Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Smoke Detector for Woodshop (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five smoke alarms for the shop compared: a smoke and CO combo, sealed 10-year batteries, a 5-pack and a hardwired 6-pack, scored on sensors, power and certification.

Best Smoke Detector for Woodshop (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1X-Sense SC07 Smoke and CO AlarmBest OverallX-Sense SC07 Smoke and CO Alarm9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Kidde 20SD10 Smoke AlarmBest Smoke OnlyKidde 20SD10 Smoke Alarm9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3X-Sense SD2J0AX Smoke AlarmLowest MaintenanceX-Sense SD2J0AX Smoke Alarm9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4SITERWELL GS509A Smoke Alarm 5-PackBest 5-PackSITERWELL GS509A Smoke Alarm 5-Pack9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5First Alert BRK 9120B Hardwired Smoke Alarm 6-PackBest HardwiredFirst Alert BRK 9120B Hardwired Smoke Alarm 6-Pack9.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 6Smoke Detector Tester PoleSmoke Detector Tester PoleView on Amazon
  7. 7New & Improved Smoking PRONew & Improved Smoking PROView on Amazon

A shop full of sawdust, a laser cutter humming on the bench, finishing rags near the trash: every maker space has ignition sources. The best smoke detector for woodshop use is one that stays on the wall for years with no upkeep, sounds loud enough to hear over tools, and does not cry wolf at every puff of dust. This use-case guide compares five alarm listings on what each one states: sensors, battery life, interconnection, certification and warranty.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall X-Sense SC07 Smoke and CO Alarm: Smoke plus CO with a sealed 10-year battery, LCD, dual UL certification and a stated 5-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Smoke Only Kidde 20SD10 Smoke Alarm: Photoelectric with a 10-year battery, 85 dB alarm and a 10-year limited warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Lowest Maintenance X-Sense SD2J0AX Smoke Alarm: Sealed 10-year battery at 6.24 ounces with one-button hush, ETL listed to UL 217. Check price on Amazon
  • Best 5-Pack SITERWELL GS509A Smoke Alarm 5-Pack: Five photoelectric alarms with a mute and weekly-check button for multi-room coverage. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Hardwired First Alert BRK 9120B Hardwired Smoke Alarm 6-Pack: 6-pack on 120-volt AC with battery backup, interconnecting up to 18 units. Check price on Amazon

Machines on the list

X-Sense Smoke Detector Carbon Monoxide Detector

X-Sense Smoke Detector Carbon Monoxide Detector

X-Sense9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A smoke and CO combo alarm with a sealed 10-year lithium battery, LCD display, 85 dB alarm, and UL 217 and UL 2034 certification.

Pros

  • Photoelectric smoke plus electrochemical CO sensor
  • Sealed 10-year lithium battery, no replacements
  • UL 217 and UL 2034 certification stated
  • 5-year quality warranty with lifetime technical support stated

Cons

  • Standalone: no wireless interconnection or Wi-Fi
  • 16 ounces, the heaviest here
  • LCD adds a feature some shops will never read
  • 1-pack only, no multi-pack option listed
Kidde Smoke Detector, 10-Year Battery Powered

Kidde Smoke Detector, 10-Year Battery Powered

Kidde9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A photoelectric smoke alarm with a built-in 10-year battery, 85 dB alarm, LED status lights, with UL 217 10th Edition and FCC certification.

Pros

  • Built-in 10-year battery powers the alarm continuously
  • Photoelectric sensor with stated reduced false alarms
  • UL 217 10th Edition and FCC standards stated
  • 10-year limited warranty from date of purchase

Cons

  • Standalone, not interconnectable per the listing
  • Smoke-only, no CO detection
  • 9.6 ounces against the 6.24-ounce X-Sense
  • No hush or silence button is stated
X-Sense Smoke Detector, 10-Year Battery

X-Sense Smoke Detector, 10-Year Battery

X-Sense9.5/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A photoelectric smoke alarm with a sealed 10-year lithium battery, one-button hush, and ETL listing to UL 217.

