Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Atomstack A5 Pro vs Longer Ray5: Which One Should You Buy?

Longer Ray5 and ATOMSTACK A5 Pro laser engravers compared on power, area, speed, software, safety and warranty, with one example of each.

Atomstack A5 Pro vs Longer Ray5: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1ATOMSTACK 20W Laser EngraverATOMSTACK 20W Laser Engraver9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Longer New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver CutterLonger New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver Cutter9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3LONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter MachineLONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter Machine9.7/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Longer New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver CutterLonger New Upgrade RAY5 Laser Engraver CutterView on Amazon
  5. 5Longer RAY5 20W Laser Engraver with Air Pump and 17.3"x 17.3"Longer RAY5 20W Laser Engraver with Air Pump and 17.3"x 17.3"View on Amazon
  6. 6LONGER Ray5 Laser EngraverLONGER Ray5 Laser EngraverView on Amazon
  7. 7LONGER RAY5 Mini Laser EngraverLONGER RAY5 Mini Laser EngraverView on Amazon
  8. 8LONGER RAY5 20W Laser EngraverLONGER RAY5 20W Laser EngraverView on Amazon
  9. 9LONGER Laser Engraver Ray5 10WLONGER Laser Engraver Ray5 10WView on Amazon

A sign to engrave, a leather patch to mark, and a cut part to finish can each call for a different machine. Atomstack a5 pro vs longer ray5 is the comparison that follows, because the machines look related and work differently. This comparison puts the Longer example against the ATOMSTACK example on what each listing states, and leaves unclear what neither listing states.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Verdict: the Longer Ray5 example lists a 40W module, a touchscreen, and a full enclosure, while the ATOMSTACK example is the simpler start, with a larger stated area, a 1 Year Warranty, and app and USB control. Choose by what you plan to make.

Machines on the list

LONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter Machine

LONGER Ray5 Laser Engraver and Cutter Machine

Longer9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 40W laser engraver and cutter with a 385 x 385 mm area, a 3.5-inch touchscreen, USB, TF card, Wi-Fi and app control, and a full protective enclosure.

Pros

  • 40W laser module as listed, with a rated speed of up to 24,000mm/min
  • 385 x 385 mm work area with a 3.5-inch touchscreen
  • Single-pass cutting figures for pine wood, stainless steel, and acrylic as listed
  • Full enclosure, shield, emergency stop, motion protection, and overheating protection

Cons

  • Warranty entry of 1 names no term, so warranty stays unstated
  • No optical output figure is stated separately from the 40W module
  • No laser class is stated in the listing
  • No OD or wavelength is stated for the goggles
ATOMSTACK A5 Pro V2 5W Laser Engraving Machine

ATOMSTACK A5 Pro V2 5W Laser Engraving Machine

ATOMSTACK9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5W laser engraving machine for beginners and hobbyists with a 400 x 400 mm area, a rated speed of up to 400 mm/s, and Type-C and USB control.

Pros

  • 400 x 400 mm work area, larger than the Longer area in stated mm
  • Rated speed of up to 400 mm/s with a 0.06 x 0.08 mm spot size
  • Type-C and USB control with its own app, LightBurn, and LaserGRBL
  • Magnetic protective cover, safety glasses, and a 1 Year Warranty as listed

Cons

  • Bullets name both 5W and 60000 mW, so the power figure is stated in more than one way
  • No touchscreen, Wi-Fi, or offline mode is stated
  • No cutting thickness figure is stated
  • No laser class, OD, or wavelength is stated

Other machines to compare

atomstack a5 pro vs longer ray5 side by side

Spec Longer Ray5 40W ATOMSTACK A5 Pro V2 Notes
HQ Score 74 73 Longer leads on raw total
Laser 40W module, as listed 5W, as titled Module against titled output
Workspace 385 x 385 mm 400 x 400 mm ATOMSTACK area larger in mm
Speed Up to 24,000mm/min Up to 400 mm/s Units differ, no direct comparison
Spot 0.1 x 0.15 mm 0.06 x 0.08 mm ATOMSTACK spot smaller
Control 3.5-inch touchscreen, USB, TF card, Wi-Fi, app Type-C, USB, ATOMSTACK app and PC software Longer adds touchscreen and Wi-Fi
Software LaserGRBL, LightBurn, LaserBurn ATOMSTACK app, LightBurn, LaserGRBL Both list LightBurn and LaserGRBL
Safety Shield, enclosure, goggles, e-stop, motion, overheating Magnetic protective cover, safety glasses Longer lists more protections
Warranty Not stated 1 Year Warranty Only ATOMSTACK states a term
Cutting, single pass 20mm pine, 0.15mm stainless, 15mm acrylic Not stated Only Longer states figures
Cutting, multiple passes Up to 40mm wood, 50mm acrylic Not stated Only Longer states figures

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 1 November 2026.

