Cricut Explore 3 vs Cricut Maker 3: Which One Should You Buy?
Two Cricut cutting bundles compared on cutting range, software, bundle contents, safety and warranty.

On this page
A cutting machine earns its place when it turns an idea into something sellable, whether that is a decal for a shop window, a shirt for a customer, or a card for a gift. The choice between cricut explore 3 vs cricut maker 3 comes down to what you plan to make most: one side is a wide-range cutting bundle, the other pairs cutting with a heat press for apparel. This comparison uses what each Amazon listing states, so you can match the machine to the work.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Verdict: Pick the Maker side if apparel is the main work, since its bundle adds a heat press for transfers. Pick the Explore side if a stated cutting range matters most, since its listing states 100+ materials and six tools, while the Maker listing states neither figure. Neither listing states a machine price, so judge on the work, not the cost.
Machines on the list

Cricut Maker 5 Cutting Machine and EasyPress Heat
A cutting bundle pairing a Maker machine with an EasyPress SE 9x9 heat press, Smart vinyl and HTV sheets for custom apparel.
Pros
- Bundle includes an EasyPress SE 9x9 heat press for apparel transfers
- Smart vinyl and HTV sheets included for apparel right out of the box
- EasyPress SE auto-shutoff and heat base
- 1 Year Warranty Against Manufacturer Defects stated
Cons
- Listing does not name cutting software
- Listing does not state a cutting width or a material count
- Listing is titled as a Maker 5 bundle, not a Maker 3 listing
- Heat press included even if you only want to cut

Cricut Explore® 5 + Deluxe Bundle + Digital
A cutting bundle with a 12 in (30.5 cm) machine, six tools and supplies for up to 100 projects.
Pros
- Cuts 100+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on, cardstock and printable materials
- Six tools, including a Deep Cutting Tool for foam and rubber
- Design Space app over Bluetooth with 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects
- Deluxe Bundle supplies for up to 100 projects, including Smart Vinyl and Smart Iron-On
Cons
- Listing states only a Limited Warranty with no term
- Listing states no safety feature
- Deep Cutting Tool sold separately
- Listing is titled as an Explore 5 bundle, not an Explore 3 listing
Cricut Explore 3 vs Cricut Maker 3 Side by Side
| Spec | Cricut Maker 3 | Cricut Explore 3 | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| HQ Score | 69 | 58 | Maker side leads on warranty and safety |
| Cutting | Precision cutting; Smart vinyl and HTV sheets | 12 in (30.5 cm); 100+ materials; six tools | Explore listing states range; Maker listing does not |
| Bundle | Maker 5 machine plus EasyPress SE 9×9 heat press | Explore 5 machine plus Deluxe Bundle supplies | Both listings are bundles |
| Software | Not stated in the listing | Design Space app over Bluetooth | Maker listing names no software |
| Materials | Smart vinyl and HTV sheets | Vinyl, iron-on, cardstock, printable materials | Explore listing names more types |
| Warranty | 1 Year Warranty Against Manufacturer Defects | Limited Warranty, no term stated | Only the Maker listing states a term |
| Weight | 9.0 pounds | 18.959754532 pounds | Listings do not say if weights are machine-only or bundle totals |
| Safety | EasyPress SE auto-shutoff and heat base | Not stated in the listing | Safety feature stated only for the press |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 3 November 2026.
Cutting range and materials
The Explore-side listing states a 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting width and precision cutting across 100+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on, cardstock and printable materials, plus writing, drawing, foiling, scoring and cutting. It works with six tools, including a Deep Cutting Tool for foam and rubber that is sold separately. The Maker-side listing states precision cutting and names Smart vinyl and HTV sheets in the bundle, but it does not state a cutting width or a material count, so a direct range comparison is not possible from the listings alone. Treat the weights the same way: the Explore-side listing states 18.959754532 pounds and the Maker-side listing states 9.0 pounds, but neither listing says whether its weight is the machine alone or the bundle total, so they do not settle which machine is lighter.
Software and workflow
The Explore-side listing names the Design Space app, reached over Bluetooth from a mobile or desktop device, with step-by-step design flows, customizable templates, AI-image generation and an out-of-the-box library of 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects. It also describes Print Then Cut: print a design with a home inkjet printer and the machine cuts around the printed image for full-color stickers, decals and apparel. The Maker-side listing does not name software; it describes a workflow in 4 easy steps, design, cut, press and apply, built around the included heat press. If guided software matters, the Explore listing says more; if pressing apparel matters, the Maker bundle covers the full chain.
Bundles and value
The Explore-side bundle is a Deluxe Bundle with Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, Value Cardstock, Insert Card Sets and Printable Vinyl, with supplies for up to 100 projects, plus 25 additional premium images and 1 font. The Maker-side bundle pairs the cutting machine with an EasyPress SE 9×9 heat press, tools, Smart vinyl and HTV sheets, so apparel work needs no additional equipment beyond the bundle, per the listing. Neither listing states a machine price, so value here means what arrives in the box: broader cutting supplies on the Explore side, a press on the Maker side.
Safety and warranty
The Maker-side listing names a safety feature: the EasyPress SE has auto-shutoff and a heat base. The Explore-side listing states no safety feature. On warranty, the Maker-side listing states 1 Year Warranty Against Manufacturer Defects, while the Explore-side listing states only a Limited Warranty with no term.
Choose the Cricut Maker 3 if
- Apparel is the main work, since the bundle adds a 9×9 heat press.
- A stated 1 year warranty term matters.
- You want vinyl and HTV sheets in the box for transfers.
Choose the Cricut Explore 3 if
- Cutting range matters most, with 100+ materials and six tools stated.
- You want the Design Space app over Bluetooth with a large out-of-the-box library.
- You want bundle supplies for up to 100 projects.
Cutting machines use small sharp blades and mats. Cover blades when the machine is idle, keep small parts away from children, and follow the maker instructions for the heat press.
Project Match
- Custom decals and full-color stickers: the Explore-side listing, which names decals and Print Then Cut for stickers.
- Personalized apparel, tote bags and hoodies: the Maker-side bundle, which pairs cutting with the EasyPress SE press.
- Cards and paper crafts: the Explore-side listing, which names cards and cardstock among its materials.
- Foam and rubber projects: the Explore-side listing, with the Deep Cutting Tool sold separately.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
Which side suits apparel sellers?
The Maker side. Its bundle pairs the cutting machine with an EasyPress SE 9×9 heat press and includes Smart vinyl and HTV sheets, covering design, cutting and pressing for shirts, hoodies and tote bags.
Which side cuts more materials?
The listings do not settle that: the Explore side states 100+ materials and six tools, while the Maker listing names Smart vinyl and HTV sheets without a material count, so no direct range winner follows from the listings alone.
Does the Explore-side listing name software?
Yes. It names the Design Space app over Bluetooth, with an out-of-the-box library of 3,000+ images, 100+ fonts and 1,000+ projects.
Which listing states a warranty term?
The Maker-side listing states 1 Year Warranty Against Manufacturer Defects. The Explore-side listing states only a Limited Warranty with no term.
Are the listed weights machine weights?
No. The Explore-side listing states 18.959754532 pounds and the Maker-side listing states 9.0 pounds, but neither listing says whether its weight is the machine alone or the bundle total, so they do not compare machine weight directly.
Related: Cricut Explore vs Cricut Maker: Which One Should You Buy?, Best Cutting Machine for Etsy Sellers and Cricut EasyPress vs Heat Press: Which One Should You Buy?.



