Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

3020 vs 3040 CNC Router: Which One Should You Buy?

A plain comparison of the 3020 vs 3040 cnc router choice, using only the stated work areas, spindles, controls and materials of four desktop listings.

3020 vs 3040 CNC Router: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1SainSmart Genmitsu 3020-PRO Ultra CNC Router MachineSainSmart Genmitsu 3020-PRO Ultra CNC Router Machine9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Twotrees TTC450 Pro All-Metal CNC Router Machine with NEMA 57Twotrees TTC450 Pro All-Metal CNC Router Machine with NEMA 579.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3FoxAlien Masuter Pro 3-Axis CNC Router MachineFoxAlien Masuter Pro 3-Axis CNC Router Machine9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4LUNYEE 3020 Nova CNC Router MachineLUNYEE 3020 Nova CNC Router MachineView on Amazon
  5. 5CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router Bit 1/4 Inch ShankCNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router Bit 1/4 Inch ShankView on Amazon
  6. 61/4" Shank CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router Bit 1-3/8" Cutting1/4" Shank CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router Bit 1-3/8" CuttingView on Amazon
  7. 7CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router BitCNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router BitView on Amazon
  8. 8FOOSFOOSView on Amazon
  9. 9Whiteside 6210 CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router BitWhiteside 6210 CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router BitView on Amazon

A small sign, a cut panel and a set of engraved parts all start the same way: a blank clamped to a bed, a spindle following a design, and a maker watching the cut take shape. For a desktop shop, 3020 vs 3040 cnc router is the fork in that road, and the listings behind the labels do not point the same way. The frame label alone settles nothing; the stated work area, spindle, control and materials of each listing settle far more.

Other machines to compare

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Honest note

The frame labels in this guide are model names, not measurements. Compare the stated work area, because listings behind similar labels state different beds, spindles and controls.

3020 vs 3040 CNC Router: What the Labels Do and Do Not Tell You

The model names look like measurements, and that resemblance misleads. No listing defines a naming code, and no listing states that a larger label means a larger bed. None of the four listings carries a 3040 label or states a 3040 bed: the labels here are 3020, 3030 and 3018, so this guide compares the stated beds instead of the labels.

The stated beds show why. The Genmitsu 3020-PRO MAX V2 listing states a working area of 11.8″ x 8.1″ x 3.1″. The RATTMMOTOR listings state a working area of 300x180x45mm in the title, and the bullets state 18x10x4.5CM with the parenthetical (11.8 x 7.1 x 1.8″). That parenthetical matches the title figure in inches, not the bullet cm figure, so this guide reports the title figure and the bullet cm figure separately and never treats the parenthetical as the bullet bed in inches. The Genmitsu 3030-PROVer Ultra listing states machine dimensions of 20.59″W x 16.22″H and states no work area, so machine size and bed size stay separate in this guide.

That split is the whole point of this guide. Read the label as a name, then compare the stated bed, spindle, control and materials, using the what-is-cnc-router-machine basics as a starting point.

The Gear in Rank Order

The listings below appear in rank order, with the listing that states the most capable spindle and rail set at the top. The order reflects stated specs alone.

Genmitsu 3030-PROVer Ultra

The listing claims a 710W digital spindle, described as 2.4× stronger than old 300W spindles, with a real-time digital display, ±0.03mm precision, HG15 dual linear rails and 1204 ball screws on every axis, dust-protected X/Y axes and hidden cables. Control comes through the Genmitsu APP, with Candle, UGS and Easel listed as compatible software. The listing states 2 pre-assembled modules, a large side-mounted emergency stop, a weight of 23 kg and a voltage of 230 volts. Materials named in the title are metal, aluminum and acrylic engraving.

Genmitsu 3020-PRO MAX V2

The listing states a working area of 11.8″ x 8.1″ x 3.1″, a 4040 Y-axis profile, a one-piece machined and molded aluminum spoilboard with measurement scale, a dual steel X-axis guide rail with an enclosed mold material and a new X-axis back plate. The integrated molded Z-axis C-mount is presented as a stability upgrade, with Grbl V1.1 control, Toshiba TB6S109 drivers featuring 32-bit chips, a 3 Pin Laser Port, an Air Assistance Pump Port and an MPG Port. The package includes an upgraded offline controller, 6pcs XYZ axis limit switches, emergency stop switches and a photoelectric Z-probe. The spec table states 12000 rpm, 0.4 hp, 230 volts and a weight of 14.86 kg. Materials named in the title are metal, wood, acrylic, PCB and MDF.

RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO MAX

The listing states a frame size of 42x35x27CM (16.53 x 13.78 x 10.63″) and a working area of 300x180x45mm in the title, with the bullets stating 18x10x4.5CM. The bullets also carry the parenthetical (11.8 x 7.1 x 1.8″), which matches the title figure in inches rather than the bullet cm figure, so this guide does not use it as the bullet bed. The title figure and the bullet figure differ, and this guide reports the listing as stating the title figure and the bullet figure side by side. The spindle is a 775 spindle motor (12-24V), stated at 24V:10000r/min in the bullets, while the spec table states a Maximum Rotational Speed of 20000 rpm and the bullets state maximum support for 20000RPM spindle. Read the bullet figure as the spindle figure and the spec table figure as the stated maximum. The GRBL1.1 control board supports an emergency stop button, X/Y/Z axis limit functions, tool setting (probe), an offline controller and a silent fan cooling.

