Glowforge Aura vs xTool M2: Which One Should You Buy?
A step-by-step guide comparing the Glowforge Aura and xTool M2 craft lasers across cutting capability, work area, software workflow, and workspace safety.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Glowforge Aura 6W Laser Engraver & Cutter with HD Camera &9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
xTool S1 40W Laser Cutter and Laser Engraver for Tumblers9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
xTool M2 20W Color Craft Laser Engraver9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
xTool SafetyPro AP2 Smoke Purifier for Laser EngraverView on Amazon - 5
xTool F1 Ultra 20W Fiber & Diode Dual Laser Engraver 16MPView on Amazon - 6
xTool F2 5W IR & 15W Diode Dual Laser EngraverView on Amazon - 7
xTool Desktop Smoke Purifier for M2View on Amazon - 8
xTool Laser Safety GlassesView on Amazon
Deciding between the Glowforge Aura vs xTool M2 comes down to whether you prioritize an established desktop craft ecosystem with integrated cloud software or prefer a flexible craft diode setup for your home workshop. If you want a dedicated craft machine with a web-based app, lid camera alignment, and an optional compact carbon air filter, the Glowforge Aura provides a streamlined package. Choosing between the Aura or M2 depends on your workspace ventilation, material thickness needs, and preferred software workflow. Below, we compare both machines step by step across power, footprint, software, and safety.
Other machines to compare
xTool SafetyPro AP2 Smoke Purifier for Laser EngraverCheck price on Amazon
xTool F1 Ultra 20W Fiber & Diode Dual Laser Engraver 16MPCheck price on Amazon
xTool F2 5W IR & 15W Diode Dual Laser EngraverCheck price on Amazon
xTool Desktop Smoke Purifier for M2Check price on Amazon
xTool Laser Safety GlassesCheck price on Amazon
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
The Glowforge Aura publishes verified specs on its retail listing, while the xTool M2 is a newer craft laser comparison where retail specs must be verified directly with the maker. We compare stated features without guessing unverified figures.
Step 1: Compare laser optical power and cutting capability
Glowforge lists the Aura with a 6W diode laser module. In laser crafting, optical power output represents the energy delivered to the workpiece. A 6W diode cuts light craft materials including paper, card stock, leather, and thin wood like 3mm basswood sheets or 1/8 inch draftboard panels. It also engraves detailed raster artwork onto wood, leather, and coated metals.
Diode lasers produce visible blue light, meaning clear acrylic and transparent plastics cannot absorb the beam. To cut acrylic with a diode laser, crafters must choose dark or opaque colors. See our guide on whether can a diode laser cut acrylic for compatible materials. For the xTool M2, optical wattage is not stated on retail reference listings, so verify the rated optical output directly before purchasing.
Step 2: Compare work area and machine dimensions
Workspace capacity determines the project sizes you can produce without tiling blanks. Glowforge lists the Aura with a 12 x 12 in work area, providing 144 square inches of active cutting surface. This matches standard craft blanks, including 12 x 12 in draftboard panels, scrapbook card stock, and heat-transfer sheets. The Aura exterior measures 22 x 20.5 x 5 in with a listed weight of 41.8 pounds, fitting comfortably on a standard hobby workbench.
For the xTool M2, bed dimensions and outer housing measurements are not stated in reference listings. When evaluating your workshop space, verify usable cutting dimensions and clearance for exhaust hoses or lid opening directly on the maker site.
Step 3: Evaluate camera preview and software workflow
Glowforge designs the Aura around a web-based app that runs in a browser on Mac, PC, Chromebook, tablet, or phone, accepting SVG, PDF, PNG, and JPEG files. Its Aura Vision system uses a wide-angle lid camera and autofocus to display a live top-down preview of the bed, allowing makers to drag designs onto scraps and place artwork accurately before cutting. However, this workflow requires an active internet connection.
By contrast, xTool desktop craft machines typically support standalone software like xTool Creative Space, allowing offline operation over USB. Choosing between cloud convenience and offline control is one of the primary practical distinctions between these two platforms.
