Best Laser Engraver Under $1,000: 6 Picks From 10W to 48W
Six laser engravers between $500 and $1,000, from 40W and 48W open frames to enclosed machines with cameras and a print-and-cut model.
Between $500 and $1,000 a laser engraver changes character. You can buy a 40W or 48W open frame that cuts plywood in one pass, step up to an enclosed machine with a camera, or choose something specialized like a print-and-cut or handheld galvo engraver. This guide compares six, and explains what each kind of machine is good at.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Enclosed xTool M2 10W Color: Class 1 enclosure, dual cameras and a CMYK inkjet in the box for print-and-cut, with a 1 year warranty. Check price
- Best for Cutting ATOMSTACK A40 Pro V2: Switches between 24W and 48W, rated to cut 18 mm wood in one pass, with a 1 year warranty. Check price
- Best Open Frame Longer Ray5 40W: 40W with built-in air assist, a 385 x 385 mm area, emergency stop and 4.6 stars from 111 ratings. Check price
- Best Enclosed for Wood Creality Falcon 2 Pro S: 22W in a Class 1 enclosure with autofocus, a camera and air assist. Check price
- Best Portable LaserPecker LP2 Roller: A handheld galvo engraver with an electric roller that engraves tumblers and strips up to 196 in long. Check price
Compare the picks
| Model | HQ Score | Laser | Work area | Rated speed | Enclosed | One-pass cut (rated) | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| xTool M2 10W Color Craft | 69 | 10W diode + CMYK inkjet | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, Class 1 | Not stated | 1 year |
| ATOMSTACK A40 Pro V2 | 68 | 24W / 48W switchable | Not stated | 500 mm/s | No | 18 mm wood, 9 mm MDF, 7 mm acrylic | 1 year |
| Longer Ray5 40W | 66 | 40W | 385 x 385 mm | 24,000 mm/min | No | 30 mm black acrylic, 20 mm wood | Not stated |
| Creality Falcon 2 Pro S 22W | 66 | 22W | Not stated | 25,000 mm/min | Yes, Class 1 | 15 mm basswood, 10 mm black acrylic | Not stated |
| Twotrees TS2 40W | 57 | 40,000 mW | 450 x 410 mm | 6,000 mm/min | No | Not stated | Not stated |
| LaserPecker LP2 with Roller | 57 | Not stated (galvo) | 4 in wide, up to 196 in long | 1,417 in/min | No | Wood and paper up to 0.2 in | 12 months |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 5 October 2026.
The picks
| Award | Product | HQ Score About the HQ ScoreThe HQ Score runs from 0 to 100 and weighs rated performance, build, value, safety listing, and warranty, using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick › | |
|---|---|---|---|
xTool M2 10W Color Craft Laser Engraver
|
69/100 | Buy | |
ATOMSTACK 48W Laser Engraver
|
68/100 | Buy | |
LONGER RAY5 40W Laser Engraver
|
66/100 | Buy | |
Creality Falcon 2 Pro S 22 Laser Engraver with Air
|
66/100 | Buy | |
Twotrees TS2 Laser Engraver,40000mW High Precision
|
57/100 | Buy | |
LaserPecker LP2 Laser Engraver with Roller
|
57/100 | Buy |
xTool M2 10W Color Craft Laser Engraver
An enclosed 10W laser with a CMYK inkjet module and deluxe material kit in the box, dual cameras and a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- CMYK inkjet module included: print full color, then cut or engrave
- Class 1 fully enclosed design with real-time monitoring
- Dual cameras for positioning
- 4.4 stars from 31 ratings and a stated 1 year warranty
Cons
- 10W is the least cutting power in this guide
- Work area and speed are not stated
- Ink is a running cost
- Rotary and 3W infrared module are extra
ATOMSTACK 48W Laser Engraver
A switchable 24W or 48W open-frame diode rated to cut 18 mm wood in one pass, with auto air assist and a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- One button switches between 24W for detail and 48W for cutting
- Rated to cut 18 mm wood, 9 mm MDF and opaque acrylic in one pass at up to 500 mm/s
- Auto air assist
- States Class IV, includes safety glasses, and lists a 1 year warranty
Cons
- 3.9 stars from 33 ratings, the lowest here
- Work area not stated (the size given is the machine)
- Open frame needs supervision and ventilation
- Acrylic rating is printed as "7nm", presumably 7 mm
LONGER RAY5 40W Laser Engraver
A 40W open frame with built-in air assist, a 385 x 385 mm area, touchscreen and automatic shutdown on faults.
Pros
- 40W module with built-in air assist
- 385 x 385 mm area and up to 24,000 mm/min
- Shuts down on abnormal movement or overheating; emergency stop and glasses
- Best rating record here: 4.6 stars from 111 ratings
Cons
- Claims 30 mm black acrylic and 20 mm wood in one pass; treat as best case
- No warranty term in the listing
- Does not say whether 40W is optical or input
- Open frame
Creality Falcon 2 Pro S 22 Laser Engraver with Air
A 22W Class 1 enclosed engraver with autofocus, a top camera and air assist.
