Portable vs Stationary Dust Collector for Cnc: Which One Should You Buy?
A guide to portable and stationary dust collection for CNC shops, comparing airflow, filtration, power and setup across four collectors.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
PSI Woodworking DC725 Portable Tabletop Dust Collector Brand:9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Shop-Vac 5430050 Dust Collector9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Dustopper PRO Dust Collector9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
POWERTEC 1 HP Dust Collector with 1 Micron Dust CollectorView on Amazon - 5
DeltaView on Amazon - 6
POWERTEC 1 HPView on Amazon - 7
Tabletop Dust Collector with Dual-Sided Intake forView on Amazon - 8
Abestorm Tabletop Dust Collector with Ionizer for WoodworkingView on Amazon - 9
Dust Collection System: 1.6-HP Dust Collector Media ReclaimerView on Amazon
For a CNC shop, the portable vs stationary dust collector for cnc question comes down to shop layout: a portable collector rolls to the machine in use, while a stationary collector stays plumbed in place and serves machines through ducting. A small shop where the CNC sits in a corner usually suits a portable unit; a shop with several fixed machines usually suits a stationary setup with ducting. The collectors below show each role, since some of them work as either.
Other machines to compare
POWERTEC 1 HP Dust Collector with 1 Micron Dust CollectorCheck price on Amazon
DeltaCheck price on Amazon
POWERTEC 1 HPCheck price on Amazon
Tabletop Dust Collector with Dual-Sided Intake forCheck price on Amazon
Abestorm Tabletop Dust Collector with Ionizer for WoodworkingCheck price on Amazon
Dust Collection System: 1.6-HP Dust Collector Media ReclaimerCheck price on Amazon
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Portable vs stationary dust collector for cnc: the direct answer
Portable means the collector moves: casters and a mobile base let the unit roll to the CNC in use and roll away when the job ends. Stationary means the collector stays put: the unit sits in a fixed spot and connects to machines through ducting or a central hose run. The listings below blur the line, since the POWERTEC and BUCKTOOL units each describe a mobile and a stationary role. Choose by layout, not by label: a rolling unit for a changing floor plan, a fixed unit with ducting for machines that never move.
How portable collectors work
A portable collector pairs a motor and filter with wheels. The POWERTEC DC1081 lists a mobile base with casters and a sturdy base of 15-1/4 x 25-1/2 in, and its bullets say the machine can move to the required point for a stationary set-up or connect to a centralized destination. The BUCKTOOL DC50 lists a portable base of 16-1/2 x 26-3/8 in with caster wheels and describes itself as both a mobile and a stationary compact unit. The JET DC-1200VX-CK3 lists swivel casters for maneuverability and total portability, and the Delta 50-767T2 lists 4 wheels. In practice, portability here means the unit can be repositioned between jobs, not that it is small: weights run from 55 lb on the POWERTEC to 138 lb on the JET.
How stationary collectors work
A stationary collector stays in place and the hose or ducting comes to it. The POWERTEC bullets name a centralized dust collection destination, and the BUCKTOOL bullets name a stationary compact unit role. A fixed setup suits a shop where machines hold fixed positions and the collector can sit against a wall with ducting running to each machine. The trade is floor space against convenience: a fixed unit needs a dedicated spot and duct runs, while a rolling unit needs floor space to move and a hose long enough to reach the machine. For hose options, see the dust hose kit guide and the clear dust collection hose guide.
The gear: four dust collectors compared
| Collector | Airflow | Power | Filter | Bag capacity | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JET DC-1200VX-CK3 | 1200 CFM | 2 HP | 2-micron canister | 5.3 cu ft | 138 lb |
| Delta 50-767T2 | Not stated | 1‑1/2 HP | 1 micron bag | 1.7 cu ft | 73 lb |
| BUCKTOOL DC50 | 750 CFM | 1.2 HP | 2-micron upper bag | 13-gallon | 56 lb |
| POWERTEC DC1081 | 800 CFM | 1 HP | 1 micron bag | Not stated | 55 lb |
JET DC-1200VX-CK3. The JET lists 1200 CFM, a 2 HP motor and a 2-micron canister filter with a vortex cone for chip separation. Bag capacity is 5.3 cu ft, size is 37 x 28 x 79 in and weight is 138 lb, with swivel casters. The title lists 230/460V 3Ph while the spec table lists a 230V 1Ph motor, so the title voltage is the figure to trust here. Warranty is 5-year, dropping to 2-year for commercial or industrial purposes.
