Best Fire Extinguisher for Electrical Fires (2026): 5 Picks Compared
Five extinguishers for electrical fires, compared by agent type, stated classification, discharge figures and warranty terms.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallOugist 2.5 lb ABC9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best ValueOugist Mini 4-Pack9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Best AutomaticFEROSTICKER F019.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best CapacityJasvelly 5 lb ABC9.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Best 2-Packziqianhard 2-Pack9.6/10View on Amazon - 6
Kidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon - 7
Kidde Basic 5 Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon - 8
Kidde Mariner 10 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsView on Amazon - 9
Kidde Mariner 5 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsView on Amazon - 10
Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon
A laser power supply hums in the corner while a battery charges on the bench, and both are the kind of equipment that can start an electrical fire with no open flame in sight. When that happens, reaching for the wrong extinguisher makes things worse, which is why this guide names the best fire extinguisher for electrical fires by comparing five listings on what they state about class coverage, discharge and warranty.
Electrical fires are Class C fires, fires involving energized equipment, and every pick here states Class C coverage somewhere in its title or bullets. A c rated fire extinguisher carries an agent the maker describes as non-conductive, and two picks go further and print a classification, 1-A:10-B:C and 2a10bc. What the listings do not all state is a warranty term, a discharge figure or a range, and this guide keeps score on exactly that.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Ougist 2.5 lb ABC: The only pick with a stated 1-A:10-B:C classification, a pressure gauge and an 8-12 second discharge, plus a 6-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Value Ougist Mini 4-Pack: Four 1.32 lb ABC units with mounts and a 13 foot range, backed by a 3-year term. Check price on Amazon
- Best Automatic FEROSTICKER F01: A self-activating aerosol for breaker panels and battery boxes at 160-180°C, with a 6-year service-free life. Check price on Amazon
- Best Capacity Jasvelly 5 lb ABC: A 5 lb unit with a stated 2a10bc classification and a 15 ft range, but no warranty term in the listing. Check price on Amazon
- Best 2-Pack ziqianhard 2-Pack: Two compact A, B, C and K units with wall mounts and a 4-year term for two spots at once. Check price on Amazon
Machines on the list

Ougist Home Fire Extinguisher
A 2.5 lb ABC dry chemical unit with a stated 1-A:10-B:C classification, a pressure gauge and an 8-12 second discharge, backed by a 6-year warranty.
Pros
- Stated 1-A:10-B:C classification covering Class C electrical fires
- Pressure gauge shows readiness at a glance
- 8-12 second discharge for a sustained response
- Carbon steel body with a 6-year manufacturer's limited warranty
Cons
- Title says 2.5 lb while the spec table lists 3.9 pounds; trust the title and bullets
- Compact size suits kitchens and vehicles more than large shops
- Single unit, so multi-room coverage needs more than one
- No stated discharge range in feet

2 Pack Fire Extinguishers for Home with Mount
A two-pack of compact A, B, C and K units with wall mounts, a 620 ml size and a 4-year term.
Pros
- Two units in the pack for two rooms or two vehicles
- States coverage for A, B, C and K fire types
- Wall mount included for hanging within reach
- Compact 11.4 x 2.5 in size and 620 ml capacity
Cons
- Title says 2 Pack while the spec table lists an item package quantity of 1
- The listing calls the agent water-based while also listing it for Class C fires
- No discharge time or range figure stated
- Aluminum alloy body is lighter than steel but less rugged

ABC Fire Extinguisher for Home & Vehicle
Four 1.32 lb ABC dry chemical units with mounts, a 13 foot range and a 3-year term.
Pros
- Four units with mounts cover home and vehicle in one buy
- 13 foot effective range keeps distance from the fire
- Non-conductive, non-corrosive ABC powder formula
- Production date stamp on each unit
Cons
- Title says 1.32 lb each while the spec table lists 7.32 pounds
- 600 g per unit is small for larger fires
- No stated classification like 1-A:10-B:C
- Patent protection is a legal statement, not a safety feature

F01 Automatic Fire Extinguisher
A self-activating aerosol unit for breaker panels and battery boxes, covering 3.5 cu ft with a 6-year service-free life.
Pros
- Self-activates at 160-180°C with no wiring or batteries
- Sized for 3.5 cu ft enclosures like breaker panels and battery boxes
- No refills or servicing for up to 6 years
- Weighs 0.67 oz and sticks on with no tools
Cons
- Cannot fight a visible fire; it guards enclosed spaces only
- One device per enclosure, so several boxes need several units
- No stated fire classification
- Larger spaces need the F03 or F09, not the F01

