Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Cricut Joy vs Cricut Explore Air: Which One Should You Buy?

Two Cricut Joy 2 bundles compared by bundle size, cutting width, materials and app, with notes on what the Explore Air side leaves unstated.

Cricut Joy vs Cricut Explore Air: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

A card, a sticker or a label starts as a small everyday project, and the cutter on the desk decides how fiddly it feels. This cricut joy vs cricut explore air comparison works from what the listings here actually state: both listings are Cricut Joy 2 bundles, so the head-to-head below compares the two Joy 2 bundles and notes where the Explore Air side is left unstated.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Verdict: pick the Joy 2 Ultimate Bundle if you want supplies for up to 75 projects plus the EasyPress Mini LT heat press; pick the Joy 2 Essential Bundle if supplies for up to 35 projects cover your plans. Both bundles hold the same Joy 2 machine, so the choice is about bundle size, not cutting specs. No Explore Air listing is included here, so its specs cannot be scored from this data.

Machines on the list

Cricut Joy™ 2 + Ultimate Bundle, Blue

Cricut Joy™ 2 + Ultimate Bundle, Blue

Cricut9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Cricut Joy 2 bundle with supplies for up to 75 projects, including an EasyPress Mini LT heat press.

Pros

  • Supplies for up to 75 projects
  • EasyPress Mini LT heat press included
  • 4.5 in cutting width, 75+ materials
  • Bluetooth Design Space app with free content library

Cons

  • No bonus image or font count is stated for this bundle
  • Limited Warranty with no term stated
  • 4.5 in width suits small projects only
  • No weight for the full bundle is stated
Cricut Joy™ 2 Essential Bundle + Digital Content

Cricut Joy™ 2 Essential Bundle + Digital Content

Cricut9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Cricut Joy 2 bundle with supplies for up to 35 projects, plus bonus digital content.

Pros

  • Supplies for up to 35 projects
  • 25 bonus images plus 1 font included
  • 4.5 in cutting width, 75+ materials
  • Bluetooth Design Space app with free content library

Cons

  • No heat press is stated in this bundle
  • Limited Warranty with no term stated
  • 4.5 in width suits small projects only
  • Fewer project supplies than the larger bundle

Cricut Joy vs Cricut Explore Air side by side

Spec Joy 2 Ultimate Bundle Joy 2 Essential Bundle Notes
Cutting width 4.5 in (11.4 cm) 4.5 in (11.4 cm) Same machine
Materials 75+ materials 75+ materials Same machine
Weight Just over 2 lbs (0.91 kg) Just over 2 lbs (0.91 kg) Same machine
Bundle projects Up to 75 projects Up to 35 projects Ultimate has more supplies
Heat press EasyPress Mini LT included Not stated Ultimate only
Bonus content Not stated 25 images plus 1 font Essential only
Connectivity Bluetooth Bluetooth Same machine
App Design Space Design Space Same machine
Warranty Limited Warranty Limited Warranty No term stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.

Cutting width and size

Both listings describe the same machine: a 4.5 in (11.4 cm) cutting width in an ultra-compact body that weighs just over 2 lbs (0.91 kg). That width suits smaller everyday projects such as cards, simple decals and labels. Neither listing states a larger cutting width, so a maker who needs wide cuts will not find it in either bundle here.

Materials and functions

Both listings state the Joy 2 works with 75+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on, printable materials and cardstock, and that the machine writes, draws, foils, scores and cuts intricate designs. Both also work with a home inkjet printer: print a design, and the machine recognizes and precision-cuts around the printed image for full-color stickers, decals and apparel. No Explore Air material list is included here, so no material comparison against that side can be drawn from this data.

Software and app

Both bundles connect through Bluetooth to Design Space, described as a free app for mobile or desktop with step-by-step design flows, customizable templates and a content library. The free out-of-the-box library in both listings includes 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects. Extra content can be bought a la carte or through a Cricut Access Subscription, which both listings describe as a small reoccurring monthly or annual fee.

Bundle contents

The bundles differ in supplies, not in the machine. The Essential Bundle includes Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets and Printable Vinyl, enough for up to 35 projects, plus 25 additional premium-quality images and 1 font. The 75-project bundle includes the same kinds of tools and materials plus a Cricut EasyPress Mini LT heat press, enough for up to 75 projects. The larger listing does not restate the bonus image and font count, so that bonus is stated for the Essential listing only.

Support and warranty

Both spec tables state a Limited Warranty with no term given, so neither bundle scores on warranty here. Both listings point to the same Design Space app and content library, and neither listing states a support channel. Warranty terms are not stated for either bundle.

Choose the Joy 2 Ultimate Bundle if

  • You want supplies for up to 75 projects rather than 35.
  • You want the EasyPress Mini LT heat press in the box.
  • You plan many iron-on or vinyl projects from the start.

Choose the Joy 2 Essential Bundle if

  • Supplies for up to 35 projects cover your plans.
  • You want the stated bonus of 25 images plus 1 font.
  • You already own a heat press or do not need one.

Project Match

  • Cards, stickers and labels: either bundle, since both list those projects.
  • Full-color stickers: either bundle, using a home inkjet printer plus the cutter.
  • Iron-on apparel: either bundle cuts Smart Iron-On; the larger bundle adds the EasyPress Mini LT heat press.
  • Small-space crafting: either bundle, since the machine weighs just over 2 lbs and stores in any space.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

What is the difference between the two Joy 2 bundles?

The machine is the same in both: a 4.5 in cutting width, 75+ materials, Bluetooth and Design Space. The Essential Bundle covers up to 35 projects and states a bonus of 25 images plus 1 font. The 75-project bundle covers up to 75 projects and adds a Cricut EasyPress Mini LT heat press.

Can the Joy 2 cut vinyl and iron-on?

Yes, both listings name vinyl and iron-on among the 75+ materials, along with printable materials and cardstock. Both listings also state the machine writes, draws, foils, scores and cuts. The larger bundle adds a heat press for iron-on work; the Essential bundle does not state one.

Does the Joy 2 work with a home inkjet printer?

Yes, both listings state the machine works with a home inkjet printer to make full-color stickers. Print a design with the printer, and the machine recognizes and precision-cuts around the printed image. Both listings describe this for stickers, decals and apparel.

What is Cricut Design Space?

Design Space is the free app both listings name for mobile or desktop, connected through Bluetooth. It offers step-by-step design flows, customizable templates and a content library. The free out-of-the-box library in both listings includes 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects.

Where does the Explore Air fit in?

No Explore Air listing is included in this comparison, so its cutting width, materials and bundle contents are not stated here and cannot be scored. The two picks above are both Cricut Joy 2 bundles, differing in supplies and the heat press. A maker comparing against an Explore Air should check that listing separately.

Related: cricut explore vs cricut maker. See every craft machine guide and all cutting machine guides.

More buying guides