Delta 50-767T2. The Delta lists a 1‑1/2 HP motor, a standard 1 micron filtration bag with a sewn-in, snap-in filter ring, and a fit with Delta canister 50-766. Chip area is 1.7 cu ft and weight is 73 lb, with 4 wheels. Warranty is 5 years. The spec table mixes in unrelated saw-blade fields, including a blade material and a cut type, so the title and bullets carry the collector facts here.
BUCKTOOL DC50. The BUCKTOOL lists 750 CFM, a 1.2 HP 120V motor at 3450 RPM, a CSA listed mark, an auto-start outlet for power tools, and a 5 ft x 4 in hose with a five-piece reducer and three collection bags. The upper bag is 2-micron cloth. The title and bullets give 1.2 HP while the spec table lists a 3/4 HP motor, and the bullets give a 13-gallon capacity while the spec table lists 5.4 cubic feet, so the title and bullets figures are the ones to trust here. No warranty term is stated.
POWERTEC DC1081. The POWERTEC lists 800 CFM, a 1 HP motor at 120V/240V and 3450 RPM, a standard 1 micron filtration bag and a mobile base with casters. Base size is 15-1/4 x 25-1/2 in and weight is 55 lb. The spec table gives a filter bag diameter of 15 in and a height of 23 in. No warranty term is stated.
Choosing for a CNC shop
Start from the floor plan. A rolling unit suits a shop where the CNC moves or where floor space changes between jobs; a fixed unit with ducting suits a shop where machines hold fixed positions. Next, check power: the BUCKTOOL and Delta listings state 120V, the POWERTEC lists 120V/240V, and the JET title lists 230/460V 3Ph, so the available supply narrows the field before airflow does. Then compare stated airflow and filter size: 1200 CFM on the JET, 800 CFM on the POWERTEC and 750 CFM on the BUCKTOOL, with the Delta listing no airflow figure. For CNC router comparisons, see the desktop CNC router vs industrial CNC router guide.
Fire and ventilation notes
Wood dust and CNC chips need a collection plan, not just a collector. Keep the collection bags from packing solid, keep the unit and ducting clear of open flames and sparks, and keep the shop ventilated while cutting. Empty bags outside the work area and check hoses and clamps for leaks, since a leak puts dust back into the air the collector just cleaned.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
Can a portable dust collector serve a CNC router?
Yes, on the listings here. The POWERTEC and BUCKTOOL units list mobile bases with casters, and the JET lists swivel casters, so each can roll to the CNC in use.
What does stationary dust collection mean for a CNC shop?
It means the collector stays in a fixed spot while ducting or a hose run connects it to the machines. The POWERTEC bullets name a centralized destination and the BUCKTOOL bullets name a stationary compact unit role.
How much airflow do these collectors state?
The JET states 1200 CFM, the POWERTEC states 800 CFM and the BUCKTOOL states 750 CFM. The Delta listing states no airflow figure.
What filter sizes do the listings state?
The POWERTEC and Delta listings state a 1 micron bag, while the BUCKTOOL upper bag and the JET canister state 2-micron filtration.
Do any of these collectors state a warranty?
The Delta states a 5-year warranty and the JET states a 5-year warranty, dropping to a 2-year warranty for commercial or industrial purposes. The POWERTEC and BUCKTOOL listings state no warranty term.
Related: the CNC tooling hub and the CNC routers hub. Also see our best dust collector for Onefinity guide.



