Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

15×15 vs 16×20 Heat Press: Which One Should You Buy?

Four heat presses compared by platen size, pressure control, temperature range, and timer, with two 15x15 models and two 16x20 models.

15×15 vs 16×20 Heat Press: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

A small shop pressing shirts, hoodies and tote bags for orders needs a press that covers each blank per press, without swapping machines all day. This comparison looks at 15×15 vs 16×20 heat press options, with 2 presses on each side.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Verdict: Pick a 15×15 press for shirts and small blanks, and pick a 16×20 press for larger designs and bulk flat work. The HTVRONT example leads on automation, while the SmarketBuy example leads the larger side on pressure control and warranty term.

HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2

HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2

HTVRONT9.7/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An automatic 15x15 heat press with adjustable pressure, a higher pressing height, and fast, even heating for shirts and hoodies.

Pros

  • Automatic pressing after the R button, with release when the timer ends
  • Adjustable pressure up to 80 kg (170 lb)
  • Pressing height up to 4.5 cm (1.77 in) for thicker items such as hoodies
  • Heats up to 410°F within 5 minutes and 30 seconds

Cons

  • Machine weight is not stated
  • Pink is the only color listed
  • No lower temperature limit is stated
  • No timer range is stated
SmarketBuy Heat Press Machine 16x20 Inch

SmarketBuy Heat Press Machine 16x20 Inch

SmarketBuy9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16x20 clamshell heat press with a thickened plate, hydraulic rod, and digital temperature and time control for larger designs.

Pros

  • Thickened Teflon-coated plate for even, stable heat
  • Hydraulic rod for smooth clamshell opening and closing
  • Digital control of 0–400°F and a 0–999 second timer with alarm
  • 48.5 pound machine with a 2 year warranty term

Cons

  • No pressing height is stated for thicker items
  • No slide-out platen is stated
  • No stated color choice beyond Black
  • No pressure figure in kilograms or pounds is stated
VEVOR Heat Press Machine 15x15 in Slide Out Heat

VEVOR Heat Press Machine 15x15 in Slide Out Heat

VEVOR9.6/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15x15 slide-out heat press with dual-tube heating, a digital controller, and a pressure knob for shirts, bags and tiles.

Pros

  • Slide-out panel for loading without reaching under a hot plate
  • Dual-tube heating for rapid, even heat across the plate
  • Digital controller with a counter function for batch production
  • 1400W machine with a 35.0 pound weight

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No temperature range is stated
  • No timer range is stated
  • Green is the only color listed
Fancierstudio Heat Press 16x20 Lower Platen Pull

Fancierstudio Heat Press 16x20 Lower Platen Pull

Fancierstudio9.5/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16x20 clamshell heat press with a pull-out lower platen, electronic time and heat control, and a Teflon sheet included.

Pros

  • Pull-out lower platen with pull over 5.5 inch for easier loading
  • Temperature range of 0–500°F with a 0–999 second timer
  • 1800 watts with electronic time and heat control
  • Teflon sheet included with a silicon gel base board

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No machine weight is stated
  • No stated color choice beyond Black
  • No application list for shirts or tiles is stated

Side by side

Spec HTVRONT Heat Press SmarketBuy Heat Press VEVOR Heat Press Fancierstudio Press
HQ Score 79 78 68 64
Platen 15×15 inch 16×20 inch 15×15 inch 16×20 inch
Power Not stated 1700W 1400W 1800 watts
Temperature range Up to 410°F 0–400°F Not stated 0–500°F
Timer Automatic release 0–999 seconds Automatic beep or power-off 0–999 seconds
Pressure Up to 80 kg (170 lb) Adjustment knob Adjustment knob Adjustable
Weight Not stated 48.5 pounds 35.0 pounds Not stated
Warranty 1 Year Manufacturer 2 Year Manufacturer Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 3 November 2026.

Platen size and blanks

The VEVOR example lists shirts, bags, mouse pads, puzzles and ceramic tiles for its 15×15 plate. The SmarketBuy example lists T-shirts, hoodies, tote bags, mouse pads, puzzles, ceramic tiles and plates for its 16×20 plate. A wider plate presses a larger design per press.

Pressure and automation

The HTVRONT example adjusts pressure up to 80 kg (170 lb) and presses automatically after the R button is pressed, then releases the material when the timer ends. The VEVOR example uses a pressure knob and a slide-out panel for loading. The SmarketBuy example uses a hydraulic rod with a full-range pressure knob. The Fancierstudio example lists adjustable pressure with a pull-out lower platen for loading. Only the HTVRONT example states a pressure figure.

Temperature and timer

The SmarketBuy example lists 0–400°F with a 0–999 second timer and an alarm when time ends. The Fancierstudio example lists 0–500°F with a 0–999 second timer. The HTVRONT example heats up to 410°F within 5 minutes and 30 seconds and shuts off after 15 minutes without use. The VEVOR example lists digital temperature and time control but leaves the ranges unclear. Match the range to the materials you press.

Build, weight and bench room

The VEVOR example lists 35.0 pounds with a thick steel plate and aluminum die-casting. The SmarketBuy example lists 48.5 pounds with a thickened heating plate. The HTVRONT example lists machine dimensions of 20.9 inches by 17.1 inches by 13.0 inches and pressing height up to 4.5 cm (1.77 in) for thicker items such as hoodies. Machine weight is not stated for the HTVRONT or Fancierstudio examples.

The picks: 15×15 vs 16×20 heat press

Choose 15×15 if

  • You press shirts, hoodies and small blanks, and want the HTVRONT automatic press or the VEVOR slide-out panel.
  • You want a stated pressure figure, since only the HTVRONT example states one.
  • Bench room is tight and a smaller plate covers your blanks.

Choose 16×20 if

  • You press larger designs and bulk flat work, and want the SmarketBuy wider plate or the Fancierstudio pull-out platen.
  • You want a 2 year warranty term, since the SmarketBuy example states one.
  • You want a higher top temperature, since the Fancierstudio example lists 0–500°F.

For more press choices, see small business heat presses and clamshell vs swing away heat press.

Project Match

  • Shirts and hoodies: the HTVRONT example for height up to 4.5 cm (1.77 in), and the SmarketBuy example for larger shirt designs.
  • Bags, tiles and flat blanks: the VEVOR example lists bags, mouse pads, puzzles and ceramic tiles, and the SmarketBuy example lists tote bags, mouse pads, puzzles, ceramic tiles and plates.
  • Sublimation and rhinestone work: the Fancierstudio example.
  • Bulk flat work: the SmarketBuy example for larger designs and bulk projects.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

Which side suits shirts and small blanks?

A 15×15 press suits shirts and small blanks, since the HTVRONT and VEVOR examples both list 15×15 plates for shirts and similar items.

Which side suits larger designs?

A 16×20 press suits larger designs, since the SmarketBuy example lists larger designs and bulk projects for its 16×20 plate.

Do these presses state a warranty term?

The HTVRONT example states 1 Year Manufacturer and the SmarketBuy example states 2 Year Manufacturer, while the VEVOR and Fancierstudio examples state no warranty term.

What temperatures do these presses list?

The Fancierstudio example lists 0–500°F, the SmarketBuy example lists 0–400°F, and the HTVRONT example heats up to 410°F, while the VEVOR example leaves its temperature range unclear.

Related: the heat presses and sublimation hub, swing away 15×15 presses, and heat presses for hats. Also see our craft machines.

More buying guides

Heat Presses and Sublimation ·

Best Heat Press Table (2026)

Rolling workstations for heat press, sublimation and vinyl work, compared by storage, work surface and mobility.