Pros

  • Sealed 10-year lithium battery, no replacements
  • Photoelectric sensing with fewer cooking nuisance alarms stated
  • ETL listed to UL 217
  • One button runs hush and self checks

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Standalone: no Wi-Fi, app alerts or interconnection
  • Smoke-only, no CO detection
  • 4.8 by 4.8 inches needs a flat mounting spot
SITERWELL Smoke Detector

SITERWELL Smoke Detector

SITERWELL9.4/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-pack of photoelectric smoke alarms with replaceable 9V batteries, a mute and weekly-check button, and over 85 dB alarms.

Pros

  • 5 alarms, the largest count per pack here
  • Photoelectric sensor stated for slow-smoldering fires
  • UL 217 smoke alarm in the box contents
  • Mute and weekly-check button stated

Cons

  • Replaceable 9V battery, not a sealed 10-year cell
  • Box includes only one 9V battery for a 5-pack
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No interconnection is stated
First Alert BRK SMI100-AC Hardwired Smoke Detector

First Alert BRK SMI100-AC Hardwired Smoke Detector

First Alert9.4/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-pack of hardwired smoke alarms with 9-volt battery backup, ionization sensors and interconnection for up to 18 units.

Pros

  • Hardwired 120-volt AC with included 9-volt battery backup
  • Interconnects up to 18 units (12 smoke, 6 co, heat or relay)
  • Tamper-resistant locking pins stated
  • 6-pack suits shop plus house coverage

Cons

  • Ionization sensor, the only one here
  • No certification is stated
  • Bullet shows 10-Year limited without a clear warranty term
  • Hardwired install needs existing wiring or an electrician

Other machines to compare

Specs compared

Model HQ Score Detection Power Interconnect Certification Warranty
X-Sense SC07 Smoke and CO Alarm 9.7/10 Smoke + CO 10-yr sealed battery No UL 217, UL 2034 5-yr quality
Kidde 20SD10 Smoke Alarm 9.6/10 Smoke 10-yr battery No UL 217 10th Ed, FCC 10-yr limited
X-Sense SD2J0AX Smoke Alarm 9.5/10 Smoke 10-yr sealed battery No ETL to UL 217 Not stated
SITERWELL GS509A Smoke Alarm 5-Pack 9.4/10 Smoke 9V replaceable Not stated UL 217 Not stated
First Alert BRK 9120B Hardwired Smoke Alarm 6-Pack 9.4/10 Smoke Hardwired + 9V Up to 18 units Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026.

best smoke detector for woodshop: what the listings actually say

An honest note first: none of these listings states how the alarm behaves with woodshop dust. The stated nuisance-alarm features are about cooking fumes and steam: the X-Sense SD2J0AX lists fewer cooking nuisance alarms from photoelectric sensing, and the Kidde 20SD10 states advanced sensing that helps distinguish real smoke from cooking or steam. If dust false alarms are your worry, no listing here gives you a dust-specific claim, so buy on the stated features and mount the alarm away from the dustiest spot.

The biggest split is what each alarm detects. The X-Sense SC07 is the only combo here: photoelectric smoke plus an electrochemical CO sensor, with an LCD display, at 5.7 by 5.7 by 2 inches and 16 ounces. The other four are smoke-only: the Kidde 20SD10 and X-Sense SD2J0AX use photoelectric sensors, the SITERWELL GS509A is photoelectric, and the First Alert BRK 9120B uses an ionization sensor. All five list an 85 dB alarm or louder.

Battery life and maintenance

Three alarms carry sealed 10-year batteries: the X-Sense SC07, the Kidde 20SD10 and the X-Sense SD2J0AX. The SITERWELL GS509A goes the other way: a replaceable 9V battery, with the listing describing a 10-year product life through continuous battery replacement, and only one 9V battery in the box for a 5-pack. The First Alert BRK 9120B is hardwired on 120-volt AC with an included 9-volt battery backup that keeps it running through a power outage.

Mounting, checks and upkeep

Installation hardware varies. The SC07 ships a mounting bracket with screws and anchor plugs, the SD2J0AX ships screws and anchor plugs, the Kidde ships mounting hardware, the SITERWELL ships a mounting bracket plus a magnetic fastener, and the First Alert uses an open mounting design with a side-load battery compartment and tamper-resistant locking pins. For upkeep, the SITERWELL listing calls for weekly button checks, the SD2J0AX offers one-button self-check and hush, and the First Alert has a single silence and check button. The sealed 10-year batteries on the SC07, SD2J0AX and Kidde remove battery swaps entirely; the SITERWELL needs a fresh 9V on schedule, and the First Alert’s 9-volt backup covers outages.

