Best Fire Extinguisher for Basement Workshop (2026)
Five ABC dry chemical extinguishers for basement workshops with lasers and CNC tools, compared by agent weight, reach, discharge time and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallAmerex B500 5 lb ABC9.8/10View on Amazon - 2
Best 5 lb PickOugist 5 lb ABC9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Best 2.5 lb PickOugist 2.5 lb ABC9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
Best for KitchensKidde RESSP 2.5 lb9.6/10View on Amazon - 5
Best Two-PackMitukiyoung 2-Pack ABC9.6/10View on Amazon - 6
4Pack ABC Fire Extinguisher for Home 1-A:10-B:C Rated DryView on Amazon - 7
Strike First ABC Fire Extinguisher 5 lbView on Amazon - 8
First Alert Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon - 9
Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon - 10
Kidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon
A basement workshop concentrates a lot of ignition in one small room. A laser cutter throws off hot offcuts and sparks, a CNC router fills a bin with fine dust, and chargers, a space heater and the electrical panel all share the same air. That is the use case for the best fire extinguisher for basement workshop safety: a unit sized for a home shop, mounted where you can grab it on the way out, and classed for wood, paper, flammable liquids and live electrical gear. This guide compares five ABC dry chemical extinguishers, ranked by HQ Score from what each listing publishes.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Amerex B500 5 lb ABC: 5 lb ABC unit with a 14-second discharge, all-metal valve, wall bracket and a 6-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best 5 lb Pick Ougist 5 lb ABC: 2-A:10-B:C ABC powder, reach of up to 15 feet, carbon steel body, bracket and guides included. Check price on Amazon
- Best 2.5 lb Pick Ougist 2.5 lb ABC: 1-A:10-B:C ABC unit with reach of up to 15 feet and a 6-year manufacturer warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best for Kitchens Kidde RESSP 2.5 lb: Flared nozzle for grease fires, 6-8 square feet of coverage, pressure indicator and a 6-year limited warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Two-Pack Mitukiyoung 2-Pack ABC: Two ABC units with 600g of powder each, reach of up to 13 feet and mounts in the box. Check price on Amazon
Machines on the list

Amerex B500 Fire Extinguisher
A 5 lb ABC dry chemical extinguisher with Class A:B:C coverage, a 14-second discharge, all-metal valve construction and a wall bracket in the box.
Pros
- 14 seconds of discharge, the longest stated here
- Class A:B:C coverage for combustibles, flammable liquids and live electrical equipment
- All-metal valve construction with an aluminum valve
- 6-year warranty term stated in the spec table
Cons
- Spec table lists Item Weight as 1 pounds, contradicting the 5 lb title and bullets
- No stated discharge range
- Red only, which may not suit a color-matched shop
- Aluminum valve construction is lighter but less rugged than steel

Ougist ABC Dry Chemical Fire Extinguisher, 5 lb
A 5 lb ABC dry chemical extinguisher with a 2-A:10-B:C classification, reach of up to 15 feet, carbon steel body, bracket and working guides in the box.
Pros
- 2-A:10-B:C classification stated on the listing
- Effective range of up to 15 feet for distance from the fire
- Listed for -40°F to 120°F, suiting unheated basements and garages
- Bracket, working guide, signs and tags included; 6-year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- Item Weight of 8.27 pounds in the spec table is heavier than the 5 lb of agent
- No stated discharge time
- Carbon steel body adds weight versus aluminum
- Patented handle design is stated but its advantage is not quantified

Ougist Signature ABC Fire Extinguisher for Home
A 2.5 lb ABC dry chemical extinguisher with a 1-A:10-B:C classification, reach of up to 15 feet, thick-wall steel body and a 6-year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- 1-A:10-B:C classification stated on the listing
- Effective range of up to 15 feet, matching the larger units
- Thick-wall steel construction stated for the body
- 6-year manufacturer warranty stated in the spec table
Cons
- Bullets say 5 lb while the title and spec table say 2.5 lb; treat it as 2.5 lb per the title
- Spec table Size says 2 Pack while Item Package Quantity says 1
- No bracket listed, only inspection cards and location arrow signs
- No stated discharge time