Power and cutting

The Longer example lists a 40W laser module. The Longer example lists a maximum engraving speed of up to 24,000mm/min. The Longer example lists single-pass cutting of 20mm pine wood, 0.15mm stainless steel, and 15mm acrylic. The Longer example lists multiple-pass cutting of up to 40mm wood and 50mm acrylic.

The ATOMSTACK example lists a 5W laser output in its title. The ATOMSTACK example lists an engraving speed of up to 400 mm/s. The ATOMSTACK example lists a spot size of 0.06 x 0.08 mm. The ATOMSTACK example lists no cutting thickness figure, so no cutting comparison is possible on thickness.

Power figures are stated differently across the listings, so read them as listed. The Longer listing names a 40W module, with no optical output figure stated separately. The ATOMSTACK listing names 5W in its title, while its bullets also name a power equivalent to 60000 mW, so the ATOMSTACK power figure is stated in more than one way. Speed figures also use different units across the listings, so no direct speed comparison is made here.

Workspace and speed

The ATOMSTACK example lists a work area of 400 x 400 mm. The Longer example lists a work area of 385 x 385 mm. On the stated mm figures, the ATOMSTACK area is larger.

The Longer example lists a 3.5-inch touchscreen for monitoring progress and adjusting parameters. The Longer example lists USB, TF card, Wi-Fi, and app connectivity for online and offline operation. The ATOMSTACK example lists Type-C and USB cable control. The ATOMSTACK example lists no touchscreen and no Wi-Fi figure.

Materials and software

The ATOMSTACK example lists wood, leather, coated metal, and stainless steel. The ATOMSTACK example lists its own app and PC software, plus LightBurn and LaserGRBL. The Longer example lists wood, metal, leather, acrylic, glass, and cotton fabric. The Longer example lists LaserGRBL, LightBurn, and its own LaserBurn software.

Neither listing suggests lasering PVC, vinyl, or polycarbonate, and those materials should not be lasered on either machine here. The Longer example lists a 256-color palette and a spot size of 0.1 x 0.15 mm, with engraving precision of up to 0.01mm as listed. The ATOMSTACK example lists point compression technology and a spot size of 0.06 x 0.08 mm.

Safety and enclosure

The Longer example lists a protective shield, a full protective enclosure, and safety goggles. The Longer example lists an emergency stop, motion protection, overheating protection, and a hidden active cooling system. The Longer example lists a shield that filters over 95% of laser radiation, as listed.

The ATOMSTACK example lists a removable magnetic laser protective cover. The ATOMSTACK example lists safety glasses included with the machine. Neither listing states a laser class. Neither listing states an OD or a wavelength range for the glasses or the shield, so rated eyewear protection stays unstated for both examples.

Choose the Longer Ray5 40W if

  • You want a stated 40W module, a touchscreen, and a full enclosure.
  • You want stated single-pass cutting figures for pine wood, stainless steel, and acrylic.
  • You want USB, TF card, Wi-Fi, and app control with offline operation.

Choose the ATOMSTACK A5 Pro V2 if

  • You want a stated 400 x 400 mm work area.
  • You want a stated 1 Year Warranty and simple app and USB control.
  • You want a beginner and hobbyist machine for wood, leather, coated metal, and stainless steel.

For more enclosed options, see best enclosed laser engraver.

Safety

Stay with the machine while it runs, keep a fire extinguisher nearby, ventilate, and never laser PVC or vinyl. A shield or glasses without a stated OD and wavelength range should not be read as rated protection.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

Which machine has the larger stated work area?

The ATOMSTACK example lists 400 x 400 mm. The Longer example lists 385 x 385 mm.

Can either cut thick wood in a single pass?

The Longer example lists single-pass cutting of 20mm pine wood. The ATOMSTACK example lists no cutting thickness figure.

Do either list a touchscreen?

The Longer example lists a 3.5-inch touchscreen. The ATOMSTACK example lists no touchscreen.

What warranty does each list?

The ATOMSTACK example lists a 1 Year Warranty. The Longer example lists a warranty entry of 1, with no term stated, so warranty stays unstated for that example.

What software do they list?

Both listings name LightBurn and LaserGRBL. The ATOMSTACK listing also names its own app and PC software. The Longer listing also names LaserBurn software.

Related: how to choose a laser engraver, best laser engraver for beginners, diode vs CO2 guide and the laser engravers hub.

More buying guides