3040 vs 4040 CNC Router: Which One Should You Buy?
3 CNC routers across the 3040 and 4040 size classes scored on work area, motion hardware, spindle power and control options, with guidance on matching the size to the project.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
SainSmart Genmitsu 4040-PRO MAX CNC Router with 710W Trimmer9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Genmitsu 4040-PRO CNC Router Machine for Metal Acrylic9.4/10View on Amazon - 3
CNC Router Machine 4040-PRO for Metal Acrylic Cutting Milling9.4/10View on Amazon - 4
TTC3018 Pro CNC Router MachineView on Amazon - 5
Genmitsu Cubiko Desktop CNC Router Machine with Enclosure forView on Amazon - 6
CNC Router Machine 4030-Evo Ultra 2View on Amazon - 7
FoxAlien XE-Ultra 8080 CNC Router Machine with NEMA 23View on Amazon - 8
LUNYEE 3020 Nova CNC Router MachineView on Amazon - 9
CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router Bit 1/4 Inch ShankView on Amazon
Small engraved signs, nameplates and detailed inlays all fit on a compact machine, but the moment a project calls for a bigger panel, the bed size decides everything. The question of 3040 vs 4040 cnc router is really about work area: the 3040 class suits small parts, signs and learning the workflow, while the 4040 class fits larger panels and bigger batch runs. The 3 machines scored below span both classes, from a 300x180x40mm starter to a 4030-class machine with an 800W router.
Other machines to compare
TTC3018 Pro CNC Router MachineCheck price on Amazon
Genmitsu Cubiko Desktop CNC Router Machine with Enclosure forCheck price on Amazon
CNC Router Machine 4030-Evo Ultra 2Check price on Amazon
FoxAlien XE-Ultra 8080 CNC Router Machine with NEMA 23Check price on Amazon
LUNYEE 3020 Nova CNC Router MachineCheck price on Amazon
CNC Spoilboard Surfacing Router Bit 1/4 Inch ShankCheck price on Amazon
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
3040 vs 4040 cnc router: the short answer
Buy the 3040 class when the work is small: signs, nameplates, PCB milling and learning projects fit comfortably, and the machine fits a desk corner. Buy the 4040 class when panels get bigger or when metal cutting enters the plan, since the larger frame, stronger router and sturdier motion hardware handle heavier work. A 3040 machine needs less bench space to start; a 4040 machine needs more of it and returns it in capacity.
What changes between the size classes
Work area is the headline difference. The Twotrees here states 300x180x40mm and the Genmitsu 11.8 x 8.1 x 3.1 in, while the AnoleX 4030 sits in the larger class with a 24.8 in wide frame. A bigger bed does not just fit bigger parts; it fits fixtures, clamps and batch layouts around the part.
Motion hardware scales with the frame. The Twotrees uses T8 lead screws on an all-metal Z-axis, the Genmitsu steps up to a 4040 Y-axis profile with dual steel X-axis rails, and the AnoleX runs HGH-15 dual linear rails with 1204 ball screws on every axis. Heavier cutting, especially in aluminum and brass, wants the stiffer end of that range.
Spindle power follows the same curve. The Twotrees ships a 775 spindle motor rated 7000-9000 RPM, the Genmitsu tops out at 12000 rpm on 0.4 hp, and the AnoleX carries an 800W trim router with 8000-24000 RPM across 6 speed settings. Faster, stronger spindles cut deeper per pass in hard material, within the feeds and speeds the software allows.
3040 vs 4040 cnc router: 3 machines ranked
Each machine below is scored on stated specs only: work area, motion hardware, spindle, control options and stated safety features. The strongest stated listing ranks first. Where a listing contradicts itself, the notes say so.
AnoleX 4030-Evo Ultra 2
The AnoleX is the largest machine here and the top scorer: an 800W trim router with 6 speed settings from 8000-24000 RPM, HGH-15 dual linear rails and 1204 ball screws on the X, Y and Z axes, and Nema 23 stepper motors with closed-loop upgrade interfaces. Control runs on GRBL 1.3a firmware on an ESP32 board with WiFi through the ESP3D web interface, plus an SD card slot, so no USB cable is required. Stated repeatability is ±0.005mm and aluminum cutting accuracy ±0.02mm. The machine weighs 38 kg with a stated 24.8 in by 20.47 in frame; the work area itself is not stated as a figure.
