Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Longer Ray5 vs Ortur Laser Master 3: Which One Should You Buy?

Two open-frame diode lasers compared on power, rated speed, work area, materials, software, safety and support, using what each listing states.

Longer Ray5 vs Ortur Laser Master 3: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Longer New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver CutterLonger New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver Cutter9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Ortur Laser Master 2 Pro S2 10000mW Laser EngraverOrtur Laser Master 2 Pro S2 10000mW Laser Engraver9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3ORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 LU2-10A Laser Engraver LaserORTUR Laser Master 2 S2 LU2-10A Laser Engraver Laser9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Longer RAY5 20W Laser Engraver with Air Pump and 17.3"x 17.3"Longer RAY5 20W Laser Engraver with Air Pump and 17.3"x 17.3"View on Amazon
  5. 5Longer Laser RAY5 10W Laser Engraver with Air Pump and 17.3"xLonger Laser RAY5 10W Laser Engraver with Air Pump and 17.3"xView on Amazon
  6. 6LONGER RAY5 10000mW Laser ModuleLONGER RAY5 10000mW Laser ModuleView on Amazon
  7. 7Longer RAY5 Laser EngraverLonger RAY5 Laser EngraverView on Amazon
  8. 8LONGER Laser EngraverLONGER Laser EngraverView on Amazon
  9. 9LONGER RAY5 Mini Laser EngraverLONGER RAY5 Mini Laser EngraverView on Amazon

Longer and Ortur sell open-frame diode lasers aimed at makers who want to engrave signs, leather patches and cut parts at a home workbench. This comparison covers longer ray5 vs ortur laser master 3, using what each listing states about power, speed, work area, materials, software, safety and support.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Verdict: Pick the Ortur listing for higher optical output and stated cut depths, with a stated warranty term. Pick the Longer listing for a higher rated speed, more connection modes and on-machine touch control. The Ortur listing title names the Laser Master 2 Pro S2, so check that model name against the Laser Master 3 name before ordering.

Machines on the list

Ortur Laser Master 2 Pro S2 10000mW Laser

Ortur Laser Master 2 Pro S2 10000mW Laser

Ortur9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10W open-frame diode laser with a 390*410mm engraving area, stated cuts of 30mm acrylic and 20mm wood, and 4 safety features.

Pros

  • 10W module with stated cuts of 30mm acrylic and 20mm wood
  • 390*410mm engraving area with a compressed point of 0.05mm x 0.1mm
  • 4 safety features, including an emergency stop switch and a flame alarm
  • LaserGRBL and LightBurn compatibility, with an app offering simple or professional mode selection

Cons

  • Listing title names the Laser Master 2 Pro S2, not the Laser Master 3 in the article focus
  • Full machine weight is not stated; only the 235g module weight is stated
  • Work area is stated in mm only, with no inch figure for the engraving area
  • Class 4 open-frame design needs ventilation and eye protection planning
Longer New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver

Longer New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver

Longer9.5/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5W open-frame diode laser with a 15.75"x15.75" working area, a 24,000mm/min rated speed, and 4 connection modes with offline operation.

Pros

  • 24,000mm/min rated speed with a 0.08*0.08mm spot size
  • 15.75"x15.75" working area stated in inches
  • USB, TF Card, WiFi and APP connections with offline operation
  • Protective cover and glasses, with move protection and thermal protection

Cons

  • 5W output is lower than the 10W module stated on the Ortur listing
  • No cut depth stated for acrylic or wood
  • No warranty term stated; the listing promises lifetime technical support instead
  • No assembly time stated in the listing

Other machines to compare

Side by side

Spec Ortur Laser Master 2 Pro S2 Longer RAY5 5W Takeaway
HQ Score 78 67 Ortur total leads
Laser 10W module, 10000mW 5W output Ortur lists higher optical output
Rated speed 15,000mm/min 24,000mm/min Longer lists a higher rated speed
Work area 390*410mm 15.75″x15.75″ Stated in different units
Spot 0.05mm x 0.1mm compressed point 0.08*0.08mm spot, 0.01mm accuracy Different figures stated
Cutting 30mm acrylic, 20mm wood Not stated Ortur states cut depths; Longer does not
Software LaserGRBL, LightBurn LaserGRBL, LightBurn Same software named
Connections USB USB, TF Card, WiFi, APP, offline Longer lists more connection modes
Safety Class 4, 4 safety features Protective cover, glasses, move and thermal protection Both list protection features
Support 1 Year Manufacturer warranty Lifetime technical support, 24-hour customer service Different support terms stated
Materials Wood and Metal, Acrylic Glass Leather Wood, Acrylic and Leather Ortur title names a wider list

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 1 November 2026.

Longer Ray5 vs Ortur Laser Master 3: Laser Power and Cutting

The Ortur listing states a 10W module, written as 10000mW in its title, while the Longer listing states a 5W output. The Ortur listing also states cut depths of 30mm acrylic and 20mm wood, with a built-in air-assist interface designed for cutting. The Longer listing gives no cut depth for acrylic or wood, so its cutting limits stay unstated.