Buying guide: smoke detectors for the shop

Sensor type, as stated

Four listings state photoelectric sensors, which the listings describe as responding to slow-smoldering fires and cutting nuisance alarms. The First Alert 6-pack states an ionization sensor. The SC07 adds an electrochemical CO sensor, which matters if the shop has a gas heater or an attached garage.

One alarm or a linked set

Four of the five are standalone: the SC07, SD2J0AX and Kidde listings state no interconnection, with the SC07 listing pointing to a different model for wireless linking. Only the First Alert BRK 9120B interconnects, up to 18 units (12 smoke, 6 co, heat or relay), which suits a shop plus house setup.

Certification and warranty

The SC07 lists UL 217 and UL 2034 certification. The SD2J0AX is ETL listed to UL 217. The Kidde lists UL 217 10th Edition and FCC. The SITERWELL box contents list a UL 217 smoke alarm. The First Alert listing states no certification. On warranties, the SC07 states a 5-year quality warranty with lifetime technical support, and the Kidde states a 10-year limited warranty; the First Alert bullet shows “10-Year limited” without a clear warranty term, and the other two state nothing.

Alarm volume and size on the wall

Four listings state 85 dB: the SC07, Kidde 20SD10 and First Alert at 85 dB, and the SITERWELL above 85 dB; the SD2J0AX states a loud local alert with no decibel figure. Sizes run from the SD2J0AX at 1.8 by 4.8 by 4.8 inches and 6.24 ounces to the SC07 at 5.7 by 5.7 by 2 inches and 16 ounces, with the SITERWELL the thinnest at 1.37 inches deep. In a loud shop, mount the alarm where you can hear it over the tools, not behind a dust collector.

Project Match

Pair the pick with the project, using only what the listings state:

  • Laser and CNC shop with a gas heater: X-Sense SC07, the only smoke and CO combo.
  • Set and forget single alarm: Kidde 20SD10, 10-year battery with a 10-year limited warranty.
  • Quiet maintenance routine: X-Sense SD2J0AX, sealed 10-year battery with one-button hush.
  • Outfitting several rooms on a budget: SITERWELL GS509A 5-pack, photoelectric with a mute and weekly-check button.
  • Shop plus house on one circuit: First Alert BRK 9120B 6-pack, hardwired with interconnection for up to 18 units.

How the scores add up

Each alarm is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.

Product HQ Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
X-Sense SC07 Smoke and CO Alarm 9.7 30 21 20 8 3
Kidde 20SD10 Smoke Alarm 9.6 28 20 20 5 3
X-Sense SD2J0AX Smoke Alarm 9.5 28 20 20 7 0
SITERWELL GS509A Smoke Alarm 5-Pack 9.4 24 18 20 5 0
First Alert BRK 9120B Hardwired Smoke Alarm 6-Pack 9.4 26 19 19 4 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

Which smoke detector is best for a dusty woodshop?

No listing here states dust-specific behavior. The stated nuisance-alarm features cover cooking fumes and steam, on the X-Sense SD2J0AX and the Kidde 20SD10. Mount the alarm away from the dustiest machines and keep it clean per the maker’s guide.

Do I need a CO detector in the shop?

Only the X-Sense SC07 includes CO detection, with an electrochemical sensor and UL 2034 certification. The other four are smoke-only.

Can these alarms link together?

Only the First Alert BRK 9120B, which interconnects up to 18 units (12 smoke, 6 co, heat or relay). The SC07, SD2J0AX and Kidde 20SD10 are standalone.

How long do the batteries last?

The X-Sense SC07, Kidde 20SD10 and X-Sense SD2J0AX list sealed 10-year batteries. The SITERWELL GS509A uses a replaceable 9V battery with a stated 10-year product life through replacement. The First Alert is hardwired with a 9-volt battery backup.

Which alarms state a warranty?

The X-Sense SC07 states a 5-year quality warranty with lifetime technical support, and the Kidde 20SD10 states a 10-year limited warranty. The others state no clear warranty term.

Related: best respirator for CNC router, best hearing protection for woodworking, rigid vs flexible dust hose for CNC and window exhaust fan vs inline fan for laser.

More buying guides