We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more›

Best Laser Engraver Under $500: 6 Picks for Beginners and Etsy Sellers

Six open-frame diode laser engravers under $500, from a 12W compact to a 20W with a 418 x 418 mm bed, compared on optical power, bed size and safety stops.

Four diode laser engravers under 500 dollars shown as product cards with their HQ Scores: Twotrees TTS-20 Pro 64, ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 61, Creality Falcon 10W Kit 61, Longer Ray5 20W 59

Under $500 means an open-frame diode laser: a blue laser module on a metal gantry, no enclosure. These machines engrave wood, leather, slate and coated tumblers and cut thin plywood and dark acrylic, which covers most beginner and Etsy projects. This guide compares six from 10W to 20W, and focuses on the number listings most often blur: how much laser power you actually get.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Twotrees TTS-20 Pro: At least 19.5W optical, a 418 x 418 mm bed, Wi-Fi and TF card, and a stated 1 year warranty. Check price
  • Most Proven ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2: 1,474 ratings, 10W optical, a 390 x 410 mm area, a tilt sensor and goggles in the box. Check price
  • Best Bundle Creality Falcon 10W Kit: 10W with an air pump and a 4-in-1 rotary kit in the box, plus emergency stop and tilt stop. Check price
  • Best 20W With Touchscreen Longer Ray5 20W: 20W, a 400 x 365 mm area and a 3.5 in touchscreen with Wi-Fi. Check price
  • Best Budget ATOMSTACK Swift: 12W and a 300 x 300 mm area in a 2.8 kg frame that assembles in five minutes, at the lowest price of the six. Check price

Compare the picks

Model HQ Score Laser power (as stated) Work area Rated speed One-pass cut (rated) Air assist Warranty
Twotrees TTS-20 Pro 64 19.5W+ optical 418 x 418 mm 30,000 mm/min Not stated Not stated 1 year
ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 61 10W optical 390 x 410 mm Not stated 30 mm acrylic, 20 mm wood claimed (passes not stated) Port on module Not stated
Creality Falcon 10W Kit 61 10W output Not stated 10,000 mm/min 12 mm wood, 3 mm black acrylic Pump included Not stated
Longer Ray5 20W 59 20W 400 x 365 mm 24,000 mm/min 15 mm pine, 8 mm acrylic Not stated Not stated
Creality 10W 59 10W output (72W input) 17 x 16 in (title) 10,000 mm/min 5 mm basswood, 3 mm black acrylic Not stated 1 year
ATOMSTACK Swift 55 12W 300 x 300 mm 600 mm/s 8 mm basswood plywood, 4 mm black acrylic Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 5 October 2026. Laser power is shown exactly as each listing states it.

The picks

Award Product HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›
Twotrees TTS-20 Pro Laser Engraver Twotrees TTS-20 Pro Laser Engraver 64/100 Buy
ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 LU2-10A Laser Engraver ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 LU2-10A Laser Engraver 61/100 Buy
CREALITY FALCON 10w Laser Engraver with Air CREALITY FALCON 10w Laser Engraver with Air 61/100 Buy
LONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter Machine,20W LONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter Machine,20W 59/100 Buy
Creality Laser Engraver Machine 10W Output Power Creality Laser Engraver Machine 10W Output Power 59/100 Buy
ATOMSTACK Swift 12000mW Laser Engraver & Cutter ATOMSTACK Swift 12000mW Laser Engraver & Cutter 55/100 Buy
1
Twotrees TTS-20 Pro Laser Engraver

Twotrees TTS-20 Pro Laser Engraver

Twotrees · 64/100 HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20W open-frame diode with at least 19.5W stated optical power, a 418 x 418 mm bed and a 1 year warranty.

Pros

  • States optical power directly: at least 19.5W at 450 nm
  • 418 x 418 mm work area, the largest in this guide
  • Wi-Fi, USB and offline TF card jobs, with auto homing before each job
  • Listing table states a 1 year warranty

Cons

  • No safety features named in the listing
  • Its 499 ratings are shared with other Twotrees TTS models
  • No one-pass cut ratings stated
  • Air assist is an upgrade, not included
2
ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 LU2-10A Laser Engraver

ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 LU2-10A Laser Engraver

Ortur · 61/100 HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A long-selling 10W optical open frame with a 390 x 410 mm area, tilt sensor, cut-off safety logic and goggles.

Pros

  • By far the most ratings in this guide: 1,474
  • States 10W optical power and a 390 x 410 mm area
  • Stops the laser on tilt, on USB disconnect and after long idle
  • Laser cover filters 98% of UV per the listing, and goggles are included

Cons

  • Claims 30 mm acrylic and 20 mm wood cuts without saying how many passes
  • No warranty term in the listing
  • Air assist pump is not included, only the port
  • First listed in 2020; newer models are faster
3
CREALITY FALCON 10w Laser Engraver with Air

CREALITY FALCON 10w Laser Engraver with Air

CREALITY FALCON · 61/100 HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10W Falcon bundled with an adjustable air pump and the 4-in-1 Rotary Kit Pro for cups, rings and spheres.

Pros

  • Air pump and 4-in-1 Rotary Kit Pro in the box
  • Rated to cut 12 mm wood and 3 mm black acrylic in one pass
  • Emergency stop, plus auto stop on tilt, flip or drop with buzzer alert
  • Offline TF card jobs and LightBurn or LaserGRBL

Cons

  • Work area is not stated in this listing
  • Title quotes 72W next to a 10W output
  • No warranty term in the listing
  • Open frame
4
LONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter Machine,20W

LONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter Machine,20W

Longer · 59/100 HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20W open frame with a 400 x 365 mm area, 3.5 in touchscreen, Wi-Fi and a 256-color engraving mode.

