Wood Blanks for Signs (2026): 5 Top Hanging Plaques Compared
Five wooden plaque packs for door signs and wall banners, from 6 x 12 in blanks to 24-piece multi-style sets, compared by material, size, and stated warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallFSWCCK 24 Pcs Poplar9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Best Boxwood PlaquesBAPHILE 15 Pcs Signs9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Large PlaquesJANOU 3 Pcs 6×129.4/10View on Amazon - 4
Best Multi-Style PackRYKOMO 24 Pcs Signs9.4/10View on Amazon - 5
12 Pack Blank Hanging Wooden Signs for CraftsView on Amazon - 6
3Pack Blank Wood Sign for Craft Unfinished Hanging WoodenView on Amazon - 7
WRINGKIT 50 Pieces Wood Keychain BlankView on Amazon - 8
Balsa WoodView on Amazon - 9
100 Pieces Unfinished Blank Wood Teardrop Earring Pendant forView on Amazon - 10
Hicarer 200 Pieces Unfinished Wooden Earrings Blank RoundView on Amazon
Custom wooden door hangers, welcome plaques, and seasonal wall banners are steady sellers for craft businesses and laser workshops. Finding reliable wood blanks for signs means balancing surface flatness, timber species, plaque dimensions, and pack quantities so your engraving runs smoothly from design setup to final display. In this guide, we evaluate 5 hanging wooden plaque sets across poplar, boxwood, and natural wood, comparing their stated measurements, edge styles, pre-drilled holes, and warranty coverage to help you select the right blanks for your projects.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall FSWCCK 24 Pcs Poplar: 24 pieces of 8.89 x 5.7 in poplar plywood with 0.1 in thickness, 10 meters of rope, and a 180-day warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Boxwood Plaques BAPHILE 15 Pcs Signs: 15 pieces of 3.9 x 9.8 in boxwood across 3 designs with 15 ropes, 0.12 in thickness, and a 30-day warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Large Plaques JANOU 3 Pcs 6×12: Three 6 x 12 in plaques with 0.2 in thickness, dual hanging holes, and included rope for larger signs. Check price on Amazon
- Best Multi-Style Pack RYKOMO 24 Pcs Signs: 24 pieces measuring 5.7 x 8.9 in across 3 distinct shapes with 10 meters of rope and a 90-day warranty. Check price on Amazon
Machines on the list

FSWCCK 24 Pieces Unfinished Hanging Wood Sign
A 24-piece pack of unfinished poplar plywood hanging signs measuring 8.89 x 5.7 in across 3 styles with 10 meters of rope.
Pros
- 24 pieces of poplar plywood measuring approx. 8.89 x 5.7 in across 3 decorative styles
- 0.1 in stated thickness offers solid rigidity for door and wall signs
- Includes a 10 meter bundle of hemp rope for hanging finished projects
- Stated 180-day manufacturer warranty from date of purchase
Cons
- Listing bullets mistakenly describe the rectangular plaques as circle wood plaques
- Spec table lists poplar board while bullets specify poplar plywood material
- Hole diameter for hanging rope is not stated in the listing
- Lightweight 1.06 kg total pack weight across 24 pieces

15 Pieces Unfinished Hanging Wood Sign Rectangle
A 15-piece boxwood hanging sign set measuring 3.9 x 9.8 in across 3 designs with 15 ropes and a 30-day warranty.
Pros
- 15 pieces crafted from boxwood with stated resistance to cracking and decay
- 0.12 in stated thickness provides sturdy backing for laser engraving and pyrography
- Includes 15 separate hanging ropes matching the 3 plaque shapes
- Stated 30-day warranty from the purchase day
Cons
- Spec table contradicts title and bullets with 15 x 15 cm dimensions instead of 3.9 x 9.8 in
- Shorter 30-day warranty period compared to 180-day alternatives
- Pack weight is 0.51 kg for 15 pieces
- Hole size for threading rope is not stated

RYKOMO 24 Pieces Unfinished Hanging Wood Sign
A 24-piece pack of unfinished hanging wood signs measuring 5.7 x 8.9 in across 3 shapes with 10 meters of rope.
Pros
- 24 pieces divided evenly with 8 pieces across 3 distinct shape styles
- Generous 5.7 x 8.9 in surface area for signs, names, and holiday decor
- Comes with a 10 meter long rope for hanging
- Stated 90-day warranty description
Cons
- Very thin 0.06 in thickness makes blanks vulnerable to warping under heat
- Specific wood species is not stated beyond generic natural wood
- Pack weighs 0.52 kg across 24 pieces
- Hole placement distance from edge is not stated

