Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Commercial Heat Press Under $400 (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five commercial heat presses under $400 compared by platen size, temperature range, pressure control, safety shutoff and warranty.

Best Commercial Heat Press Under $400 (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1HTVRONT Auto Press 2Best OverallHTVRONT Auto Press 29.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2HTVRONT Swing PressBest Swing AwayHTVRONT Swing Press9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3VEVOR 16×24 PressBest Large PlatenVEVOR 16×24 Press9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4CoolSub Slide Out PressBest Slide OutCoolSub Slide Out Press9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5RoyalPress 15×15Best Simple PressRoyalPress 15×159.4/10View on Amazon

For a small shop pressing shirts, totes and signs in volume, the best commercial heat press under 400 keeps costs in line while handling daily orders. This guide compares five commercial heat presses by platen size, temperature range, pressure control, safety shutoff and warranty, using only what each listing states.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall HTVRONT Auto Press 2: Automatic pressing with adjustable pressure up to 80 kg and a 4.5 cm pressing height. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Swing Away HTVRONT Swing Press: 1500W swing-away press with auto shutoff and FCC certification. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Large Platen VEVOR 16×24 Press: 16 x 24 inch platen with 1700W power and a 570°F top temperature. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Slide Out CoolSub Slide Out Press: Slide-out drawer press with a Teflon plate and digital controls. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Simple Press RoyalPress 15×15: Industrial-style 15×15 press with a cast aluminum plate and counter. Check price on Amazon

Machines on the list

HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2

HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2

HTVRONT9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An automatic 15x15 heat press with adjustable pressure up to 80 kg, a higher pressing height for thick items, and automatic release when the timer ends.

Pros

  • Adjustable pressure up to 80 kg for DTF projects
  • Pressing height up to 4.5 cm for hoodies and heavy items
  • Heats to 410°F within 5 minutes and 30 seconds
  • Automatic pressing and release, with a buzzer when the timer ends

Cons

  • Pressing height is limited to 4.5 cm
  • Platen material is not stated
  • Only Bubble Blue color is listed
  • Warranty is 1 Year Manufacturer, with no longer term stated
HTVRONT Heat Press Machine 15x15

HTVRONT Heat Press Machine 15x15

HTVRONT9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15x15 swing-away press with 1500W heating, a 180° swing plate and adjustable pressure, with auto shutoff for safe use.

Pros

  • 1500W heating to a range of 104 to 410°F
  • 180° swing-away plate moves the hot plate aside for layout
  • Auto shutoff after 15 minutes of inactivity
  • FCC certification stated in the listing

Cons

  • Platen material is not stated
  • Only Blue color is listed
  • Swing-away design needs side clearance for the plate
  • Control panel cable is 1m, which limits panel placement
VEVOR Heat Press 16x24, 1700W Power Heat Press

VEVOR Heat Press 16x24, 1700W Power Heat Press

VEVOR9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16x24 heat press with 1700W power, a temperature range to 570°F and a Teflon-coated platen for large transfers.

Pros

  • 16 x 24 inch platen, the largest in this set
  • 1700W power with a temperature range of 0 to 570°F
  • Sponge heating pad with a service life of 20,000 hours
  • Teflon coating lowers surface temperature and resists adhesion

Cons

  • Spec table dimensions do not match the 16x24 plate
  • Warranty is 1 year, with no longer term stated
  • No auto shutoff stated
  • Plate movement type is not stated
CoolSub Heat Press 15x15 Inch Slide Out Heat Press

CoolSub Heat Press 15x15 Inch Slide Out Heat Press

CoolSub9.5/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15x15 slide-out press with a Teflon plate, pressure knobs and a digital panel, for flat items such as T-shirts, bags and tiles.

Pros

  • Slide-out drawer base for easy loading of flat items
  • Teflon non-stick heating plate, easy to clean
  • Temperature range of 0 to 440°F with time to 999 seconds
  • Pressure knobs adjust to material thickness

Cons

  • Warranty is one year, with no longer term stated
  • No auto shutoff stated
  • Color is Hot Pink, with no other color stated
  • No power in watts stated
RoyalPress 15" x 15" Color LED Industrial-Quality

RoyalPress 15" x 15" Color LED Industrial-Quality

Royal Press9.4/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15 x 15 industrial-quality press with a cast aluminum plate, Teflon coating and a triple-function controller for shirts, bags and puzzles.

