this pair. The 60W listing states a 2-year warranty from the seller, while the 100W listing states no warranty term at all. That stated term is the main reason the 60W machine ranks first here despite its lower rated power.
Choose the OMTech 60W MOPA if
Choose it if a stated warranty term matters, if the single 6.9×6.9 inch field fits the work, and if stated product dimensions help plan the bench space. It is the steadier pick for a first MOPA machine bought for color marking on metals.
Choose the OMTech 100W MOPA if
Choose it if higher rated power, a deeper pass on each pass and two lens fields matter more than a stated warranty term. It is the pick for a reader who already knows the MOPA workflow and wants the wider field choice.
Both machines featured here use an open design, and the eyewear included is not stated with an OD or wavelength range, so it does not count as rated protection on these listings. The class 2 figure on the 100W listing, with 0.874 mW output power, does not match a 100W beam and is not counted as a safety credential. Stay with the machine while it runs, keep a fire extinguisher nearby, ventilate, and never laser PVC or vinyl.
Project Match
- Color-marked metal tags and jewelry: either machine, since both list color marking on metals, gemstones and silicon.
- Small metal parts in batches: either machine, with the footpad trigger for batch work stated on both listings.
- Curved surfaces: either machine through the 4-pin rotary port, noting the 100W listing states the rotary axis is not included.
- Flat pieces across two field sizes: the 100W machine, with its 6.9×6.9 inch or 4.3×4.3 inch fields.
- Work needing a stated warranty term: the 60W machine only, with its 2-year warranty from the seller.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
Is MOPA better than CO2 for metal?
This guide cannot answer that from its listings, because it features no CO2 example. The MOPA listings state adjustable pulse frequency and width that permit colorful designs on metals, gemstones and silicon, but without a listed CO2 machine this guide claims no CO2 figure and does not call MOPA better than CO2.
What is the difference between the 60W and 100W machines?
The 100W machine lists higher rated power, a deeper pass of up to 0.15 mm against 0.1 mm, and two lens fields. The 60W machine lists a stated 2-year warranty and stated product dimensions, while the 100W listing states a laser class 2 and no warranty term.
Can these machines mark curved surfaces?
Only with a rotary axis connected through the 4-pin port, which both listings describe for engraving curved surfaces. The 100W listing states the rotary axis is not included, and the 60W listing states only the port, not that an axis is included, so confirm rotary inclusion before ordering if curved work is the plan.
Does the included eyewear count as protection?
Not on these listings. Both listings state that protective eyewear comes included, but neither states an OD or wavelength range for it, so this guide does not count it as rated protection.
What software do they use?
Both machines include EzCad2 software for Windows and support various image formats, and both list LightBurn in their bundle descriptions.
Related: see our diode vs mopa laser engraver, our how to choose a laser engraver, our best laser engraver for beginners, our best laser engraver for metal and our best laser safety glasses for fiber laser.