RATTMMOTOR 3018PRO

The listing states the same frame size of 42x35x27CM (16.53 x 13.78 x 10.63″) and the same title working area of 300x180x45mm, with the bullets again stating 18x10x4.5CM, with the same parenthetical (11.8 x 7.1 x 1.8″) that matches the title figure in inches rather than the bullet cm figure. The spindle is a 775 spindle motor (12-24V), stated at 24V:10000r/min, with a 42 stepper motor at 12V, 1.3A, 2.1 ohms and 0.25N.m. The updated control board supports an emergency stop button and X/Y/Z axis limit functions, automatically identifies the offline controller and supports PWM, with a silent cooling fan. The kit includes a paper manual and a USB flash drive of files. It ranks below the PRO MAX because the PRO MAX listing adds the GRBL1.1 maximum support and tool setting statements that this listing does not state.

Work Area, Frame and Motion

Frame construction separates the listings: a thick all-metal chassis with HG15 dual linear rails on the 3030-PROVer Ultra, a 4040 Y-axis profile on the 3020-PRO MAX V2, and a black injection molding frame on the RATTMMOTOR listings. For beds, the only inch working area stated is the 3020-PRO MAX V2 working area of 11.8″ x 8.1″ x 3.1″. The RATTMMOTOR bullet figure is 18x10x4.5CM, and its parenthetical (11.8 x 7.1 x 1.8″) matches the RATTMMOTOR title figure of 300x180x45mm in inches, not the bullet cm figure. The 3030-PROVer Ultra listing states no work area at all, so this guide makes no claim about which bed is largest across all four listings. Readers weighing a desktop machine against a larger shop machine can use the desktop-cnc-router-vs-industrial-cnc-router comparison for the size question.

Spindle, Control and Setup

Spindle figures use different units across listings, and this guide never converts one into another: watts, horsepower and rpm are different figures, each reported exactly as its listing states it.

Control splits the group into offline-first listings and an app-led listing. The 3020-PRO MAX V2 listing includes an upgraded offline controller, and the RATTMMOTOR listings state offline controller support. The 3030-PROVer Ultra listing states Genmitsu APP control and names Candle, UGS and Easel as compatible software, while stating no offline controller. See the offline-controller-vs-pc-control-cnc-router guide and the kit-cnc-router-vs-preassembled-cnc-router guide for the workflow and assembly sides.

Setup also differs: 2 pre-assembled modules on the 3030-PROVer Ultra, a pre-assembled XZ Axis Gantry module and Base Assembly on the 3020-PRO MAX V2, and a kit format with a paper manual and a USB flash drive of files on the RATTMMOTOR listings.

Materials and Limits

Material ranges overlap on acrylic, and on wood and PCB between the 3020-PRO MAX V2 and RATTMMOTOR listings. The 3020-PRO MAX V2 title names metal, wood, acrylic, PCB and MDF. The 3030-PROVer Ultra title names metal, aluminum and acrylic engraving. The RATTMMOTOR listings name wood, plastic, acrylic, PVC, PCB, carbon fiber and density board, plus soft metal like copper and aluminum.

Limits matter as much as ranges. The RATTMMOTOR listings state that harder materials cannot be engraved, naming glass, hard metal and jade. PVC appears in the RATTMMOTOR material lists for routing work, and nothing in this guide suggests lasering PVC, which is a different process. The hardwood-vs-softwood-for-cnc-router guide helps with the wood side of the material question.

Which Listing Fits Which Shop

  • Aluminum and acrylic engraving with a stated precision figure: Genmitsu 3030-PROVer Ultra, with ±0.03mm precision and a 710W spindle stated in the listing.
  • Wood, acrylic, PCB and MDF with a stated inch bed and offline control: Genmitsu 3020-PRO MAX V2, with a working area of 11.8″ x 8.1″ x 3.1″ and an upgraded offline controller stated in the listing.
  • Small DIY carving across the RATTMMOTOR material range with stated tool setting support: RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO MAX, with GRBL1.1 control, an offline controller and tool setting (probe) stated in the listing.
  • The same material range in a kit with a manual and a USB flash drive: RATTMMOTOR 3018PRO, with a paper manual and a USB flash drive of files stated in the listing.

Where a listing states no work area, as with the 3030-PROVer Ultra, this guide makes no bed claim for it.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

What does 3020 vs 3040 cnc router actually compare?

It compares desktop CNC router listings grouped under 3020, 3030 and 3018 frame labels. No listing here carries a 3040 label or states a 3040 bed, and the labels define nothing in the listing data, so the comparison rests on the stated work area, spindle, control and materials of each listing.

Which stated work area is largest among the four listings?

No direct claim is possible across all four listings, because the listings state beds in different units and the 3030-PROVer Ultra listing states no work area. Only the 3020-PRO MAX V2 listing states an inch working area, 11.8″ x 8.1″ x 3.1″. The RATTMMOTOR bullets state 18x10x4.5CM, while the RATTMMOTOR titles state 300x180x45mm; the bullet parenthetical (11.8 x 7.1 x 1.8″) matches the title figure in inches, not the bullet cm figure.

Can these machines cut metal?

The listings differ. The 3020-PRO MAX V2 title names metal, and the 3030-PROVer Ultra title names metal, aluminum and acrylic engraving. The RATTMMOTOR listings name soft metal like copper and aluminum, and state that hard metal cannot be engraved.

Do all four listings run offline?

Not as stated. The 3020-PRO MAX V2 listing includes an upgraded offline controller, and the RATTMMOTOR listings state offline controller support. The 3030-PROVer Ultra listing states Genmitsu APP control and names Candle, UGS and Easel, with offline control Not stated for that listing.

What should a buyer check before ordering?

Check the stated work area and its units, the stated spindle figure, the stated control type and the stated material list. Where the bullets and the spec table disagree, as with the RATTMMOTOR spindle figures, read the title and bullets as the listing position and the spec table figure as a separate stated maximum.

Related: the what-is-cnc-router-machine guide, the desktop-cnc-router-vs-industrial-cnc-router comparison and the cnc-router-maintenance guide.

More buying guides