JANOU 3pcs Unfinished Wood Sign Blank Rectangle
A set of 3 unfinished natural wood sign blanks measuring 6 x 12 in with 0.2 in thickness, 2 holes and hanging rope.
Pros
- Substantial 6 x 12 in dimensions provide the largest engraving area here
- 0.2 in (0.5 cm) thickness is the thickest board in the group
- Laser cut and polished edges with 2 pre-drilled hanging holes and rope
- Well suited for hanging door signs, wall art, and larger banners
Cons
- Small pack size with only 3 pieces included
- No warranty term is stated
- Wood species is listed only as natural wood without species details
- Total package shipping weight is not stated in the listing

Patelai 10 Pcs Blank Wood Signs Unfinished Plaques
A 10-piece pack of unfinished hanging wood signs in 2 edge styles measuring 9.8 x 3.9 in with hanging ropes.
Pros
- 10 pieces in 2 edge styles measuring approx. 9.8 x 3.9 in
- Both sides sanded smooth for laser engraving, painting, and lettering
- Pre-drilled small hole in each plaque with hanging ropes included
- Convenient dimensions for long word signs, nameplates, and banners
Cons
- Spec table lists package dimensions of 11.81 x 9.06 x 1.18 in rather than plaque size
- Plaque thickness is not stated in the listing
- Wood species is not stated beyond generic wood
- No warranty term is stated
Other machines to compare
12 Pack Blank Hanging Wooden Signs for CraftsCheck price on Amazon
3Pack Blank Wood Sign for Craft Unfinished Hanging WoodenCheck price on Amazon
WRINGKIT 50 Pieces Wood Keychain BlankCheck price on Amazon
Balsa WoodCheck price on Amazon
100 Pieces Unfinished Blank Wood Teardrop Earring Pendant forCheck price on Amazon
Hicarer 200 Pieces Unfinished Wooden Earrings Blank RoundCheck price on Amazon
Specs compared
| Model | HQ Score | Material | Plaque dimensions | Thickness | Pack count | Hanging rope | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FSWCCK 24 Pcs Poplar | 9.6/10 | Poplar plywood | 8.89 x 5.7 in | 0.1 in | 24 pieces | 10 meters included | 180 days |
| BAPHILE 15 Pcs Signs | 9.5/10 | Boxwood | 3.9 x 9.8 in | 0.12 in | 15 pieces | 15 ropes included | 30 days |
| RYKOMO 24 Pcs Signs | 9.4/10 | Wood | 5.7 x 8.9 in | 0.06 in | 24 pieces | 10 meters included | 90 days |
| JANOU 3 Pcs 6×12 | 9.4/10 | Wood | 6 x 12 in | 0.2 in | 3 pieces | 2 holes and rope | Not stated |
| Patelai 10 Pcs Signs | 9.3/10 | Wood | 9.8 x 3.9 in | Not stated | 10 pieces | Ropes included | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 13 October 2026.
Listing details and wood blank specifications
Reviewing online listings for unfinished sign blanks requires careful attention to dimensions and material descriptions. Packaging dimensions frequently get mixed into product specifications, and wood species are often listed simply as generic wood. Comparing stated plaque measurements against package shipping sizes ensures your laser work area can accommodate each blank without unexpected surprises.
How to choose wood blanks for signs
Wood species and surface grain
Different wood species respond differently to laser engraving and carving. Boxwood, as listed for the BAPHILE plaques, features a dense, uniform grain that holds crisp edges for small lettering and pyrography. Poplar plywood, found in the FSWCCK pack, provides a smooth, pale surface that takes laser engraving cleanly with minimal sap bleed. When listings state generic wood without a species name, inspect the product photos for grain consistency before committing to large production runs.
Plaque thickness and warping resistance
Thickness determines how well a hanging plaque resists cupping when exposed to laser heat or humid air. The blanks compared here range from 0.06 in on the RYKOMO pack to 0.2 in on the JANOU plaques. Thicker blanks such as 0.1 in and 0.2 in provide substantial heft for door signs, whereas thinner 0.06 in pieces work best when mounted flat against a backing surface or used for lightweight seasonal ornaments.
Pre-drilled hanging holes and hardware
Hanging door plaques require a secure mounting method. Each of the packs compared includes hanging rope, with FSWCCK and RYKOMO each providing a 10 meter bundle, BAPHILE including 15 individual ropes, and JANOU providing 2 pre-drilled holes with rope. If a project requires custom mounting brackets or clean edges without holes, verify whether the blanks arrive pre-drilled before ordering.
