Best Fire Extinguisher for Electrical Fires Under $50 (2026): 5 Picks Compared
Five compact fire extinguishers under $50 compared by fire class, discharge reach, stated safety features and warranty, for maker shops and small studios.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallKidde Mariner 5-B:C9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best 4-Pack ValueLirches 4-Pack 8-in-19.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Discharge ReachJasvelly ABC 2.5 lb9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best for Electrical PanelsFEROSTICKER F01 Auto9.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Best 2-PackForcebucket 2-Pack 21B9.4/10View on Amazon - 6
1 Pack Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon - 7
Kidde Basic 5 Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon - 8
Kidde Mariner 10 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsView on Amazon - 9
Kidde Mariner 5 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsView on Amazon - 10
Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon
A laser engraver turns wood, acrylic and leather into finished work, but it also turns a quiet corner of the shop into a place where heat, dust and electronics live side by side. A power supply hums under the bench, chargers multiply on the shelf, and one unattended job can turn an ordinary evening into a bad one. This guide is about the best fire extinguisher for electrical fires under 50: compact units a small shop can actually mount, grab and use.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Kidde Mariner 5-B:C: A 5-B:C unit with US Coast Guard approval, UL Listing and a 12-year limited manufacturer warranty, plus an easy-read pressure indicator. Check price on Amazon
- Best 4-Pack Value Lirches 4-Pack 8-in-1: Four extinguishers with mounts covering Class A, B, C and K fires, a spray distance of 13 feet and a 4-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Discharge Reach Jasvelly ABC 2.5 lb: A 2.5 lb ABC unit with a 15 ft discharge range, a corrosion-resistant steel cylinder and a quick-release handle. Check price on Amazon
- Best for Electrical Panels FEROSTICKER F01 Auto: Self-activates at 320-356°F inside enclosures up to 3.5 cu ft, with no batteries, wiring or pressure to maintain. Check price on Amazon
- Best 2-Pack Forcebucket 2-Pack 21B: A 2-pack of 21B water-based extinguishers with wall mounts, covering A, B, C and K fires with easy cleanup. Check price on Amazon
Machines on the list

Kidde Mariner PWC Fire Extinguisher for Jet Skis
A compact 5-B:C dry chemical extinguisher for flammable liquids and electrical equipment, with all-metal construction, US Coast Guard approval and UL Listing.
Pros
- 5-B:C classification for flammable liquids and electrical equipment fires
- All-metal valve assembly with stainless-steel lever, pull safety pin and easy-read pressure indicator
- US Coast Guard approved and UL Listed, with a UL-approved strap bracket included
- Discharge time of 8-12 seconds and a 6-8 foot discharge range
Cons
- Title states 2.5 lbs of dry chemical while the bullets state 2 lbs of sodium bicarbonate
- Spec table lists 3.2 pounds item weight against the title's 2.5 lbs
- Small agent charge means limited discharge time for anything beyond a small initial fire
- No refills or service details are stated in the listing

4 Pack Fire Extinguishers with Mount for Home Car
Four water-based extinguishers with mounts, claimed for Class A, B, C and K fires, with a spray distance of 13 feet and a 4-year warranty.
Pros
- Four extinguishers and four mounts in one pack for car, kitchen, boat and garage
- Spray distance of 13 feet, the longest stated here, keeps distance from the fire
- Water-based, biodegradable formula with no harsh chemicals and zero mess stated
- 4-year warranty with customer service response stated within 12 hours
Cons
- Water-based agent claimed for electrical fires; follow the listing instructions exactly
- No safety certifications or approvals are stated
- 6.8 pounds total for the pack; each unit's weight is not stated separately
- No discharge time or coverage area is stated

ABC Dry Chemical Fire Extinguisher
A 2.5 lb ABC dry chemical extinguisher, 1A:10B:C rated, with a 15 ft discharge range and a corrosion-resistant steel cylinder.
Pros
- 1A:10B:C classification covers wood, paper, flammable liquids, grease and electrical hazards
- 15 ft discharge range, the longest handheld reach here
- Corrosion-resistant steel cylinder with an all-metal valve mechanism
- Rated for -22°F to 140°F with a stated 5-year service life
Cons
- No warranty term is stated; a 5-year service life is not a warranty
- Spec table prints "2.5 IB", an apparent typo for the 2.5 lb the title states
- No safety certifications are stated
- 4.91 pound item weight is the heaviest handheld here

