Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Laser Module vs Spindle on Cnc Router: Which One Should You Buy?

Laser module vs spindle on CNC router compared: two diode modules for engraving and light cutting against a 500W spindle machine for milling, with listing contradictions flagged.

Laser Module vs Spindle on Cnc Router: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1LASER TREE 5W Laser ModuleLASER TREE 5W Laser Module9.5/10View on Amazon
  2. 2SainSmart Genmitsu 3020-PRO Ultra CNC Router MachineSainSmart Genmitsu 3020-PRO Ultra CNC Router Machine9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3LASER TREE 4W Laser Engraver ModuleLASER TREE 4W Laser Engraver Module9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4LASER TREE Laser Engraving ModuleLASER TREE Laser Engraving ModuleView on Amazon
  5. 5Genmitsu CFL55 Compressed Spot 5.5W FAC Laser ModuleGenmitsu CFL55 Compressed Spot 5.5W FAC Laser ModuleView on Amazon
  6. 6Genmitsu iMaticBox Relay Module Switch for CNC Router MachinesGenmitsu iMaticBox Relay Module Switch for CNC Router MachinesView on Amazon
  7. 7Genmitsu Laser Engraver ModuleGenmitsu Laser Engraver ModuleView on Amazon
  8. 8SainSmart Genmitsu CNC Router Offline Control Module for CNCSainSmart Genmitsu CNC Router Offline Control Module for CNCView on Amazon
  9. 9Genmitsu CNC Router Offline Control Module with LCDGenmitsu CNC Router Offline Control Module with LCDView on Amazon

A CNC router that can both mill and engrave is a tempting two-in-one, and the choice is between bolting on a laser module or using the spindle the machine already has. This laser module vs spindle on cnc router comparison puts two LASER TREE diode modules, a 4W and a 5W, against the WolfPawn 4040-PRO and its 500W spindle, using what each listing states. The short version: the laser burns, the spindle cuts, and both module listings contradict their own titles on power, so read them carefully.

LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Verdict: choose a laser module if the work is engraving and light cutting on wood, leather and paper, where the 4W and 5W modules’ stated figures apply. Choose the spindle side, the WolfPawn 4040-PRO with its 500W spindle and 15.7 by 15.7 by 2.9 in work area, if the work is milling, drilling and cutting sheet goods. Do not buy either module on its spec table alone: both listings contradict their own titles on power.

Machines on the list

LASER TREE 5W Laser Module

LASER TREE 5W Laser Module

LASER TREE9.5/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

5W (5000mW) diode laser module with 45mm fixed focus, metal air assist and 12V input, sold as a CNC router upgrade.

Pros

  • 5000mW optical power per the title, the stronger of the two modules
  • Metal air assist and 10000 rpm fan cooling stated
  • Rich package: adapter board, eye cover, spare glass, cable, wrench, focus plates
  • Diode lifetime up to 20,000 hours claimed

Cons

  • Title says 5W, bullets say 40W, spec table says 10W optical
  • Bullets claim 40mm focus against the 45mm fixed focus
  • No warranty term stated
  • Title claims plug-and-play, but buyers must match 12V or 24V to the driver board per the bullets
LASER TREE 4W Laser Engraver Module

LASER TREE 4W Laser Engraver Module

LASER TREE9.4/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

4W (4000mW) 450nm diode laser module with 20-50mm adjustable focus and 5V PWM control for CNC and engraver upgrades.

Pros

  • 4000mW optical power at 450nm stated
  • 20-50mm adjustable focus
  • 5V PWM control on a pluggable XH2.54-3P line
  • Compact 35 by 35 by 99.6mm body

Cons

  • Title says Class 4, bullets say Class 1
  • Spec table describes a different 20W module
  • Cuts 1-2mm plywood only, per the bullets
  • Package is the module plus a 3-pin cable only
CNC Router Machine 4040-PRO for Metal Acrylic

CNC Router Machine 4040-PRO for Metal Acrylic

WolfPawn9.4/10 HQ Score
i
The HQ Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Desktop CNC router with a 500W spindle, 15.7 by 15.7 by 2.9 in work area and GRBL control over USB.

Pros

  • 500W spindle with 52 and 65mm clamps for upgrades
  • 15.7 by 15.7 by 2.9 in work area stated
  • Full accessory kit: clamps, Z-probe, brush, wrenches, cables, manual
  • GRBL control over USB with Candle support

Cons

  • No safety features stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • 19.12 kg, not a portable machine
  • No cut depth stated for the spindle

Other machines to compare

Side by side

Spec LASER TREE 5W Module LASER TREE 4W Module WolfPawn 4040-PRO
HQ Score 63 59 58
Side Laser module Laser module Spindle on CNC router
Stated power 5W optical (5000mW) 4W optical (4000mW) 500W spindle
Focus 45mm fixed 20-50mm adjustable Not applicable
Cutting claim 4mm plywood, one pass 1-2mm plywood, one pass Milling; no depth stated
Air assist Yes, metal Not stated Not stated
Control PWM, adapter board included 5V PWM, XH2.54-3P GRBL over USB
Laser class (stated) Class 4 Class 4 in title, Class 1 in bullets Not applicable
Warranty Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, the title and bullets win over the spec table.