Pros
- 800W trim router with 8000-24000 RPM across 6 speed settings
- HGH-15 dual linear rails and 1204 ball screws on every axis
- Nema 23 stepper motors with closed-loop upgrade interfaces
- WiFi control plus SD card, with no USB cable required
Cons
- 38 kg weight needs a sturdy bench and help to move
- Work area not stated as a figure in the listing
- Speed adjusts by manual dial; run and stop are software controlled
- Larger 24.8 in frame needs more bench space than the smaller machines here
Genmitsu 3020-PRO MAX V2
The Genmitsu 3020-PRO MAX V2 states an 11.8 x 8.1 x 3.1 in work area on a frame built around a 4040 Y-axis profile with dual steel X-axis guide rails and a one-piece machined aluminum spoilboard. It ships with an offline controller, 6 XYZ limit switches, emergency stop switches and a photoelectric Z-probe, driven by Toshiba TB6S109 drivers with 32-bit chips. Extra ports cover a 3-pin laser module, an air assistance pump and an MPG handwheel. Maximum spindle speed is 12000 rpm on 0.4 hp, and the listing states 230 volts.
Pros
- 4040 Y-axis profile with dual steel X-axis rails for rigidity
- Offline controller, 6 limit switches and emergency stop switches included
- Dedicated ports for laser module, air assist pump and MPG handwheel
- Pre-assembled gantry and base with pre-organized wiring and drag chain
Cons
- 12000 rpm and 0.4 hp trail the AnoleX 800W router
- 14.86 kg is heavier than the 15 lb Twotrees
- 230V input stated; check the outlet before planning the install
- No WiFi stated; control is the offline controller
Twotrees TTC3018 Pro
The Twotrees TTC3018 Pro is the compact starter of the 3: a 300x180x40mm work area in a 420x355x280mm frame that weighs 15 lbs. The listing states 0.1mm positioning accuracy from an all-metal Z-axis with T8 lead screws, a 775 spindle motor at 7000-9000 RPM, an ER11 collet covering 0.5-7mm and 10 included cutters. Control is a GRBL board over USB only, with no Bluetooth, WiFi or TF card slot stated, compatible with Windows XP through 10. The 40+ component assembly kit is pitched at learning axis motion principles.
Pros
- 15 lb weight and compact frame fit a desk corner
- 10 cutters and ER11 collet included, so no extra purchase to start
- 0.1mm positioning accuracy stated
- 40+ component kit suits learning and school use
Cons
- USB wired control only; no Bluetooth, WiFi or TF card slot stated
- 775 spindle at 7000-9000 RPM is the weakest drive here
- 300x180x40mm work area is the smallest here
- No emergency stop or limit switches stated
Matching the size to the project
Start from the biggest part you plan to cut, then add room for clamps and fixtures around it. Nameplates, PCB work and small relief carvings fit the 3040 class with room to spare. Sign panels, cabinet parts and batch runs of larger pieces want the 4040 class bed. When in doubt between classes, the larger machine also brings the stronger spindle and stiffer motion hardware, which pays off the first time a project moves into aluminum or brass.
Then weigh the bench and the workflow. A 15 lb machine moves aside when the desk is needed for other work; a 38 kg machine claims its bench permanently. USB-only control tethers the machine to a computer, an offline controller frees it, and WiFi plus an SD card frees it further. For a first machine, the best desktop CNC for beginners guide compares starter-friendly options.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
What does 3040 mean on a CNC router?
It names the size class. The machines here state their own figures: the Twotrees lists 300x180x40mm and the Genmitsu 11.8 x 8.1 x 3.1 in. Compare the stated work area, not the model name, when sizing a project.
Is a 4040 CNC router better for signs?
It depends on the sign size. Small nameplates and plaques fit the 3040 class easily, while larger sign panels need the bigger bed. The 4040 class also brings stronger spindles and stiffer rails, which help when signs move into hardwoods or aluminum.
Can these machines cut metal?
The listings claim some metal work: the Twotrees mentions aluminum and brass sheet, the Genmitsu titles itself an engraver for metal, and the AnoleX states ±0.02mm cutting accuracy in 6061 aluminum. Those are the makers’ claims; start with shallow passes and the speeds the software allows.
Do I need WiFi on a CNC router?
Not necessarily. The Twotrees runs over USB only, the Genmitsu adds an offline controller, and the AnoleX adds WiFi with an SD card slot. Each step up frees the machine from the computer a little more; pick the control style that matches the workshop.
What software works with these routers?
All 3 speak GRBL. The AnoleX lists UGS, Fusion360, VCarve, Easel and LightBurn among compatible programs, and the Twotrees lists GRBL, ArtCam and Fusion360. Any GRBL-compatible sender the listing names will drive the machine.
Related: the 3020 vs 4040 CNC router and 3018 vs 3040 CNC router comparisons, plus the best CNC router for sign making picks for sign work.



