Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Center Drill for Stainless: 5 Picks Compared

Five center drill sets and packs for stainless work compared by cobalt content, coating, size range and warranty.

Best Center Drill for Stainless: 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1toolant Center Drill SetBest for Stainlesstoolant Center Drill Set9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Accusize M42 Drill SetBest Cobalt SetAccusize M42 Drill Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3DKIBBITH Long Drill SetBest Long SetDKIBBITH Long Drill Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Xinodle Center Drill SetBest 7-Piece SetXinodle Center Drill Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Accusize No.2 Drill 10-PackBest 10-PackAccusize No.2 Drill 10-Pack9.5/10View on Amazon
  6. 6toolant Center Drill Bit Settoolant Center Drill Bit SetView on Amazon
  7. 7toolant Center Drill Bittoolant Center Drill BitView on Amazon
  8. 8FanMeqi Center Drill Bit Set HSS.Co Cobalt containingFanMeqi Center Drill Bit Set HSS.Co Cobalt containingView on Amazon
  9. 9HHIP 5000-0032#3 High Speed Steel Center Drill and CountersinkHHIP 5000-0032#3 High Speed Steel Center Drill and CountersinkView on Amazon

A drill that wanders on stainless steel ruins the hole before it starts, and the best center drill for stainless is the one that cuts a true starting point first. A center drill makes a small centered hole with a countersink that guides the twist drill that follows, and the listings here cover that job in cobalt, coated and plain high-speed steel. This guide compares five center drill sets and packs by material, coating, size range, angle and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best for Stainless toolant Center Drill Set: M35 cobalt with TiAlN coating, made for stainless steel, 90 day warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Best Cobalt Set Accusize M42 Drill Set: M42 8% cobalt set, sizes No.1 to No.5, ground from solid, 60 degree angle Check price on Amazon
  • Best Long Set DKIBBITH Long Drill Set: 4 inch long M2 HSS set, sizes 1.0 to 5.0, stainless note with low speed Check price on Amazon
  • Best 7-Piece Set Xinodle Center Drill Set: 7 pieces including half sizes 1.5 and 2.5, M2 HSS, storage case included Check price on Amazon
  • Best 10-Pack Accusize No.2 Drill 10-Pack: Ten No.2 HSS center drills, 3/16 by 5/64 by 1-7/8 inch, right hand Check price on Amazon

Machines on the list

toolant Center Drill Bit Set

toolant Center Drill Bit Set

toolant9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A TiAlN-coated M35 cobalt center drill set made for stainless steel, with a 90 day warranty and a portable case.

Pros

  • M35 cobalt HSS with 5% cobalt and TiAlN coating stated
  • Lists stainless steel first among hard metals
  • 118 degree split point stated to prevent walking
  • Portable plastic case included

Cons

  • Title says 3 pieces of No.1 while bullets list 6 pieces in 5 sizes
  • No overall length stated
  • No included angle stated
  • Flute count not stated
Accusize Center Drill Set, #1-#5, 3/64"-3/16"

Accusize Center Drill Set, #1-#5, 3/64"-3/16"

Accusize Industrial Tools9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-piece M42 cobalt center drill set in sizes No.1 to No.5 with a plastic case, ground from solid stock.

Pros

  • M42 HSS with 8% cobalt stated
  • All five sizes with body, drill and length stated
  • Ground from solid, single fluted
  • Plastic case included

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No stated use note for stainless steel specifically
  • Longest piece is 2-3/4 inches, shorter than the 4 inch DKIBBITH set
  • Spec table dimensions describe the package, not a single bit
DKIBBITH 5pc Long Center Drill Bit Set

DKIBBITH 5pc Long Center Drill Bit Set

DKIBBITH9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-piece long center drill set in M2 HSS with 4 inch overall length, sized 1.0 to 5.0.

Pros

  • 4 inch overall length, longer than the other sets here
  • M2 HSS with 60 degree angle stated
  • Stainless note: low speed and lubrication stated
  • Sizes 1.0 to 5.0 in one set

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No case or storage stated
  • No cobalt content, unlike the M35 and M42 sets
  • No per-size dimensions stated
Xinodle 7 Pcs Center Drill Bit Sets

Xinodle 7 Pcs Center Drill Bit Sets

Xinodle9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-piece M2 HSS center drill set with half sizes from 1.0 to 5.0 and a storage case.

Pros

  • 7 pieces including half sizes 1.5 and 2.5
  • M2 HSS with 60 degree tip angle stated
  • Single-fluted with arcuate spiral groove stated
  • Storage case included

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No overall length stated
  • No cobalt content stated
  • No stated use note for stainless steel specifically
Accusize #2 HSS Center Drill, 0530-0200x10 | No.2

Accusize #2 HSS Center Drill, 0530-0200x10 | No.2

Accusize Industrial Tools9.5/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10-pack of No.2 HSS center drills for repeat centering work in one size.

