Diode vs Mopa Laser Engraver: Which One Should You Buy?
A diode machine covers wood, leather, acrylic and glass plus metal marking, while a MOPA machine is the dedicated bare-metal marking choice.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
xTool F2 Ultra 60W MOPA & 40W Diode Dual Laser Engraver 100+9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
xTool S1 40W Laser Cutter and Laser Engraver for Tumblers9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Creality Falcon2 Pro S 22W Laser Engraver9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Creality Falcon 10W Laser Engraver MachineView on Amazon - 5
LONGER RAY5 Laser EngraverView on Amazon - 6
AlgoLaser MK3 8W Diode Laser Engraver with 3.5" SmartView on Amazon - 7
LaserPecker LP2 Plus SpinTrack BundleView on Amazon - 8
Acmer S2 20W Laser EngraverView on Amazon - 9
LONGER RAY5 Mini Laser EngraverView on Amazon
A maker choosing between a diode machine and a MOPA machine is really choosing between different kinds of work. A diode machine engraves wood, leather, acrylic and glass, cuts wood and acrylic, and marks metal, while a MOPA machine is the bare-metal marking choice. For a maker whose work is signs, gifts and cut parts across many materials, a diode machine covers the broadest mix, and a MOPA machine earns its place when bare-metal marking is the main job. This guide explains the diode vs mopa laser engraver choice and walks through the diode machines in the listings below.
Other machines to compare
Creality Falcon 10W Laser Engraver MachineCheck price on Amazon
LONGER RAY5 Laser EngraverCheck price on Amazon
AlgoLaser MK3 8W Diode Laser Engraver with 3.5" SmartCheck price on Amazon
LaserPecker LP2 Plus SpinTrack BundleCheck price on Amazon
Acmer S2 20W Laser EngraverCheck price on Amazon
LONGER RAY5 Mini Laser EngraverCheck price on Amazon
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Buying guide: diode vs mopa laser engraver
Start with the material, not the machine. The diode listings here name wood, leather, acrylic, glass and metal, with cutting on wood and acrylic and marking on metal. A diode machine is the generalist: it engraves detailed designs, cuts wood and acrylic, and shapes gifts, signs and tags. A MOPA machine is the specialist: where the job is marking bare metal again and again, the MOPA side of this comparison is the dedicated choice. No MOPA machine appears in the listings for this guide, so the MOPA side below is described only in those general terms, and every figure in this guide comes from a diode listing.
Power figures need care. Always separate optical output from input power, and never compare one machine’s input figure with another machine’s optical figure. The Creality Falcon listing shows why: its title states 10W, while its bullets state an effective power of 72W and cutting through 12mm wood boards and 5mm black acrylic in one pass. Do not read the 72W figure as optical output; compare the Falcon with other machines on its 10W title figure. The AlgoLaser MK3 states an 8W diode laser, and the LONGER RAY5 states a 2.5W diode laser. The BlazeX M3 title states 10W.
Work area and speed shape what a machine can take on. The Falcon states a 15.7 x 16.3 in working area, given as 400 x 415 mm, at a rated 10000mm/min work speed. The AlgoLaser MK3 states a 400 x 400mm working area at speeds up to 15000mm/min. The LONGER RAY5 is the compact machine here: its title states a 131 x 140mm work area, while its bullets state a 140 x 130mm work area, so check the listing before planning a design to either figure. The BlazeX M3 listing states no work area, so its work area is Not stated here. Speed is rated in three listings here, and a rated speed is not a promise for every material.
The diode machines in this guide
BlazeX M3 10W. The fullest bundle here: a smart camera that previews the design on the material, a protective enclosure, a honeycomb laser bed, a tool kit and 13 engraving materials, with a Class 1 safety structure, a fan that exhausts smoke and odors, and sensors that stop the machine if it tilts or the lid opens. The listing states 0.01mm precision and compatibility with LightBurn, LaserGRBL and CutLabX. It ranks first on bundle completeness and enclosure safety, but its work area is Not stated, so measure the bed before planning large work.
AlgoLaser MK3 8W. An 8W diode machine with a 400 x 400mm working area, a 3.5 inch smart touchscreen with AlgoOS for PC-free running, and 95% pre-assembly stated. Its listing states a Class 1 laser safety structure with an emergency stop button, dual-lock authorization, and motion and tilt detection, plus a 1 Year warranty, the only concrete warranty term in this guide. It ranks second: a large work area with a clear safety story, but no enclosure is stated.