Batch volume and project planning
Pack count directly affects workflow when preparing items for craft fairs or online orders. Sets range from 3 large plaques in the JANOU pack to 24 pieces in the FSWCCK and RYKOMO packs. High pack counts let makers run multiple pieces across the laser bed in single sessions, while smaller packs suit larger statement signs.
Laser engraving unfinished wood produces organic smoke and fine particulate matter. Always operate your laser inside an enclosure with active ventilation exhausting smoke outdoors, or run an approved air filtration unit. Keep a fire extinguisher readily accessible near your laser workstation, and never leave your machine running unattended. Inspect wood blanks to ensure they are free of synthetic adhesives, PVC coatings, or vinyl coverings, which release toxic fumes when heated.
Project Match
- Oversized front door signs and welcome plaques: JANOU 3 Pcs 6×12 provides 6 x 12 in natural wood with 0.2 in thickness and 2 hanging holes.
- High-volume batch runs for market door hangers: FSWCCK 24 Pcs Poplar provides 24 poplar plywood blanks measuring 8.89 x 5.7 in with 0.1 in thickness and 10 meters of rope.
- Detailed pyrography and fine laser lettering: BAPHILE 15 Pcs Signs provides 15 boxwood plaques measuring 3.9 x 9.8 in with 0.12 in thickness and 15 individual ropes.
- Multi-shape seasonal ornament and party signage: RYKOMO 24 Pcs Signs provides 24 blanks across 3 decorative styles measuring 5.7 x 8.9 in with 10 meters of rope.
- Horizontal direction markers and cafe signs: Patelai 10 Pcs Signs provides 10 blanks in 2 edge styles measuring approx. 9.8 x 3.9 in with pre-drilled holes and ropes (thickness not stated).
How the scores add up
Each pack of blanks is scored on performance, build, value, safety, and warranty, using the weighting framework explained on our How We Pick page. A specification that a listing does not publish scores zero.
| Product | HQ Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FSWCCK 24 Pcs Poplar | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 22 | 0 | 3 |
| BAPHILE 15 Pcs Signs | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 1 |
| RYKOMO 24 Pcs Signs | 9.4 | 26 | 16 | 21 | 0 | 2 |
| JANOU 3 Pcs 6×12 | 9.4 | 29 | 22 | 15 | 0 | 0 |
| Patelai 10 Pcs Signs | 9.3 | 27 | 18 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
What wood is best for laser engraving signs?
Poplar and boxwood are both excellent choices for laser engraved signs. Poplar plywood offers a light, even surface that creates dark, readable char with low resin flare-up, while boxwood provides a dense, fine-grained structure that retains sharp detail on intricate designs and pyrography.
How do you prepare wood blanks for signs before engraving?
Ensure the blank surface is clean and free of loose dust. Applying paper transfer tape across the wood surface before engraving helps prevent smoke halos and resin deposition around your design, leaving crisp letterforms that need minimal post-processing.
What thickness of wood blanks works best for hanging signs?
For standalone front door hangers and wall plaques, blanks measuring 0.1 in to 0.2 in thick offer necessary structural stiffness. Thinner pieces around 0.06 in are suited for lightweight indoor decor or layered sign assemblies.
Do these wood sign blanks include hanging ropes?
All 5 packs compared in this guide include hanging ropes in their packages. FSWCCK and RYKOMO each supply a 10 meter rope bundle, BAPHILE includes 15 separate ropes, Patelai includes ropes for its 10 plaques, and JANOU supplies rope along with 2 pre-drilled holes.
Which wood blank packs include a stated manufacturer warranty?
FSWCCK provides a 180-day manufacturer warranty, RYKOMO lists a 90-day warranty, and BAPHILE provides a 30-day warranty. Patelai and JANOU do not publish a warranty term in their listings.
Related: engraving materials, best wood to laser engrave, wood sheets for laser engraving, best CNC router for sign making, and how to V carve signs on a CNC.