Step 4: Plan indoor ventilation and workspace filtration
Laser cutting vaporizes material, producing smoke, fine particulate matter, and odor. Safe operation requires proper ventilation. The Glowforge Aura can exhaust outdoors through a window vent hose or connect to the optional Glowforge Craft Laser Filter. The filter listing states an item weight of 15 pounds and uses activated carbon filtration to capture 99.9% of particles and fumes for up to 100 hours per cartridge. Our best fume extractor for laser engraver guide compares additional filter options.
For the xTool M2, verify whether the machine includes an exhaust fan and ducting or requires an external fume extractor box. Proper ventilation protects machine optics and maintains workshop air quality.
Step 5: Review machine safety and craft enclosure features
Desktop craft lasers should protect users from optical and mechanical hazards. Both machines feature enclosed chassis designed to contain beam reflections during jobs. See our guide to the best enclosed laser engraver models for standard enclosure features. The Aura includes a safety lid that pauses operation when opened.
However, crafters should not rely solely on tinted plastic lids for eye protection. Proper laser safety glasses must state an optical density (OD) and wavelength range matching blue diode lasers. Review our laser safety glasses guide before operating. Additionally, never cut or engrave PVC, vinyl, PVC-based faux leather, polycarbonate, or ABS, as thermal decomposition releases corrosive hydrogen chloride gas and hazardous fumes.
Step 6: Weigh warranty terms and long-term operating costs
Glowforge lists a 12-month limited manufacturer warranty for the Aura and a 6-month limited warranty for the Craft Laser Filter. This provides clear coverage for machine defects during your initial year of crafting. For the xTool M2, warranty terms are not stated in reference listings, so confirm maker warranty policies before buying.
Beyond machine purchase, account for ongoing consumable costs: replacement carbon cartridges, replacement protective lenses, masking tape, and craft materials. If you want a structured buying framework, read our guide on how to choose a laser engraver before making a final decision.
Common mistakes to avoid
- Assuming a diode laser can cut clear acrylic or thick lumber.
- Operating an indoor craft laser without planned ventilation or filtration.
- Relying on cloud software without stable workshop internet.
- Cutting hazardous plastics like PVC or vinyl that produce corrosive fumes.
- Ignoring ongoing consumable expenses such as replacement air filter cartridges.
Glowforge Aura vs xTool M2: the short version
- Confirm that 6W optical power matches your cutting thickness needs.
- Measure your workspace against the 22 x 20.5 x 5 in machine footprint.
- Decide whether you prefer cloud browser software or offline desktop controls.
- Choose between direct window exhaust and self-contained carbon filtration.
- Verify manufacturer warranty terms and replacement part availability.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
Can the Glowforge Aura cut thick hardwood?
The Glowforge Aura features a 6W diode laser designed for craft materials like card stock, thin leather, and 3mm (1/8 inch) plywood or draftboard panels. A 6W diode laser cuts slowly and is not designed for thick hardwoods or structural lumber. For cutting thicker boards, consider higher-power laser alternatives.
Does the Glowforge Aura work offline without internet?
No. The Glowforge Aura relies on a web-based app accessible via browsers on Mac, PC, Chromebook, tablet, or phone. It requires an active internet connection to process design files and configure cut settings. Crafters who need offline machine control over USB typically prefer desktop software.
Can the Glowforge Aura or xTool M2 engrave bare metal?
Diode craft lasers cannot deep-cut or engrave bare metals such as brass, raw steel, or aluminum. A diode laser can mark surface coatings, such as removing anodization from aluminum or powder coat from tumblers, but marking raw metal requires a fiber laser source.
Do I need a window vent for the Glowforge Aura?
Not if you use the optional Glowforge Craft Laser Filter. The filter listing states it uses activated carbon filtration to capture 99.9% of particles and fumes for up to 100 hours per cartridge, enabling indoor operation without a window hose.
Which craft machine is better for beginners, the Aura or M2?
The Glowforge Aura suits beginners seeking a streamlined, cloud-connected craft experience with live camera material alignment and automatic settings. The xTool M2 appeals to crafters wanting flexible software options and offline controls. Review our best laser engraver for beginners guide for additional starter choices.
Related: the laser engraver hub, our xTool vs Glowforge comparison, our best enclosed laser engraver guide, and our best fume extractor for laser engraver roundup.



