Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Fire Extinguisher for Apartments (2026): 5 Compact Picks

Five compact fire extinguishers for apartment kitchens and home workshops, compared by fire rating, agent type, size and warranty.

Best Fire Extinguisher for Apartments (2026): 5 Compact Picks
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1First Alert KITCHEN5Best OverallFirst Alert KITCHEN59.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2AmzBoom 3-PackBest 3-PackAmzBoom 3-Pack9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Ougist Class KBest for GreaseOugist Class K9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Kidde Pro 110Best RechargeableKidde Pro 1109.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Kidde FA110Best SimpleKidde FA1109.3/10View on Amazon
  6. 6First Alert Fire ExtinguisherFirst Alert Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon
  7. 7Kidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeKidde Basic 110 Fire Extinguisher for HomeView on Amazon
  8. 8Kidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherKidde Pro 210 Commercial Fire ExtinguisherView on Amazon
  9. 9Ougist Small Portable Fire Extinguisher for Home and KitchenOugist Small Portable Fire Extinguisher for Home and KitchenView on Amazon
  10. 10Ougist Small Portable Fire Extinguisher for Home and CarOugist Small Portable Fire Extinguisher for Home and CarView on Amazon

Finding the best fire extinguisher for apartments starts with a real moment: grease popping in a pan, or a whiff of something hot near the workbench. A compact extinguisher that fits in a kitchen cabinet or closet gives you a way to act on a small fire fast. We compared five apartment-friendly listings by fire rating, extinguishing agent, size and warranty. Our review reports only what each maker publishes, scored with the HQ Score.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall First Alert KITCHEN5: UL rated 5-B:C kitchen extinguisher with sodium bicarbonate agent Check price on Amazon
  • Best 3-Pack AmzBoom 3-Pack: Three compact ABC-class extinguishers with brackets and a 6-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Grease Ougist Class K: Class K wet chemical built for cooking oil and grease fires Check price on Amazon
  • Best Rechargeable Kidde Pro 110: Rechargeable 1-A:10-B:C with 8-12 second discharge and 10-15-foot range Check price on Amazon
  • Best Simple Kidde FA110: Basic 1-A:10-B:C multipurpose extinguisher in one pack Check price on Amazon

Machines on the list

First Alert Fire Extinguisher

First Alert Fire Extinguisher

First Alert9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A UL rated 5-B:C kitchen extinguisher with a sodium bicarbonate agent, a metal head and a mounting bracket, compact enough for a cabinet.

Pros

  • UL rated 5-B:C for flammable liquid and electrical fires
  • Sodium bicarbonate extinguishing agent stated
  • Compact 3.35 by 10.83 by 4.96 in body at 2.7 pounds
  • Metal pull pin with safety seal and push-button pressure check

Cons

  • Bullets claim a 10 year limited warranty while the spec table says 5-year limited
  • Kitchen-only focus, not rated for common Class A fires
  • White cap must be removed with the packaging before use
  • Mounting bracket and white color limit placement options
AmzBoom 3-Pack Fire Extinguisher for Home

AmzBoom 3-Pack Fire Extinguisher for Home

AmzBoom9.5/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A three-pack of compact ABC-class extinguishers with three mounting brackets and six screws, stated for home, kitchen, car and boat use.

Pros

  • Three extinguishers with three mounting brackets and six screws
  • Stated for wood, paper, garbage, plastic, gasoline, oil and electrical fires
  • 6-year warranty stated
  • Eco-safe spray leaves no residue, per the maker

Cons

  • No named safety certification stated
  • Title says ABCK class while bullets only describe A, B and C type fires
  • Spec table lists Item Package Quantity as 1 despite the 3-pack title
  • No discharge time or range stated
Ougist Class K Fire Extinguisher for Kitchen

Ougist Class K Fire Extinguisher for Kitchen

Ougist9.4/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 34 fl oz wet chemical Class K extinguisher for small cooking oil and grease fires, with a quick-pull handle and a 6 year manufacturer warranty.

Pros

  • 1-A:K rating for cooking oil and grease fires
  • Wet chemical agent in a 34 fl oz body
  • Quick-pull handle with simple pull-aim-squeeze-sweep operation
  • 6 Year Manufacturer Warranty stated

Cons

  • Item weight listed as 4.4 ounces, far below the 34 fl oz agent volume
  • No named safety certification stated
  • Kitchen-specific, not for wood or electrical fires
  • Single use, no recharge statement
Kidde Pro 110 Commercial Fire Extinguisher

Kidde Pro 110 Commercial Fire Extinguisher

Kidde9.4/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rechargeable 1-A:10-B:C dry chemical extinguisher for common, flammable liquid and electrical fires, with an 8-12 second discharge.

Pros

  • Rechargeable and reusable design stated
  • 1-A:10-B:C rating covers common, flammable liquid and electrical fires
  • 8-12 second discharge with a 10-15-foot range stated
  • Aluminum construction with an easy-pull safety pin

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Title says 2.5 lb while the spec table lists 4.33 pounds item weight
  • No named safety certification stated
  • QR-code registration depends on the maker's online system
Kidde FA110 Multipurpose Fire Extinguishers 1 Pack

Kidde FA110 Multipurpose Fire Extinguishers 1 Pack

Kidde9.3/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A multipurpose 1-A:10-B:C extinguisher in red, bundled with a cleaning cloth in this listing.