Kidde Kitchen Fire Extinguisher, 711A
A 2.5 lb kitchen-focused dry chemical extinguisher with a flared nozzle for grease fires, 6-8 square feet of coverage, 8-10 seconds of discharge and a 6-year limited warranty.
Pros
- Flared nozzle the listing says reduces oil splashing on grease fires
- Coverage of 6-8 square feet stated for small kitchen fires
- Pressure indicator shows charged status at a glance
- 6-year limited manufacturer's warranty with QR code registration stated
Cons
- Single-use only, so it is replaced, not serviced, after discharge
- Lowest stated reach here at 5 feet
- No ABC class marks stated on the listing
- Kitchen-focused listing, less explicit about workshop use

2 Pack ABC Dry Chemical Fire Extinguishers
A 2-pack of compact ABC dry chemical extinguishers with 600g of powder per unit, reach of up to 13 feet, mounts included and a stated 6-year service life.
Pros
- Two units with mounts, so both work zones get a bottle
- 600g of ABC dry chemical powder per unit stated
- Reach of up to 13 feet from a compact bottle
- Listed for -4°F to 140°F, suiting cars, garages and cold shops
Cons
- No warranty term is stated; the 6-year figure is a service life, not a warranty
- Smallest stated agent load per unit at 600g
- No stated discharge time
- Listing is from August 2025, the newest and least established here
Other machines to compare
4Pack ABC Fire Extinguisher for Home 1-A:10-B:C Rated DryCheck price on Amazon
Strike First ABC Fire Extinguisher 5 lbCheck price on Amazon
First Alert Fire ExtinguisherCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherCheck price on Amazon
Specs compared
| Model | HQ Score | Class | Agent | Discharge | Reach | Mount | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amerex B500 5 lb ABC | 9.8/10 | A:B:C | 5 lb | 14 seconds | Not stated | Wall bracket | 6 Years |
| Ougist 5 lb ABC | 9.7/10 | 2-A:10-B:C | 5 lb | Not stated | up to 15 feet | Bracket included | 6 Year Manufacturer |
| Ougist 2.5 lb ABC | 9.7/10 | 1-A:10-B:C | 2.5 lb | Not stated | up to 15 feet | Not stated | 6 Years Manufacturer |
| Kidde RESSP 2.5 lb | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 2.5 lb | 8-10 seconds | 5 feet | UL-approved hanger | 6-year limited |
| Mitukiyoung 2-Pack ABC | 9.6/10 | A:B:C | 600g per unit | Not stated | up to 13 feet | Mounts included | Not stated |
Specifications are as published on each listing and collected 23 October 2026.
Buying guide: the best fire extinguisher for basement workshop use
Match the class to workshop fires
Every pick here is an ABC dry chemical unit, which means one bottle covers three fire types. The Amerex listing spells out the classes: Class A for ordinary combustibles such as wood offcuts and cardboard, Class B for flammable liquid spills, and Class C for fires involving live electrical equipment. A basement laser and CNC shop produces all three, so an ABC unit is the right default for the room.
Size and discharge time
Agent weight runs from 2.5 lb to 5 lb across the picks, with the MITUKIYOUNG pair carrying 600g of powder per unit. More agent generally means more discharge time: the Amerex B500 states 14 seconds of discharge, while the Kidde RESSP states 8-10 seconds. A longer discharge gives you more margin on a fire that flares back up, but a heavier bottle is harder to aim quickly, so match the size to the reach of the person who will grab it.
Reach and placement
Reach matters in a basement, where the fire may sit across the room from the door. The Ougist units state an effective range of up to 15 feet, the MITUKIYOUNG pair states up to 13 feet, and the Kidde RESSP states 5 feet with an working pressure of 100 PSI. Mount the extinguisher near the exit path, within quick reach of the laser and the CNC, so you move toward the door, not away from it, when you pick it up.
Mounting hardware in the box