Pros

  • 20W module rated to cut 15 mm pine and 8 mm acrylic in one pass
  • 400 x 365 mm area and up to 24,000 mm/min
  • 3.5 in touchscreen, Wi-Fi, USB, TF card and app
  • 256-color palette for photo-style engraving

Cons

  • Does not say whether 20W is optical or input power
  • No warranty term in the listing
  • 4.0 stars from 177 ratings
  • Safety features not detailed in what the listing shows
5
Creality Laser Engraver Machine 10W Output Power

Creality Laser Engraver Machine 10W Output Power

Creality · 59/100 HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10W output Creality open frame with Wi-Fi, USB and SD card, and 1 year of free parts replacement.

Pros

  • States 10W output alongside the 72W input figure
  • Wi-Fi, USB and SD card control
  • Tool-free focusing plate and 10 to 20 minute assembly
  • 1 year of free parts replacement and a 1 year warranty in the table

Cons

  • Says Class IIIa, which cannot describe a 10W laser
  • Conservative cuts: 5 mm basswood, 3 mm black acrylic in one pass
  • Work area appears only in the title, as 17 x 16 in
  • No air assist included
6
ATOMSTACK Swift 12000mW Laser Engraver & Cutter

ATOMSTACK Swift 12000mW Laser Engraver & Cutter

KoveYzao · 55/100 HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 12W open frame with a 300 x 300 mm area, 2.8 kg weight and five-minute modular assembly.

Pros

  • Lowest price of the six
  • 12W module rated to cut 8 mm basswood plywood and 4 mm black acrylic in one pass
  • 300 x 300 mm area in a 460 x 420 x 130 mm, 2.8 kg frame
  • 4.8 stars from 17 ratings

Cons

  • Only 17 ratings
  • No safety features named beyond a Class 4 label
  • No warranty term in the listing
  • Smaller bed than the other picks

How we scored them

Each machine is scored out of 100 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.

Product HQ Score Perf. Build Value Safety Warranty
Twotrees TTS-20 Pro 64 25 14 16 2 7
ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 61 22 14 17 8 0
Creality Falcon 10W Kit 61 22 16 15 8 0
Longer Ray5 20W 59 25 15 15 4 0
Creality 10W 59 19 13 17 3 7
ATOMSTACK Swift 55 20 13 18 4 0

Buying guide: a laser engraver under $500

Optical watts vs input watts

The number that decides what a laser can cut is optical output: the light that reaches the material. Some listings lead with machine input instead. Two Creality listings here put 72W in the title next to a 10W laser. Only the Twotrees TTS-20 Pro (19.5W+) and the ORTUR (10W) use the word optical. When a listing gives only one number, ask the seller which one it is.

Work area

Open frames here run from 300 x 300 mm to 418 x 418 mm. Bigger beds take signs and batches of small items; smaller frames are lighter and easier to store. Two of the six listings do not state a bed size clearly.

Cut ratings are best case

One-pass cut ratings depend on wood type, air assist and focus. They vary widely: one 10W listing rates 5 mm basswood, another 12 mm wood. Plan around the lower figure, and add air assist if you cut often.

Safety stops and what to add

Look for an emergency stop and a tilt or flame sensor. None of these machines is enclosed, so budget for safety glasses rated for about 450 nm for everyone in the room, a fire extinguisher, and a way to vent smoke. Our enclosed laser guide covers machines with a lid.

When to spend more

If you need to cut clear acrylic, a CO2 laser is the tool; if you want to mark bare metal, you need fiber or infrared. See the Machine Finder.

Safety

A 10W to 20W diode laser is a Class 4 laser, whatever a listing says. Everyone in the room needs glasses rated with an optical density at about 450 nm (the orange shield on the module is not enough on its own), never leave the machine running unattended, keep a fire extinguisher nearby and vent smoke outdoors. Never laser PVC or vinyl. See the FDA guidance on laser products.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best laser engraver under $500 for a beginner?

For a first machine, the ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 has the longest track record and good safety cut-offs, and the Creality Falcon 10W kit includes air assist and a rotary. Our beginner guide covers more options.

Can a laser engraver under $500 cut wood?

Yes. The listings here rate one-pass cuts from 5 mm basswood to 15 mm pine. Thicker cuts need several passes and air assist.

Can a $500 laser cut clear acrylic?

No. Blue diode light passes through clear acrylic. Diodes cut dark or opaque acrylic only; clear acrylic needs a CO2 laser.

Is 10W enough for a laser engraver?

For engraving, yes. 10W optical handles wood, leather, slate and coated tumblers. More power mainly speeds up cutting.

What does 72W mean on a 10W laser?

It is the machine’s electrical input or a marketing figure, not laser output. The listings that use it also state the real 10W output.

Related: how to choose a laser engraver, best laser air assist, best enclosed laser engraver, best laser engraver for tumblers, the diode laser hub and the Machine Finder.

About the author

LaserEngraveHQ Editorial
LaserEngraveHQ Editorial

LaserEngraveHQ Editorial is the editorial team behind LaserEngraveHQ. We research product listings, published specifications, material lists, safety statements and warranty terms, score every pick with the published HQ Score method, and correct errors when readers report them. We do not run our own workshop trials; see How We Pick for exactly how picks are made.