Creality Falcon 10W. A 10W diode machine with a 400 x 415 mm working area, a 0.06 x 0.06mm compressed spot, and stated cutting through 12mm wood boards and 5mm black acrylic in one pass. The listing states compatibility with LightBurn and LaserGRBL, offline creation with an SD card, an anti-UV filter acrylic on the laser module, and a pair of goggles. It ranks third: strong cutting claims and a large work area, but the 10W title figure sits beside a 72W effective power figure that must not be read as optical output, and no OD or wavelength range is stated for the goggles.
LONGER RAY5 2.5W. The compact machine here: a 2.5W diode laser at 12000mm/min, a 0.04 x 0.04mm laser spot, 0.01mm repeat accuracy, protective goggles and an emergency stop button, at a stated 5.02 pounds. Its listing states support for a rotary roller and chuck, an air assist kit, risers, a honeycomb bed and a shade cover, plus WiFi, USB, mobile app and offline running with LightBurn and LaserGRBL. It ranks last on power and work area, but first for a small desk: note the work area mismatch, 131 x 140mm in the title against 140 x 130mm in the bullets.
Safety and workspace
Two listings here state a Class 1 safety structure, the BlazeX M3 and the AlgoLaser MK3, and both of those also state tilt detection, with the AlgoLaser adding an emergency stop button and dual-lock authorization. The LONGER RAY5 states an emergency stop button and protective goggles. Goggles protect only when the listing states an OD and a wavelength range that matches the machine, and none of the goggle listings here states either, so do not treat included goggles as rated protection. The Falcon listing states an anti-UV filter acrylic that reduces 97% of ultraviolet rays as the maker states it, which is a filter claim, not eyewear protection.
Cutting work needs fire and ventilation planning. The BlazeX M3 states a fan that exhausts smoke and odors inside an enclosure. For open-frame machines, plan ventilation for fumes and watch cutting work for fire risk, since a laser cutting wood or acrylic can flare. Never laser PVC, vinyl, PVC faux leather, polycarbonate or ABS, and check the material before every job. Keep a fire plan for the workspace, and follow the machine manual for setup and supervision.
How to choose
- Material mix first. Wood, leather, acrylic, glass and general metal marking point to a diode machine like the four here. Bare-metal marking as the main job points to the MOPA side of this comparison.
- Work area second. The Falcon and the AlgoLaser MK3 state 400mm-class work areas, while the LONGER RAY5 states a compact area, 131 x 140mm in its title and 140 x 130mm in its bullets. Match the area to the largest design planned.
- Enclosure and safety third. The BlazeX M3 states an enclosure with a Class 1 structure, while the other three listings state no enclosure, with varying safety features. An enclosure matters most for shared rooms and teaching spaces.
- Software last. All four listings state LightBurn and LaserGRBL compatibility, so software rarely decides between these four; the AlgoLaser adds a touchscreen with AlgoOS, and the BlazeX adds a smart camera.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
What is a MOPA machine, in plain terms?
A MOPA machine is the bare-metal marking side of this comparison, bought when marking bare metal is the main job. No MOPA machine appears in the listings for this guide, so this guide gives no MOPA power or size figures; compare MOPA listings on their own figures before buying.
Can a diode machine mark bare metal?
The diode listings here state metal engraving and marking, with the BlazeX M3 stating engraving on metal and glass and the Falcon listing metals among its materials. For repeated bare-metal marking as the main job, the MOPA side is the dedicated choice, so weigh how much of the work is metal marking before deciding.
Do I need an enclosure?
An enclosure helps most in shared rooms, homes and teaching spaces. Only the BlazeX M3 listing here states an enclosure, with a Class 1 structure and a fan that exhausts smoke and odors, while the AlgoLaser MK3 states a Class 1 structure without an enclosure. Open-frame machines need a ventilation plan for fumes and a fire watch during cutting.
What work areas do these diode machines state?
The Falcon states 400 x 415 mm, and the AlgoLaser MK3 states 400 x 400mm. The LONGER RAY5 states 131 x 140mm in its title and 140 x 130mm in its bullets, so check the listing before planning a design. The BlazeX M3 listing states no work area.
Which diode machine here suits a beginner?
The BlazeX M3 bundle suits a beginner who wants a camera, an enclosure, a honeycomb bed and 13 engraving materials in one box. The AlgoLaser MK3 suits a beginner who wants a touchscreen with AlgoOS and 95% pre-assembly stated. The LONGER RAY5 suits a beginner with a small desk, given its compact area and largely pre-assembled build as the listing states it.
Related: the laser engraver hub, diode vs fiber laser, fiber vs MOPA laser for metal and best laser engraver for small business.



