Best Power Heat Press (2026): 5 Picks for Shirts and Transfers
5 presses for T-shirts, bags, tiles and small HTV details, compared by wattage, platen size, pressure control and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallSmarketBuy 16×249.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best Slide-Out DrawerPlanetFlame 15×159.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Best WorkhorsePowerPress 15×159.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Best High-Temperature DrawerColorSub 15×159.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Best Mini Detail PressCricut EasyPress Mini9.4/10View on Amazon
A heat press turns a printed design into a finished shirt, bag or tile, and the best power heat press for a given shop depends on the size of the work, the power behind the plate, and how the press handles pressure. This guide compares 5 presses, from a mini detail press to a large high-pressure platen, on the figures each listing states: wattage, platen size, temperature and time ranges, pressure control, and warranty.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall SmarketBuy 16×24: Largest platen, highest wattage, pull-out base and hydraulic rod. Check price on Amazon
- Best Slide-Out Drawer PlanetFlame 15×15: Fully pull-out tray, adjustable pressure knob and overheat shut-down fuse. Check price on Amazon
- Best Workhorse PowerPress 15×15: 1400 W, removable washable silicon mat and a replaceable safety fuse. Check price on Amazon
- Best High-Temperature Drawer ColorSub 15×15: Slide-out drawer with a 482°F top temperature and a washable sponge pad. Check price on Amazon
- Best Mini Detail Press Cricut EasyPress Mini: Precision tip and single setting for shoes, baby clothes and small HTV work. Check price on Amazon
Machines on the list

SmarketBuy Upgraded Heat Press 16x24 Inch
A 16 x 24 inch clamshell press with 1800 W, a pull-out lower platen, a hydraulic rod for lifting the plate, and a stated 2 year warranty.
Pros
- 16 x 24 inch platen, the largest work area in this guide
- 1800 W with digital temperature and time control, plus an automatic alarm when heating ends
- Pull-out lower platen slides out for placing and aligning material
- Hydraulic rod eases lifting and lowering the heating plate, with a limiter that keeps the plate steady
Cons
- At 65.9 lb it is the heaviest press in this guide
- Large 16 x 24 inch platen takes more bench space than the 15 x 15 inch picks
- Temperature range tops out at 400°F, below the 482°F top of the ColorSub pick
- No mug, cap or plate attachment is stated in the listing

PlanetFlame 15x15 Heat Press Machine for T-Shirts
A 15 x 15 inch slide-out drawer press with 1350 W, an adjustable pressure knob, a digital LCD controller and a stated 365 day warranty.
Pros
- 15 x 15 inch Teflon nonstick plate with a fully pull-out tray
- Adjustable pressure knob tunes pressure to material thickness
- Digital LCD controller with time and temperature settings, switchable between °F and °C
- Built-in safety fuse shuts the press down on overheat, and the listing states CE certification
Cons
- Temperature range tops out at 390°F, below the 482°F top of the ColorSub pick
- At 44.3 lb it is heavier than the 36.0 lb PowerPress pick
- Listed for flat items such as T-shirts, bags and ceramic tiles, not curved goods
- 365 day warranty is shorter than the 2 year term on the SmarketBuy pick

PowerPress Industrial-Quality Digital Sublimation
A 15 x 15 inch industrial-quality press with 1400 W, a digital control board, a removable silicon mat and a stated 3 month warranty.
Pros
- 1400 W with a digital control board, a 32-455 F temperature range and a 0-999 s time range
- Teflon-coated 15 x 15 inch heating plate
- Removable silicon mat is washable and replaceable
- Replaceable fuse guards the machine against overheating and electric short
Cons
- 3 month warranty is the lowest term in this guide
- No adjustable pressure feature is stated in the listing
- 36.0 lb weight still needs a dedicated bench spot
- Temperature range tops out at 455 F, below the 482°F top of the ColorSub pick

ColorSub Heat Press 15x15 inch Industrial Quality
A 15 x 15 inch slide-out drawer press with 1222 W, a Teflon-coated platen and a stated 1 year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- 15 x 15 inch non-stick coated heat platen
- Sliding drawer lower platen keeps hands clear of the hot upper element when laying out transfers
- Temperature range to 482°F (250°C), the highest top temperature in this guide
- Heat-resistant sponge pad is washable and detachable, and helps stop slipping when loading shirts
Cons
- 1222 W is the lowest wattage among the full-size picks
- No adjustable pressure feature is stated in the listing
- No weight is stated in the listing
- No LCD or digital display is stated in the listing