Pros

  • Cast aluminum heating plate with Teflon coating
  • Temperature range of 0 to 480F with time and counter to 999
  • 1400W power with a US-standard grounded plug
  • LED controller with temperature, time and counter functions

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety feature such as auto shutoff stated
  • No pressure adjustment stated
  • T-shirts are not included in the package

Specs compared

Model HQ Score Platen Power Max temp Pressure Warranty
HTVRONT Auto Press 2 9.7/10 15×15 Not stated 410°F Up to 80 kg 1 Year Manufacturer
HTVRONT Swing Press 9.7/10 15×15 1500W 410°F Adjustable knob 1 year
VEVOR 16×24 Press 9.6/10 16×24 1700W 570°F Adjustable knob 1 year
CoolSub Slide Out Press 9.5/10 15×15 Not stated 440°F Adjustable knobs Not stated
RoyalPress 15×15 9.4/10 15×15 1400W 480F Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 3 November 2026.

What the heat press listings tell you

This guide compared 5 heat press listings. Four of the 5 listings state a 1 year warranty, and the RoyalPress listing states none. Two of the 5 listings name an auto shutoff after 15 minutes. All 5 listings state a platen of 15 inches or larger on the short side.

Buying guide: choosing the best commercial heat press under 400

Platen size and pressing height

Platen size decides the largest item a press can take in one pressing. Four presses in this set use a 15×15 platen, while the VEVOR press uses a 16 x 24 inch platen. The HTVRONT Auto Press 2 adds a pressing height up to 4.5 cm for hoodies and heavy items, while the other listings do not state a pressing height.

Temperature and power

Temperature range and power decide how fast a press heats and which transfers it can run. The VEVOR press lists 1700W with a top temperature of 570°F. The HTVRONT Swing Press lists 1500W with a range of 104 to 410°F. The RoyalPress lists 1400W with a range of 0 to 480F. The CoolSub press lists a range of 0 to 440°F with no power figure stated. The HTVRONT Auto Press 2 lists a top temperature of 410°F with no power figure stated.

Pressure and automation

Pressure control decides how evenly a transfer bonds across thick and thin items. The HTVRONT Auto Press 2 adjusts pressure up to 80 kg and presses automatically with release at the timer end. The HTVRONT Swing Press, CoolSub press and VEVOR press use pressure knobs for adjustment. The RoyalPress listing states no pressure adjustment.

Safety and shutoff

Heat presses run hot, so shutoff and plate handling matter. The HTVRONT Auto Press 2 shuts off after 15 minutes with no operation. The HTVRONT Swing Press shuts off after 15 minutes of inactivity. The CoolSub slide-out base reduces accidental contact. The VEVOR and RoyalPress listings state no shutoff feature.

Heat press safety

Keep fingers clear of the hot platen, let the press cool before moving it, and run it in a ventilated room.

Project Match

  • T-shirts: all 5 presses list T-shirts among their uses.
  • Hoodies and thick items: HTVRONT Auto Press 2, with a pressing height up to 4.5 cm.
  • Pillows and large pieces: VEVOR 16×24 Press, with a 16 x 24 inch platen.
  • Tiles and flat hard goods: CoolSub Slide Out Press, listing tiles among flat items.
  • Wooden signs: HTVRONT Swing Press, listing wooden signs among its materials.

How the scores add up

Each press is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. For heat presses, safety points come from named features such as auto shutoff and a slide-out base that reduces contact with the hot plate. How we pick explains the weights.

Product HQ Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
HTVRONT Auto Press 2 9.7 32 22 20 7 3
HTVRONT Swing Press 9.7 30 21 19 8 3
VEVOR 16×24 Press 9.6 32 21 21 4 3
CoolSub Slide Out Press 9.5 28 20 20 4 0
RoyalPress 15×15 9.4 27 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

What size heat press should a small shop choose?

Choose by the largest item the shop presses. Four presses here use a 15×15 platen, while the VEVOR press uses a 16 x 24 inch platen for larger pieces.

What temperature range do these presses cover?

The RoyalPress lists 0 to 480F. The VEVOR lists 0 to 570°F. The CoolSub lists 0 to 440°F.

Do these heat presses shut off automatically?

The HTVRONT Auto Press 2 shuts off after 15 minutes with no operation. The HTVRONT Swing Press shuts off after 15 minutes of inactivity. The other listings in this set do not state an auto shutoff.

Can a heat press handle hoodies?

The HTVRONT Auto Press 2 lists a pressing height up to 4.5 cm for heavy items such as hoodies. The other listings do not state a hoodie height.

What materials can these presses transfer onto?

The listings name T-shirts, totes, bags, tiles, ceramics and fabrics, depending on the press. Check the listing for the material of each job.

Related: best swing away heat press 15×15, best commercial heat press, best heat press for hats, the heat presses and sublimation hub and the craft machines hub. See also the DTF vs heat transfer vinyl guide and the clamshell vs swing away heat press guide.

More buying guides