Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Vinyl Cutter vs Cricut Maker: Which One Should You Buy?

Two Cricut Maker bundles compared on materials, tools and bundles, while the dedicated vinyl cutter side has no example listing to score.

Vinyl Cutter vs Cricut Maker: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

A crafter choosing between a dedicated vinyl cutter and a Cricut Maker is often framed as a choice between a vinyl-focused workflow and a multi-material machine, and vinyl cutter vs cricut maker is the comparison that sorts that choice. Both examples here are Cricut Maker bundles, so this comparison scores the Maker side from its listings and leaves the dedicated vinyl cutter side unscored, since no dedicated vinyl cutter example is included.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Verdict: pick the Cricut Maker side for multi-material craft cutting, since both bundles cut, engrave and draw across many materials. A dedicated vinyl cutter cannot be scored from these listings, so confirm that side’s cutting size and software before choosing that side.

Machines on the list

Cricut Maker® 5 Ultimate Bundle + Digital Content

Cricut Maker® 5 Ultimate Bundle + Digital Content

Cricut9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Maker bundle with 13 tools, materials up to 3 mm thick, and supplies for 135 projects plus a Mini heat press.

Pros

  • Works with 300+ materials, including leather and foam core board up to 3 mm
  • Works with 13 tools for cutting, engraving, writing, foiling, scoring and debossing
  • Bundle includes supplies for 135 projects plus a Mini heat press
  • Sleek design stated as 30% more compact than previous models

Cons

  • Specialty tools sold separately
  • Full content library needs a Cricut Access Subscription
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Included heat press is the Mini size
Cricut Maker 4 - Smart Cutting Machine (Seashell)

Cricut Maker 4 - Smart Cutting Machine (Seashell)

Cricut9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Maker bundle with 300+ materials, Print-Then-Cut stickers, and a heat press, mat, tote bag and samplers.

Pros

  • Works with 300+ materials, including leather and wood
  • Print-Then-Cut works with most inkjet printers for full-color stickers
  • Bundle includes a heat press, mat, tote bag and material samplers
  • Design Space software with a free library of 3,000+ images and 100+ fonts

Cons

  • Listing disagrees on the heat press model: title and heat-press bullet say EasyPress 3, bundle list says EasyPress 2 (SE)
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No cutting width is stated
  • No tool count is stated, unlike the Maker 5 listing's 13 tools

Side by side

Spec Cricut Maker 5 Bundle Cricut Maker 4 Bundle Notes
HQ Score 60 56 Scores from the listings
Materials 300+ materials 300+ materials Both state 300+ materials
Tools 13 tools Not stated Maker 5 lists 13 tools
Cutting size 12 in (30.5 cm) Not stated Maker 4 states no cutting size
Max thickness 3 mm Not stated Maker 5 states 3 mm
Heat press EasyPress Mini LT EasyPress 3 in title; EasyPress 2 (SE) in bundle list Maker 4 listing disagrees on model
Bundle scope Supplies for 135 projects Heat press, mat, tote bag, samplers Maker 5 bundle is project-counted
Digital images 25 bonus images 30 bonus images Bonus images with each bundle
Warranty Not stated Not stated Neither states a term

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 3 November 2026. Both examples here are Cricut Maker bundles, so the dedicated vinyl cutter side has no example listing in this comparison.

vinyl cutter vs cricut maker: materials and tools

Both Maker bundles state work with 300+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on and cardstock. The Maker 5 listing also names fabric among its materials. The Maker 5 bundle states thicker materials up to 3 mm, including leather and foam core board, and engraving up to 3 mm on metal and acrylic, with 13 tools for cutting, engraving, writing, drawing, foiling, scoring and debossing. The Maker 4 bundle states cutting, drawing, foiling, scoring, engraving, debossing and perforating, plus Print-Then-Cut for full-color stickers with most inkjet printers. No dedicated vinyl cutter listing states a vinyl-only width or speed here, so no winner can be called on vinyl-only work from these listings. See our Cricut Explore vs Cricut Maker guide for how the Maker line differs from its smaller sibling.