Cricut EasyPress Mini™ LT - Blue
A mini press with a ceramic-coated plate, a precision tip, a single setting and a stated 1 year limited warranty, sized for small items such as shoes and baby clothes.
Pros
- Precision tip reaches small areas on shoes, baby clothes and T-shirts
- Ceramic-coated heat plate gives dry, edge-to-edge heat up to 355°F (180°C)
- Insulated safety base included, and the listing states conformity with UL, CSA, FCC and IEC standards
- Compact plate measuring 2.52 x 3.94 inches for detail work
Cons
- Small plate size means it covers detail areas, not a full shirt front in 1 press
- Single setting only, so temperature and time cannot be tuned per material
- No time range is stated in the listing
- Works as a complement to a Cricut cutting machine, so buyers without a Cricut cutting machine get less of the system
Specs compared
| Model | HQ Score | Power | Platen | Temp range | Time range | Pressure | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SmarketBuy 16×24 | 9.7/10 | 1800 W | 16 x 24 inch | 32 – 400°F | 0 – 999 seconds | Adjustable full-range knob | 2 years |
| PlanetFlame 15×15 | 9.6/10 | 1350 W | 15 x 15 inch | 0-390°F | 0-999 s | Adjustable knob | 365 days |
| PowerPress 15×15 | 9.6/10 | 1400 W | 15 x 15 inch | 32-455 F | 0-999 s | Not stated | 3 months |
| ColorSub 15×15 | 9.5/10 | 1222 W | 15 x 15 inch | 0-482°F | 0-999 s | Not stated | 1 year |
| Cricut EasyPress Mini | 9.4/10 | 94 W | 2.52 x 3.94 inches | Up to 355°F | Not stated | Not stated | 1 year |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 3 November 2026. Platen size is the heated area the listing states.
How the picks were scored
Each press is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on the How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.
| Product | HQ Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SmarketBuy 16×24 | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 3 |
| PlanetFlame 15×15 | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 2 |
| PowerPress 15×15 | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 1 |
| ColorSub 15×15 | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 6 | 2 |
| Cricut EasyPress Mini | 9.4 | 18 | 19 | 18 | 9 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you, and what they leave out
Every full-size pick here states a platen size, a wattage and a temperature range, but the listings differ on pressure control: 2 state an adjustable knob, and the rest leave pressure unstated. Warranty terms vary from a short 3 month term to a 2 year term.
Read the temperature and time ranges together with the platen size. A large platen with a high wattage suits big flat transfers, while a mini plate suits detail work. Where a listing leaves a spec unstated, the card says so.
Buying guide: choosing the best power heat press
Makers shopping the wider range can browse the power press heat press hub. The sections below cover platen size and wattage, drawer or fixed base, pressure control, and safety features with warranty.
Platen size and wattage
Platen size decides what fits under the plate in 1 press. The full-size picks here state 15 x 15 inch or 16 x 24 inch platens, and the mini pick states a 2.52 x 3.94 inch plate for detail areas. Wattage runs from 1222 W to 1800 W among the full-size picks, while the mini pick states 94 W.
Slide-out drawer or fixed base
A slide-out drawer lets the operator lay out a transfer on the lower platen away from the hot upper plate. The ColorSub and PlanetFlame picks state a slide-out drawer, and the SmarketBuy pick states a pull-out lower platen with the same idea. The PowerPress listing states no drawer, and the Cricut pick is a handheld mini press.
Pressure control
Pressure matters because material thickness varies from thin transfer film to thick garments. The PlanetFlame and SmarketBuy picks state an adjustable pressure knob for tuning pressure to material thickness. The other listings state no pressure feature, so pressure on those picks comes from closing the plate alone.
Safety features and warranty
Safety features on these listings take several forms: a replaceable fuse on the PowerPress pick, a safety fuse with automatic shut-down on the PlanetFlame pick, a plate limiter and pull-out base on the SmarketBuy pick, a drawer design on the ColorSub pick, and an insulated safety base with stated UL, CSA, FCC and IEC conformity on the Cricut pick. Warranty terms run from 3 months to 2 years across the 5 picks.
Heat press platens run hot during pressing and stay hot after the timer ends. Keep hands clear of the upper plate, and let the plate cool before moving the press or changing a mat.
Project Match
- T-shirts and flat garments: the 15 x 15 inch and 16 x 24 inch picks, which the listings describe for T-shirts and clothing.
- Bags, pillow cases and tiles: the ColorSub, PlanetFlame and SmarketBuy picks, which list bags, pillow cases, tiles and other flat items.
- Large transfers: the SmarketBuy pick, with its 16 x 24 inch platen for big flat pieces.
- Small HTV details on shoes and baby clothes: the Cricut EasyPress Mini, with its precision tip and mini plate.
- Transfers needing the highest top temperature: the ColorSub pick, with its stated top of 482°F.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
What is an auto heat press machine?
An auto heat press machine opens the platen on its own when the set time ends, instead of the operator lifting it by hand. None of the picks in this guide states an auto-open feature. The SmarketBuy pick states an automatic alarm that sounds when heating ends, plus a hydraulic rod that eases lifting the plate.
How does a heat press machine work?
Heat, pressure and time transfer a design from paper or film onto a flat item. The operator sets a temperature and a time, lays the transfer on the item, closes the plate, and waits for the timer or alarm. The full-size picks here state time ranges of 0-999 seconds.
What is the best heat press for beginners?
The Cricut EasyPress Mini suits a beginner starting with small HTV work: it has a single setting, a precision tip, and a Heat Guide that gives materials, blanks, time settings and step-by-step pressing instructions. A beginner planning full shirts should look at the 15 x 15 inch drawer picks instead.
How do you use an automatic heat press machine?
Set the temperature and time, place the item and transfer on the lower platen, close the plate, and wait for the timer or alarm. The drawer picks let the operator slide the base out to place material without reaching under the hot element.
Related: the heat press and sublimation hub, 15×15 heat presses with attachments, automatic heat presses, clamshell vs swing-away presses, and laser engraver vs heat press.