ABC Dry Chemical Fire Extinguishers
A 5 lb ABC dry chemical unit with a stated 2a10bc classification, a 15 ft range and a metal mounting bracket.
Pros
- Stated 2a10bc classification, the largest agent size here
- 15 ft discharge range keeps a safe distance
- -22°F to 140°F operating range for vehicles in any season
- Heavy-duty metal mounting bracket included
Cons
- No warranty term stated, so warranty scores nothing
- Listed item weight of 9.17 pounds is the heaviest here
- Bulkier than the compact picks for tight cabinets
- Iron body needs the stated corrosion resistance to hold up
Other machines to compare
Kidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Basic 5 Fire Extinguisher for HomeCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Mariner 10 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Mariner 5 Fire Extinguisher for Boats and WatercraftsCheck price on Amazon
Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeCheck price on Amazon
Specs compared
| Model | HQ Score | Agent | Stated classification | Discharge | Size | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ougist 2.5 lb ABC | 9.7/10 | ABC dry chemical | 1-A:10-B:C | 8-12 seconds | 2.5 lb; 3.35 x 4.72 x 13.2 in | 6 years |
| ziqianhard 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | Water-based, per the listing | A, B, C, K | Not stated | 620 ml; 11.4 x 2.5 in | 4 years |
| Ougist Mini 4-Pack | 9.5/10 | ABC dry chemical | Not stated | 13 feet range | 1.32 lb each | 3 years |
| FEROSTICKER F01 | 9.5/10 | Aerosol, automatic | Not stated | Activates at 160-180°C | 3.5 cu ft coverage; 0.67 oz | 6 years |
| Jasvelly 5 lb ABC | 9.5/10 | ABC dry chemical | 2a10bc | 15 ft range | 5 lb; 9.17 lb listed weight | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 23 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing did not publish the figure.
What the listings tell you, and what they leave out
Several listings disagree with their own spec tables. The ziqianhard title says 2 Pack while its table lists an item package quantity of 1, and its bullets give 11.4 x 2.5 inches while the table lists 2.55 x 2.55 x 11.42 inches. The Ougist 4-pack title says 1.32 lb each while its table lists 7.32 pounds, and the Ougist 2.5 lb title says 2.5 lb while its table lists 3.9 pounds. Following the house rule of trusting the title and bullets over the spec table, this guide uses the title and bullet figures and notes both where they differ.
Warranty terms are another gap. Four of the five listings state one: 4 years, a 3-year term, and 6-year terms on two picks. The Jasvelly listing states none, so it scores nothing for warranty even though its bullets describe 5 full years of use.
Buying guide: best fire extinguisher for electrical fires
Class C and why it matters
An electrical fire is a Class C fire: the fuel is energized equipment, and the wrong agent can conduct current back to the person holding the unit. That is why the Class C letter matters more than the size of the unit. Two picks print a classification, 1-A:10-B:C and 2a10bc, which the makers use as a compact statement of coverage. Flammable gas fires fall under Class B, so the ABC picks also serve as gas-fire extinguishers where their listings state Class B.
Handheld or automatic
Four picks are handheld units you aim and sweep; the FEROSTICKER F01 is automatic and guards one enclosed space. The listing is explicit that the automatic unit works alongside a handheld, not instead of one. For a laser shop, that pairing maps neatly: a handheld near the bench and an automatic unit inside the breaker panel or battery box.
Size, range and discharge
Sizes run from a 0.67 oz automatic unit to a 5 lb handheld, with the two Ougist handhelds at 2.5 lb and 1.32 lb per unit and the ziqianhard pair at 620 ml each. Stated ranges are 13 feet and 15 ft, and one listing states an 8-12 second discharge. Where a figure is absent the tables say “Not stated” rather than guessing.
Warranty and “Not stated”
Four of the five listings state a warranty term: 4 years, a 3-year term, and 6-year terms on two picks. The fifth states none and scores nothing for warranty. A missing figure is not a missing feature, but the score only counts what the listing publishes.
Mount the extinguisher where you can reach it without crossing the fire, and never leave a laser job running unattended. For an electrical fire, only use a unit the listing rates for Class C, and call emergency services for anything beyond a small, contained fire.
Project Match
Pair the pick with the work area each listing describes:
- Breaker panels, battery boxes and server racks: FEROSTICKER F01, the only automatic pick, listed for enclosed spaces up to 3.5 cu ft.
- Kitchen, garage and vehicle: Ougist 2.5 lb ABC, stated for home, kitchen, garage and vehicle use.
- Several rooms or vehicles at once: Ougist Mini 4-Pack, four units with mounts.
- Car, boat, campsite and kitchen: ziqianhard 2-Pack, compact 620 ml units the listing places in cars, boats, garages and campsites.
- Business, boat and truck: Jasvelly 5 lb ABC, the largest agent size here.
How the scores add up
Each extinguisher is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on the site’s How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.
| Product | HQ Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ougist 2.5 lb ABC | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 4 |
| ziqianhard 2-Pack | 9.6 | 27 | 19 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| Ougist Mini 4-Pack | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 20 | 6 | 3 |
| FEROSTICKER F01 | 9.5 | 26 | 18 | 16 | 8 | 3 |
| Jasvelly 5 lb ABC | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 19 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
Which fire extinguisher should I use on an electrical fire?
Use a unit the listing rates for Class C, the class for energized equipment. Every pick in this guide states Class C coverage, and the two with a printed classification state 1-A:10-B:C and 2a10bc.
What does a 1-A:10-B:C classification mean?
The letters name the fire classes the unit is listed for: A for wood and trash, B for liquids and gas, C for electrical. The figures are the maker’s stated classification; this guide quotes them as printed and does not convert or compare them across makers.
Can an automatic extinguisher replace a handheld one?
No. The FEROSTICKER listing states it works alongside a handheld extinguisher: the automatic unit guards one enclosed space and activates at 160-180°C, while visible fires still need a handheld you can aim.
Where should the extinguisher live in a laser workshop?
Within reach of the work area, mounted on the wall or in a bracket, never behind the equipment that might catch fire. Three picks include mounts or brackets, and the compact picks are listed for cabinets, vehicles and under-sink spots.
How do I know a workshop extinguisher is still ready?
The Ougist 2.5 lb listing includes a pressure gauge for a glance check, and the automatic pick states a 6-year service-free life. For the rest, the listings give no readiness indicator, which is worth knowing before you buy.
Related: the laser safety hub and our smoke detector picks for garage workshops. Also see our rechargeable vs disposable fire extinguisher and water mist vs dry chemical fire extinguisher, fire extinguisher picks for apartments and fire extinguisher picks for basement workshops.