Pros
- 22W in a 360 degree visual enclosure, stated Class 1
- One-click autofocus and a top camera for alignment and batch work
- Rated to cut 15 mm basswood and 10 mm black acrylic in one pass
- Up to 25,000 mm/min
Cons
- Only three ratings
- Heads its safety section "FDA Safety" but gives no accession number
- Work area not stated
- No warranty term in the listing
Twotrees TS2 Laser Engraver,40000mW High Precision
A 40,000 mW open frame with a 450 x 410 mm area on a sheet metal and aluminum frame.
Pros
- 450 x 410 mm area, the largest flat bed in this guide
- Sheet metal and aluminum frame to cut vibration
- Emergency stop, audible alarm and overheat protection
- Wi-Fi, USB and offline TF card
Cons
- Rated speed of 6,000 mm/min is far below the other picks
- "Passed all certifications" without naming any
- No warranty term in the listing
- No cut thickness stated
LaserPecker LP2 Laser Engraver with Roller
A handheld galvo engraver with an electric roller for cylinders and long strips, glasses and a 12 month warranty.
Pros
- Galvo head with fast engraving and 1K to 2K resolution settings
- Electric roller engraves tumblers and pencils, or strips up to 196 in long (4 in wide)
- Handheld and portable, controlled by phone or PC
- Safety glasses included and a 12 month warranty
Cons
- Laser power is not stated
- Cannot engrave pure or shiny metal, per LaserPecker
- Light or clear materials must be painted or sprayed first
- Cuts only wood and paper up to 0.2 in
How we scored them
Each machine is scored out of 100 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.
| Product | HQ Score | Perf. | Build | Value | Safety | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| xTool M2 10W Color | 69 | 20 | 17 | 14 | 11 | 7 |
| ATOMSTACK A40 Pro V2 | 68 | 26 | 14 | 14 | 7 | 7 |
| Longer Ray5 40W | 66 | 27 | 16 | 15 | 8 | 0 |
| Creality Falcon 2 Pro S | 66 | 24 | 17 | 14 | 11 | 0 |
| Twotrees TS2 40W | 57 | 22 | 15 | 14 | 6 | 0 |
| LaserPecker LP2 Roller | 57 | 17 | 15 | 13 | 5 | 7 |
Buying guide: what $1,000 buys
Open frame power or enclosed safety
For the same money you can have 40W to 48W on an open frame, or 10W to 22W inside a Class 1 enclosure. Open frames cut faster and take bigger work; enclosures make the machine practical in a home with children, pets or no dedicated workshop. Our enclosed laser guide covers cheaper enclosed options.
Cut claims are climbing
Listings in this range claim one-pass cuts of 15 mm to 30 mm. These are best-case figures that depend on the wood, air assist and focus. The ATOMSTACK listing’s acrylic rating is printed as “7nm”, a reminder to read the numbers carefully.
Work area is often missing
Three of the six listings do not state a work area; one of them gives only the machine dimensions. Ask before you buy if you plan signs or batch trays.
Diode or CO2 at this price
A desktop CO2 machine like the K40 type also sits under $1,000 and is the only way to cut clear acrylic. See our CO2 laser cutter guide to compare.
A 40W or 48W diode cuts deep and fast, and fires start fast too. Use air assist, never leave a cut running unattended, keep a fire extinguisher nearby and vent smoke outdoors. On open frames everyone in the room needs glasses rated with an optical density at about 450 nm. Never laser PVC or vinyl. See the FDA guidance on laser products.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a 40W diode laser worth it over 20W?
For cutting, yes: it finishes plywood in fewer passes. For engraving, the difference is mostly speed. If you mainly engrave, a 10W to 20W machine under $500 does the job; see our under $500 guide.
Can a laser engraver under $1,000 cut clear acrylic?
Not a diode. Clear acrylic needs a CO2 laser. The diodes here cut black or opaque acrylic.
Which of these is enclosed?
The xTool M2 10W Color Craft and the Creality Falcon 2 Pro S 22W. Both state Class 1.
Which have a warranty in writing?
The xTool M2 (1 year), ATOMSTACK A40 Pro V2 (1 year) and LaserPecker LP2 (12 months).
What is a galvo laser engraver?
A machine that steers the beam with mirrors instead of moving the head on a gantry. Galvo engravers like the LaserPecker LP2 are fast and compact but cover a small area at a time.
Related: diode vs CO2 laser, xTool vs Glowforge, best laser engraver under $500, best laser engraver for small business, best enclosed laser engraver, the laser engraver hub and the Machine Finder.