Pros

  • 1-A:10-B:C rating stated in the title
  • Multipurpose use for common fire types
  • Red body for easy spotting in a closet
  • Simple one-pack listing

Cons

  • Bullets are unreadable page code, not product details
  • No warranty term stated
  • No agent, weight or dimensions stated
  • No named safety certification stated

Other machines to compare

Specs compared

Extinguisher HQ Score Rating Agent Size Warranty
First Alert KITCHEN5 9.7/10 5-B:C Sodium bicarbonate 2.7 pounds 10 year limited
AmzBoom 3-Pack 9.5/10 ABCK class Not stated 3-pack, 2.7 pounds each 6-year
Ougist Class K 9.4/10 1-A:K Wet chemical 34 fl oz 6 Year Manufacturer Warranty
Kidde Pro 110 9.4/10 1-A:10-B:C Dry chemical, 2.5 lb 4.33 pounds Not stated
Kidde FA110 9.3/10 1-A:10-B:C Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 23 October 2026.

How to choose the best fire extinguisher for apartments

Match the rating to the fire

Ratings tell you what each extinguisher is built to fight. First Alert states UL rated 5-B:C for flammable liquid and electrical fires, and Kidde rates the Pro 110 and FA110 at 1-A:10-B:C for common, flammable liquid and electrical fires. AmzBoom titles its 3-pack as an ABCK class extinguisher and describes putting out wood, paper, garbage, plastic, gasoline, oil and electrical fires. Ougist is the specialist: rated 1-A:K with a wet chemical agent for cooking oil and grease fires. The ratings comparison at ABC vs CO2 fire extinguisher explains the classes.

Size and storage in an apartment

Apartment storage means cabinets, closets and under-sink space. First Alert states a compact 3.35 by 10.83 by 4.96 in body at 2.7 pounds with a mounting bracket, made to fit in a cabinet. AmzBoom ships three extinguishers at 2.7 pounds each with three brackets, one for the kitchen and one for the car. Ougist states a compact footprint that stores under the sink or in a pantry. Measure your cabinet before you choose, the way you would check a machine against its bench.

Warranty and rechargeability

Three listings state a warranty term: First Alert claims a 10 year limited warranty in its bullets, AmzBoom states a 6-year warranty, and Ougist states a 6 Year Manufacturer Warranty. The Kidde Pro 110 states no warranty term but is rechargeable and reusable, which matters if you ever discharge it. Our guide on rechargeable vs disposable fire extinguisher covers the tradeoff.

Read the whole listing

Listings contradict themselves more often than you would expect. First Alert claims a 10 year limited warranty in the bullets while its spec table reads 5-year limited. AmzBoom titles its product ABCK class while the bullets only describe A, B and C fire types. The Kidde Pro 110 title reads 2.5 lb of dry chemical while the spec table lists 4.33 pounds item weight. We trust the title and bullets over the spec table, and you should too. For workshop placement, see best fire extinguisher for basement workshop.

Project Match

Apartment scenario Pick Why it fits
Kitchen grease fire Ougist Class K 1-A:K wet chemical stated for cooking oil and grease fires
General kitchen coverage First Alert KITCHEN5 UL rated 5-B:C, fits in a cabinet or mounting bracket
One per room AmzBoom 3-Pack Home, kitchen, car and boat use stated; three brackets included
Workshop corner Kidde Pro 110 Commercial 1-A:10-B:C, rechargeable and reusable
Simple spare Kidde FA110 Multipurpose 1-A:10-B:C in one pack

How the scores add up

Each extinguisher is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Safety means stated safety certifications such as a UL rating. Three listings state a warranty with a concrete term.

Product HQ Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
First Alert KITCHEN5 9.7 30 21 20 7 3
AmzBoom 3-Pack 9.5 28 19 21 0 3
Ougist Class K 9.4 28 20 19 0 3
Kidde Pro 110 9.4 29 21 19 0 0
Kidde FA110 9.3 26 19 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

What does a 5-B:C rating mean?

First Alert states UL rated 5-B:C for its kitchen extinguisher, designed to fight flammable liquid and electrical fires. The letters name the fire classes the unit is rated for.

Which extinguisher is best for kitchen grease fires?

Ougist is rated 1-A:K and uses a wet chemical agent stated for small cooking oil and grease fires, with a quick-pull handle and simple operation. It is the kitchen specialist here.

Can I recharge a home fire extinguisher?

The Kidde Pro 110 states a rechargeable and reusable design, so it can be refilled after a discharge. The other listings state no recharge option.

Where should I store a fire extinguisher in an apartment?

First Alert fits in a cabinet or on its mounting bracket, Ougist stores under the sink or in a pantry, and AmzBoom is stated for the kitchen, the car trunk or anywhere with quick access. Pick the spot you can reach fastest.

Which of these state a warranty?

First Alert claims a 10 year limited warranty in its bullets, AmzBoom states a 6-year warranty, and Ougist states a 6 Year Manufacturer Warranty. The two Kidde listings state no warranty term.

Related: best fire extinguisher for basement workshop, best fire extinguisher for makerspace, water mist vs dry chemical fire extinguisher and the laser safety hub.

More buying guides