Bundles and heat presses

The Maker 5 bundle includes supplies for 135 projects, an EasyPress Mini LT heat press, and tools including the Knife Blade, Engraving Tool, Rotary Blade and Deep Cutting Tool, plus Printable Vinyl and Insert Card Sets. The Maker 4 bundle includes a heat press, a Light Grip Machine Mat, pens, tools, a tote bag blank and material samplers including Smart Iron-On, Smart Vinyl, cardstock and transfer tape. The Maker 4 listing disagrees on which heat press is included: its title and heat-press bullet say EasyPress 3, while its bundle list says EasyPress 2 (SE), so confirm the press model before buying. See our heat press vs iron guide for how a press differs from an iron.

Software and content

Both bundles use Design Space: the Maker 5 listing describes it as a free, easy-to-use app, while the Maker 4 listing describes it as easy-to-learn design software with a free content library. The Maker 5 listing describes a content library of 1.8 million+ images, 1,500+ fonts, 300,000+ projects and 50,000 templates available with a Cricut Access Subscription, plus 25 bonus digital images with the bundle. The Maker 4 listing describes a free content library of 3,000+ images and 100+ fonts, plus 30 bonus digital images with the bundle. The free library and the subscription library are not the same offer, so check which images and fonts are included free before counting on a design.

Choose the Cricut Maker 5 Bundle if

  • You want 13 tools and engraving on metal and acrylic up to 3 mm.
  • You want supplies for 135 projects in one bundle.
  • You want the stated 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting performance.
  • You want the newer, more compact Maker design.

Choose the Cricut Maker 4 Bundle if

  • You want Print-Then-Cut stickers with most inkjet printers.
  • You want a heat press, mat, tote bag and samplers in one bundle.
  • You want a free library of 3,000+ images and 100+ fonts.
  • You can confirm which heat press model the bundle includes.

For more craft options, see best craft machines for stickers.

Safety

Cutting machines use sharp blades. Keep hands clear of the cutting path while a machine runs, store blades capped when not in use, and keep small cutting tools out of reach of unsupervised children.

Project Match

  • Vinyl decals and stickers: both bundles, since both list vinyl and the Maker 4 adds Print-Then-Cut for full-color stickers.
  • Iron-on shirts: both bundles, since both list iron-on and both include a heat press.
  • Engraved metal and acrylic tags: Maker 5 bundle, since it states engraving up to 3 mm on metal and acrylic.
  • Leather patches and cards: both bundles, since both list leather and cardstock among their materials.
  • Dedicated vinyl-only production: Not stated, since no dedicated vinyl cutter example is included here.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

Is a Cricut Maker a vinyl cutter?

A Cricut Maker cuts vinyl among 300+ materials, but it also cuts, engraves and draws on other materials, so it is a multi-material machine rather than a vinyl-only cutter. No dedicated vinyl cutter example is included in this comparison, so vinyl-only width and speed cannot be scored here.

Which bundle includes a heat press?

Both bundles include a heat press: the Maker 5 bundle includes an EasyPress Mini LT, and the Maker 4 bundle names a heat press as well. The Maker 4 listing disagrees on the model, with its title and heat-press bullet saying EasyPress 3 while its bundle list says EasyPress 2 (SE), so confirm the model before buying.

How many materials do these machines work with?

Both listings state 300+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on and cardstock. Fabric is named in the Maker 5 listing. The Maker 5 listing also states 13 tools and engraving on metal and acrylic up to 3 mm.

Do I need a subscription to design?

The Maker 5 listing describes Design Space as a free app, and the Maker 4 listing describes it as easy-to-learn software with a free library of 3,000+ images and 100+ fonts. The Maker 5 listing ties its larger library totals to a Cricut Access Subscription, so check which content is free before buying.

What cutting size does the Maker 5 state?

The Maker 5 listing states 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting performance. The Maker 4 listing states no cutting size, so size cannot be compared between the two bundles.

Related: Cricut Explore vs Cricut Maker, heat press vs iron, best craft machines for stickers and the craft machines hub.

More buying guides