An extinguisher in a closet does not help. The Amerex includes a wall bracket, the Kidde includes a UL-approved plastic wall hanger, the Ougist 5 lb includes a bracket, and the MITUKIYOUNG pair includes mounts. The Ougist 2.5 lb lists inspection record cards and self-adhesive location arrow signs instead of a bracket, so plan a mounting point for it separately.
Disposable or serviceable
The Kidde RESSP states it is residential, single-use only, while several others state 6-year terms. If you expect to practice with the unit or service it after a partial discharge, see the rechargeable vs disposable fire extinguisher comparison before you buy.
Project Match
- Laser and CNC bench in the basement: the Amerex B500 or the Ougist 5 lb, both ABC with wall mounting stated.
- Grease fires near a kitchen or break area: the Kidde RESSP, with a flared nozzle the listing says reduces oil splashing and coverage of 6-8 square feet.
- Two work zones, bench and garage side: the MITUKIYOUNG 2-pack with mounts included.
- Cold basement or unheated garage: the MITUKIYOUNG pair is listed for -4°F to 140°F, and the Ougist 5 lb for -40°F to 120°F; temperature behavior for the others is not stated.
- Car, boat or truck storage in the shop: the MITUKIYOUNG listing states car, boat and truck use; vehicle use for the others is not stated.
How the scores add up
Each extinguisher is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. How We Pick explains the weights. Performance weighs the stated agent weight, discharge time and reach. Safety scores the stated fire classes and the included safety features; a listing that states nothing safety-relevant scores nothing on that criterion. Warranty counts only when the listing states a concrete term in years, months, days or lifetime. A specification the listing does not publish scores nothing.
| Product | HQ Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amerex B500 5 lb ABC | 9.8 | 32 | 22 | 20 | 9 | 5 |
| Ougist 5 lb ABC | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 5 |
| Ougist 2.5 lb ABC | 9.7 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 8 | 5 |
| Kidde RESSP 2.5 lb | 9.6 | 26 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 5 |
| Mitukiyoung 2-Pack ABC | 9.6 | 28 | 19 | 22 | 8 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
What fire class does a basement laser workshop need?
ABC. Class A covers ordinary combustibles like wood and cardboard, Class B covers flammable liquid spills, and Class C covers fires involving live electrical equipment. All five picks are ABC dry chemical units.
Should a used extinguisher be recharged or replaced?
It depends on the unit. The Kidde RESSP states it is residential, single-use only, so it gets replaced after use. Units with a stated service life, like the MITUKIYOUNG pair’s 6-year service life, are the ones worth discussing with a service shop. Our ABC vs CO2 fire extinguisher guide covers the chemistry side.
Where should the extinguisher go in a basement workshop?
Near the exit, within reach of the laser and the CNC, mounted on the wall so it is visible and grabbable. Several picks include the bracket or hanger; the Ougist 2.5 lb instead lists location arrow signs to mark its spot.
Is one extinguisher enough for a whole basement?
The listings give coverage in narrow terms: the Kidde states 6-8 square feet of coverage, and the Ougist units state a reach of up to 15 feet. For two separated work zones, a 2-pack with mounts, like the MITUKIYOUNG pair, puts a bottle in each zone.
Can an ABC extinguisher handle an electrical fire at the panel?
Class C on the label means fires involving live electrical equipment, and the Amerex, both Ougist units and the MITUKIYOUNG pair state Class C coverage. Keep the extinguisher between you and the exit, and never open a live panel yourself.
Related: best fire extinguisher for home workshop, best fire extinguisher for CNC shop, best fire extinguisher for makerspace, best fire blanket for laser engraver and the laser safety hub.