F01 Automatic Fire Extinguisher
A self-activating aerosol suppression device for electrical panels and battery boxes, triggering at 320-356°F in enclosures up to 3.5 cu ft.
Pros
- Self-activates at 320-356°F (160-180°C) with no batteries, wiring or pressure
- Sized for enclosures up to 3.5 cu ft (0.1 m³): breaker panels, battery boxes, server racks, 3D printer enclosures
- Weighs 0.67 oz (19 g) and installs with no tools for up to 6 years
- Works alongside a handheld extinguisher for fires you can see
Cons
- Not a handheld extinguisher; one device guards one enclosure
- No warranty term is stated; the 6 years figure is a no-service claim, not a warranty
- No safety certifications are stated
- Coverage beyond 3.5 cu ft needs the larger F03 or F09, not included

Portable Fire Extinguisher
Two water-based 21B extinguishers with wall mounts, claimed for electric, textile and grease fires, with a non-toxic, easy-clean formula.
Pros
- Two units with wall mounts included for home, garage, kitchen or car
- 21B water-based model, stated as better than 13B and 8B
- Claimed for A, B, C and K fires including electric, textile and grease fires
- Non-toxic formula that wipes clean with no residue stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certifications are stated
- No discharge time, spray distance or coverage figure is stated
- Bullets are thin on construction detail: no cylinder or valve materials named
Other machines to compare
1 Pack Fire Extinguisher for HomeCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Basic 5 Fire Extinguisher for HomeCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Mariner 10 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Mariner 5 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeCheck price on Amazon
Specs compared
| Model | HQ Score | Fire class | Discharge / coverage | Stated safety | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kidde Mariner 5-B:C | 9.6/10 | 5-B:C (flammable liquids, electrical) | 8-12 seconds, 6-8 feet | USCG approved, UL Listed, pressure indicator | 12-year limited |
| Lirches 4-Pack 8-in-1 | 9.6/10 | A, B, C, K | 13 feet spray distance | Water-based, no harsh chemicals; mounts x4 | 4-year |
| Jasvelly ABC 2.5 lb | 9.5/10 | 1A:10B:C | 15 ft discharge range | Quick-release handle, all-metal valve, steel cylinder | Not stated |
| FEROSTICKER F01 Auto | 9.5/10 | Aerosol suppression for enclosures | 3.5 cu ft (0.1 m³) per enclosure | Self-activates at 320-356°F | Not stated |
| Forcebucket 2-Pack 21B | 9.4/10 | A, B, C, K | Handheld, compact | Non-toxic, wall mounts included | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 23 October 2026.
What the fire extinguisher listings tell you
We read 5 fire extinguisher listings for this guide, and two of the five state a warranty term. Read the title and the bullets together, because they disagree in places: the Kidde title states 2.5 lbs of dry chemical while its bullets state 2 lbs of sodium bicarbonate, and the Jasvelly spec table prints “2.5 IB”, an apparent typo for the 2.5 lb the title states. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table. None of the water-based listings carries a UL or Coast Guard approval, .
Buying guide: the best fire extinguisher for electrical fires under 50
Match the fire class
Electrical fires are Class C fires, and every pick here claims C coverage. The Kidde is a 5-B:C unit built for flammable liquids and electrical equipment, while the Jasvelly carries a 1A:10B:C classification that also covers wood, paper and grease. The Lirches and Forcebucket listings claim A, B, C and K coverage from water-based formulas; the FEROSTICKER guards enclosures rather than open flames. Match the class letters to what can burn in your space: a laser bench with a power supply and battery charger is a Class C problem first.
Handheld or automatic
A handheld extinguisher puts out fires you can see. The F01 works the other way: it lives inside the panel and self-activates at 320-356°F when no one is watching. The listing says it works alongside a handheld, not instead of one. If your engraver’s controller cabinet, battery bank or 3D printer enclosure sits powered while you are out of the room, pair one F01 inside with a handheld on the wall outside.
Discharge reach and staying power
Reach decides how close you must stand. The Jasvelly states a 15 ft discharge range, the Lirches a spray distance of 13 feet, and the Kidde a 6-8 foot discharge range with an 8-12 second discharge time. Longer reach keeps you further from heat and smoke; longer discharge time gives you more chances to sweep the base of the flames. Treat a stated discharge time at the short end as a one-shot tool: aim at the base and sweep.