Rated speed runs the other way: the Longer listing states up to 24,000mm/min, against 15,000mm/min on the Ortur listing. Speed alone does not decide a cut, and neither listing states a pass count.

Workspace and Precision

The Longer listing states a working area of 15.75″x15.75″, while the Ortur listing states an engraving area of 390*410mm. The listings state the area in different units, so a direct size claim is not stated in the listing data. Plan the largest piece from the figure in the unit its own listing uses.

Precision figures also differ in form. The Longer listing states a spot size of 0.08*0.08mm and an accuracy of 0.01mm. The Ortur listing states a compressed point of 0.05mm x 0.1mm. The listings do not support a single finer-beam claim.

Materials

The Longer listing names wood, acrylic and leather for DIY engraving. The Ortur listing title names wood and metal, acrylic, glass and leather, but its bullets give cut depths only for acrylic and wood, with no metal cutting depth stated. Never laser PVC or vinyl with either machine. For a wider look at what diode lasers cut and engrave, see the diode vs CO2 guide.

Software and Connections

Both listings name LaserGRBL and LightBurn as compatible software. The Longer listing adds 4 connection modes, USB, TF Card, WiFi and APP, with offline operation, plus a 3.5-inch color touch screen. The Ortur listing names its own app with simple or professional mode selection, and compatibility with Win 7, Win 8, XP, Win 10 and Win 11, plus MAC system support through LightBurn.

Safety and Enclosure

Both machines are open-frame designs. The Longer listing includes a protective cover and protective glasses, with move protection that shuts the machine down on abnormal shaking and thermal protection that stops the machine if it detects a flame or overheating in the engraving area. The Ortur listing states Class 4, with 4 safety features, an emergency stop switch, a flame alarm, active position protection, a stop when the USB cable is disconnected, and exposure time detection and limitation. Its cover is stated to filter out 98% UV light.

Neither listing states an OD rating or a wavelength range for its glasses or cover.

Ventilation and Workshop Setup

Engraving and cutting make smoke, so ventilation belongs in the setup plan for either machine. The Ortur listing includes a built-in air-assist interface for cutting, but air assist is not a substitute for ventilation. The Longer listing states no air-assist feature. For filter options, see the fume extractor guide.

Assembly also differs in what the listings state. The Ortur listing states assembly in about 10-15 minutes, with a full metal structure and modular design for repair and part replacement. The Longer listing describes easy assembly, but states no assembly time. The Longer listing states lifetime technical support and 24-hour customer service, while the Ortur listing states a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty term.

Choose the Ortur listing if

  • You want the higher optical output, at 10W against 5W on the Longer listing.
  • You want stated cut depths of 30mm acrylic and 20mm wood.
  • You want a stated warranty term of 1 Year Manufacturer.

Choose the Longer listing if

  • You want the higher rated speed, at 24,000mm/min against 15,000mm/min on the Ortur listing.
  • You want USB, TF Card, WiFi and APP connections with offline operation.
  • You want on-machine control through a 3.5-inch color touch screen.
Safety

Open-frame lasers need care while running. Never defeat a cover or guard, stay with the machine while it runs, keep a fire extinguisher nearby, ventilate, and never laser PVC or vinyl. See the laser engraver safety checklist.

Project Match

Match the project list to the listing that states it.

  • Signs and leather patches in wood, acrylic or leather: either listing names those materials.
  • Cut parts in acrylic or wood where depth matters: the Ortur listing, with stated cuts of 30mm acrylic and 20mm wood.
  • Engraving runs without a permanent computer link: the Longer listing, with offline operation and 4 connection modes.
  • Work that needs a stated warranty term: the Ortur listing, with 1 Year Manufacturer stated.
  • Metal marking: Not stated as a cut depth on either listing; check the Ortur title list before planning metal work.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

Which listing has more laser power?

The Ortur listing states a 10W module, written as 10000mW in its title, while the Longer listing states a 5W output.

Which listing is faster on rated speed?

The Longer listing states up to 24,000mm/min, against 15,000mm/min on the Ortur listing. Neither listing states a pass count.

Is the Ortur listing really the Laser Master 3?

The Ortur listing title names the Laser Master 2 Pro S2, with model Ortur-LaserMaster2-ProS2 in its spec table. The article focus names the Laser Master 3, so confirm the exact model name on the listing before ordering.

Can either laser cut metal?

Neither listing states a metal cutting depth. The Ortur title names metal among its materials, but its bullets give cut depths only for acrylic and wood.

Which listing suits a beginner workbench?

See the best laser engraver for beginners guide alongside this comparison. The Longer listing adds a touch screen and offline operation, while the Ortur listing adds a stated assembly time of about 10-15 minutes and a modular full metal structure.

Related: how to choose a laser engraver, best laser engraver for beginners and best enclosed laser engraver.

More buying guides