Pros

  • 10 pieces in one size for repeat work
  • HSS with 60 degree standard included angle stated
  • Right hand style stated
  • Body, drill and length stated in the title

Cons

  • Bullets list drill diameter 5/16 inch, contradicting the 5/64 inch title size
  • One size only, no set range
  • No warranty term stated
  • No case stated

Other machines to compare

Specs compared

Model HQ Score Material Sizes Angle Case Warranty
toolant Center Drill Set 9.7/10 M35 cobalt HSS, TiAlN coated #1 to #5 (bullets); title says 3pcs #1 118 degree split point Plastic case 90 days
Accusize M42 Drill Set 9.6/10 M42 cobalt HSS (8% cobalt) #1 to #5 60 degrees Plastic box Not stated
DKIBBITH Long Drill Set 9.6/10 M2 HSS 1.0 to 5.0 60 degrees Not stated Not stated
Xinodle Center Drill Set 9.6/10 M2 HSS 1.0 to 5.0 incl. half sizes 60 degrees Storage case Not stated
Accusize No.2 Drill 10-Pack 9.5/10 HSS No.2 only 60 degrees Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 29 October 2026.

Buying guide: best center drill for stainless

Why start with a center drill

A center drill cuts a short, stiff starting hole that keeps the following drill on center, which matters on stainless steel because the material work-hardens if the drill rubs instead of cutting. The DKIBBITH listing describes its bits as perfect for creating a precise starting point or center holes for subsequent drilling operations and for accurate hole positioning. The toolant listing adds a 118 degree split point that is stated to prevent walking and make drilling precise and faster. Both descriptions point to the same job: spot the hole first, then drill it.

Cobalt, coating and angle

Material separates these sets more than size does. The toolant set uses M35 cobalt high-speed steel with 5% cobalt and a TiAlN coating, described as harder, more wear-resistant and heat-resistant. The Accusize M42 set uses M42 high-speed steel with 8% cobalt, ground from solid stock. The DKIBBITH and Xinodle sets use M2 high-speed steel with no cobalt content stated, and the Accusize 10-pack uses plain high-speed steel. Four of the five listings state a 60 degree angle: DKIBBITH, Xinodle and both Accusize listings. The toolant listing states a 118 degree split point instead and no included angle, so compare its point geometry on its own terms.

Size range and length

Sets cover the range differently. The DKIBBITH set spans sizes 1.0 to 5.0 at a 4 inch overall length, the longest length stated here. The Xinodle set spans 1.0 to 5.0 including half sizes 1.5 and 2.5, giving seven pieces where the other sets give five. The Accusize M42 set lists every size with its own overall length, from No.1 at 1-1/4 inches to No.5 at 2-3/4 inches. The Accusize 10-pack covers one size only, No.2, which suits repeat work in that size but not a range of jobs. Check the size list against the centers and screws you actually cut.

Count contradictions to check

Two listings disagree with themselves on count or size, so confirm before ordering. The toolant title names 3 pieces of No.1 at 3/64 inch, while its bullets list 6 pieces in five sizes from No.1 at 3/64 inch to No.5 at 3/16 inch, and the spec table size reads 3/64 inch (3pcs). The Accusize 10-pack title and size field name No.2 at 3/16 by 5/64 by 1-7/8 inches, while its bullets list a drill diameter of 5/16 inch. In both cases this guide reports both figures and treats the title size as the headline figure. The DKIBBITH, Xinodle and Accusize M42 listings state their counts consistently.

Project Match

  • Stainless lathe and drill work: the toolant set, with M35 cobalt, TiAlN coating and a stainless-first materials list.
  • Centering plus countersinking across sizes: the Accusize M42 set, with sizes No.1 to No.5 and a stated 60 degree countersink angle.
  • Long reach centering: the DKIBBITH set, with a 4 inch overall length and a stated low speed and lubrication note for stainless steel.
  • Half sizes in one case: the Xinodle set, with 7 pieces from 1.0 to 5.0 including 1.5 and 2.5.
  • Repeat work in one size: the Accusize No.2 10-pack, with ten pieces of No.2 for shops that cut the same center often.

How the scores add up

Each drill set is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For center drills, safety would mean a stated safety certification or guarding feature, and none of the five listings names one, so no safety points were given. Only the toolant set states a warranty term, 90 days. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.

Product HQ Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
toolant Center Drill Set 9.7 32 21 21 n/a 2
Accusize M42 Drill Set 9.6 30 21 20 n/a 0
DKIBBITH Long Drill Set 9.6 29 20 20 n/a 0
Xinodle Center Drill Set 9.6 28 20 20 n/a 0
Accusize No.2 Drill 10-Pack 9.5 27 19 19 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

Why use a center drill?

A center drill makes a precise starting point or center hole for later drilling, and the DKIBBITH listing says it helps accurate hole positioning. The toolant listing states its 118 degree split point prevents walking, which keeps the following drill on center.

How do you use a center drill as a countersink?

The listings describe center drills for creating center holes and countersinks for screws, bolts or dowels. The Accusize M42 listing states a 60 degree countersink angle that fits all standard centers, and the DKIBBITH listing adds low speed and lubrication for stainless steel.

What size is a #4 center drill?

In the Accusize M42 set, No.4 is 5/16 by 1/8 inch with a 2-1/8 inch overall length. In the toolant bullets, #4 is 1/8 inch. Check the set you buy, since sizes are listed per set, not as a universal chart.

How does a center drill work?

It cuts a short centered hole with a countersink angle that matches standard centers, so the twist drill that follows starts on center instead of wandering. The Accusize M42 listing describes its use for centering work ends that revolve on machine centers.

What size is a #2 center drill?

In the Accusize M42 set, No.2 is 3/16 by 5/64 inch with a 1-7/8 inch overall length, and the Accusize 10-pack lists the same No.2 size. The toolant bullets list #2 as 5/64 inch.

Related: the CNC tooling hub and the best CNC router bits guide.

More buying guides