Mount it where you can grab it
An extinguisher in a drawer is decoration. The Kidde includes a UL-approved strap bracket, the Lirches pack includes four brackets, the Jasvelly includes a metal bracket and the Forcebucket includes wall mounts. Mount one within a few steps of the laser and power strip, with the pull pin and handle accessible. The Kidde’s easy-read pressure indicator shows the charge at a glance: the listing says if the arrow is in the green, it is charged.
Shop habits that matter more than hardware
Hardware is the last line. Cut power before you spray where it is safe to do so, keep the bench clear of offcuts and dust, and never leave a running laser unwatched. Check the pressure indicator when you change a lens or clean the machine, so the check becomes routine. If a fire grows beyond what these small units can handle, leave the building and call emergency services.
Electrical fires begin in places you cannot see: panels, chargers, battery boxes. Keep a Class C unit within reach of the bench, cut power where it is safe to do so, and never use water from the tap on an electrical fire. If a fire grows beyond what these small units can handle, leave and call emergency services. See our best fire extinguisher for electrical fires guide for larger units.
Project Match
Which pick fits which setup, from what each listing states:
| Your setup | Pick |
|---|---|
| Laser engraver with a controller cabinet or power supply | FEROSTICKER F01 inside the enclosure (covers up to 3.5 cu ft), Kidde Mariner 5-B:C on the wall beside it |
| Garage shop with a car, boat or RV | Kidde Mariner (US Coast Guard approved) plus the Lirches 4-pack to spread across vehicles and rooms |
| 3D printer or battery bank that runs unwatched | FEROSTICKER F01 for the enclosure; Jasvelly ABC 2.5 lb nearby for anything that escapes it |
| Kitchen that doubles as a craft space | Lirches 4-pack (Class K claimed for cooking oils) or the Forcebucket 2-pack with mounts |
| Shared makerspace on a budget | Lirches 4-pack: four extinguishers and four mounts in one purchase |
How the scores add up
Each pick is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, and How we pick explains the weights. For fire safety gear, safety points come from named features such as approvals, listed classifications, pressure indicators and mounts; warranty points come only from a warranty with a concrete term.
| Product | HQ Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kidde Mariner 5-B:C | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 9 | 4 |
| Lirches 4-Pack 8-in-1 | 9.6 | 28 | 19 | 22 | 5 | 3 |
| Jasvelly ABC 2.5 lb | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
| FEROSTICKER F01 Auto | 9.5 | 29 | 19 | 18 | 7 | 0 |
| Forcebucket 2-Pack 21B | 9.4 | 26 | 18 | 21 | 4 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
What fire class covers electrical fires?
Class C. Look for C in the class letters: 5-B:C on the Kidde, 1A:10B:C on the Jasvelly, or the A, B, C and K claims on the Lirches and Forcebucket listings. The class letters are the quickest way to match an extinguisher to an electrical fire.
Can a water-based extinguisher handle an electrical fire?
Two listings here, Lirches and Forcebucket, claim their water-based formulas for Class C electrical fires. That is the maker’s claim, so follow the maker’s use instructions exactly. The Kidde and Jasvelly use dry chemical agents instead.
Where should the extinguisher live near my laser?
Mounted within a few steps of the machine and the power strip, with the handle and pull pin accessible. The Kidde, Lirches, Jasvelly and Forcebucket all include brackets or mounts. Check the pressure indicator regularly; on the Kidde, the arrow in the green means it is charged.
Which picks carry safety approvals?
The Kidde states US Coast Guard approval and UL Listing, plus a UL-approved strap bracket. The other four listings state no certifications. Approvals mean an outside body checked the claims.
How do I know an extinguisher is still charged?
Look at the pressure indicator. The Kidde names an easy-read gauge: if the arrow is in the green, it is charged. None of the other listings names a gauge; set your own regular check routine.
Related: best fire extinguisher for makerspace under 50, rechargeable vs disposable fire extinguisher, the laser safety hub and best fire blanket for cnc shop under 30. Also see our best smoke detector for garage workshop under 60. Also see our abc vs co2 fire extinguisher. Also see our best fire extinguisher for basement workshop. Also see our best fire blanket for makerspace.