Laser module vs spindle on cnc router: what each one does

A laser module is a diode add-on that mounts on a CNC router or engraver and burns the work: engraving and light cutting with no contact and no chips. A spindle is the router’s own rotary motor: it spins a bit that mills, drills and cuts, removing material physically. The WolfPawn listing even frames the machine as three tools in one, a wood router, a milling machine, or a CNC router with laser, with the laser marked optional. The two sides do different jobs, so the comparison is about matching the tool to the work, not crowning one winner.

Power and cutting

The 4W module lists 4000mW of optical power at 450nm and cuts 1 to 2mm plywood in one pass. The 5W module lists 5000mW optical per its title and cuts 4mm plywood in one pass at 80 to 100mm per minute; its bullets also claim engraving 304 stainless steel at up to 800mm per minute, but that claim sits in the same bullet as the contradicted 40W figure, so treat it with care. The WolfPawn’s 500W spindle lists 0.67 hp and no cut depth at all. Note the units: optical watts for the modules and spindle watts for the router are not the same measurement, so the 500W spindle is not “100 times” the 5W module. Neither side lets you declare a cutting winner from these listings alone.

What the listings contradict

Both module listings need a careful read. On the 4W module, the title says Class 4 while the bullets say Class level: Class 1, and the spec table describes a different product entirely: 10W optical power, 12V 3.2A, fixed 45mm focus, 8mm bass plywood per pass, model 450nm 20W. Trust the title and bullets: 4W, 4000mW, adjustable 20 to 50mm focus, DC 12V 1.6A. On the 5W module, the title says 5W and 5000mW, the bullets say 40W laser module, and the spec table says 10W optical; the bullets also say 40mm focus against the 45mm fixed focus in the title and spec table, and the model number LT-40W-F40 A matches the 40W claim. Trust the title: 5W, 5000mW, 45mm fixed focus. The WolfPawn listing is the coherent one here: 500W and 0.67 hp agree with each other, and nothing in its rows fights the title.

Mounting and control

The 4W module connects through an XH2.54-3P socket with 5V PWM modulation on a pluggable control line, draws DC 12V at 1.6A, and measures 35 by 35 by 99.6mm. The 5W module takes 12V input, with the listing telling buyers to choose the 12V or 24V module to match the machine driver board; it ships with a driver adapter board and a multi-hole mounting back for different stands. The 4W listing warns that not every machine is plug and play; the 5W title claims plug-and-play, but its bullets still tell buyers to match the 12V or 24V module to the machine driver board. The WolfPawn takes a different path: it is the whole machine, with 52 and 65mm spindle clamps for upgrades, GRBL control over USB with Candle support, and a full accessory kit of clamps, Z-probe, brush, wrenches, hex keys, cables and manual.

Safety

Laser safety is where the listings matter most. The 5W module is Class 4 and ships with an eye protection cover plus a spare protective window glass, but the listing states no optical density or wavelength rating for the cover, so do not treat it as certified eyewear. The 4W module cannot decide its class: Class 4 in the title, Class 1 in the bullets, plus a note to wear appropriate safety glasses. Treat its rating as unclear and use eyewear rated for 450nm. The WolfPawn lists no safety features at all, which is normal for a bare machine listing but worth knowing. For the machines behind these tools, see our CNC routers for small business and CNC routers for sign making guides.

Choose the laser module if

  • The work is engraving and marking on wood, leather, paper, bamboo, plastic and similar materials the listings name.
  • Cutting stays light: 1 to 2mm plywood for the 4W module, 4mm for the 5W, per the bullets.
  • You already own a CNC router or engraver with 12V power and PWM control to mount it on.
  • You read the listings with the contradictions in mind and buy on the title figures.

Choose the spindle if

  • The work is milling, drilling and cutting sheet goods where a spinning bit does the job.
  • You want one machine with a stated 15.7 by 15.7 by 2.9 in work area and a full accessory kit in the box.
  • Laser work is a maybe-later: the WolfPawn listing marks the laser as optional, so the machine stands alone.

FAQ: lasers and CNC

Can a laser module cut as deep as a spindle?

The listings state 1 to 2mm plywood in one pass for the 4W module and 4mm for the 5W; the spindle listing states no cut depth. They are different processes, so the listings give no direct answer.

Will these modules fit my CNC router?

Check power and control: the 4W needs DC 12V and 5V PWM through an XH2.54-3P socket, and the 5W needs a matching 12V or 24V driver board with its adapter. The 4W listing warns that not every machine is plug and play; the 5W title claims plug-and-play but still requires matching the module voltage to the driver board.

What does the Class 4 versus Class 1 contradiction mean?

The 4W title says Class 4 and its bullets say Class 1. Treat the rating as unclear and use eyewear rated for 450nm regardless.

Does the WolfPawn 4040-PRO include a laser?

No. It ships with the 500W spindle, and the listing marks the laser as optional.

Which side is better for cutting plywood?

For thin plywood, the modules state one-pass figures of 1 to 2mm and 4mm. For thicker sheet goods, the spindle side is the milling tool, but its listing states no cut depth, so there is no stated winner.

Related: CNC routers, CNC router bits and all comparisons.

More buying guides