Glass vs Slate Coasters: Which One Should You Buy?
A maker's guide to glass vs slate coasters for laser engraving, with two drink coaster listings scored for the topic.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
2 Pack 24x36 Clear Acrylic Plexiglass Sheet 1/8 Thick Cast9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
68 Pcs Slate Coasters9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
36pcs Black Slate Coasters Bulk Set 18 Round & 18 Square9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Modern Clear Coaster Set of 5- Glass Coasters for DrinksView on Amazon - 5
Kate Aspen Clear Glass Drink Coasters Set of 48View on Amazon - 6
Set of 12 Clear DIY Glass Drink CoasterView on Amazon - 7
Glass Coasters Round Cup MatView on Amazon - 8
68 Pcs 4 Inch Square Black Slate Coasters Bulk for LaserView on Amazon - 9
48 PCS Slate Coasters BulkView on Amazon
Glass vs slate coasters is a materials question for makers who want to engrave and sell coasters: which blank should you buy. The short answer is to buy blanks sold as engraving blanks, with the material and thickness stated in the listing. The two listings in this guide are finished drink coasters rather than blanks, so read them as examples of what to check in a listing, not as engraving recommendations.
Other machines to compare
Modern Clear Coaster Set of 5- Glass Coasters for DrinksCheck price on Amazon
Kate Aspen Clear Glass Drink Coasters Set of 48Check price on Amazon
Set of 12 Clear DIY Glass Drink CoasterCheck price on Amazon
Glass Coasters Round Cup MatCheck price on Amazon
68 Pcs 4 Inch Square Black Slate Coasters Bulk for LaserCheck price on Amazon
48 PCS Slate Coasters BulkCheck price on Amazon
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Glass vs slate coasters: what the listings show
Neither of the two listings is sold as an engraving blank, and neither mentions laser engraving. The slate side of the comparison has no listing here at all. What the listings do give us is a clear look at how to read a coaster listing: stated material, size, count and finish.
The OGANAZI set is the glass example. The title describes a set of 5 tempered glass coasters in amber, 4 inches across with a 3.6 inch inner diameter and 0.5 inch height, with stripes and a raised decorative border on the underside. The bullets say dishwasher safe, but the spec table says Hand Wash Only; trust the bullets and confirm with the seller. Note the count conflict: the title and bullets say a set of 5, while the spec table says “Set of 8 Pack” with a unit count of 1. Trust the title and bullets here, and confirm the count before ordering. The spec table also lists the material as “Glass + Brass” against a “Material Type” of glass, while the bullets describe tempered glass; treat the brass mention as an open question for the seller.
The Lazebox set sits entirely outside the glass vs slate question. Its listing states cotton and linen coasters, 4 inches across, in a set of 8 with 4 colors and a metal holder, hand wash only. Cotton and linen are neither glass nor slate, and nothing in the listing suggests engraving use. It scores lowest here for that reason: it is a table-protection product, not a maker material.
| Listing check | OGANAZI glass set | Lazebox set |
|---|---|---|
| Stated material | Tempered glass | Cotton and linen |
| Count | 5 per title (spec table says 8) | 8 |
| Size | 4 in across, 0.5 in tall | 4 in across |
| Sold as an engraving blank | Not stated | Not stated |
What to check in a coaster blank listing
When you shop for real engraving blanks, check these five things, using the listings above as the worked example. First, the stated material: glass or slate should appear by name, the way the OGANAZI listing states tempered glass and the Lazebox listing states cotton and linen. Second, thickness: the OGANAZI listing gives 0.5 inch, while the Lazebox listing states none, which leaves too much unknown for a blank. Third, dimensions: both listings state 4 inches, a common coaster size. Fourth, count: compare the title against the spec table, because the OGANAZI listing disagrees with itself. Fifth, any finish or coating note, since coatings change how a blank behaves; neither listing states one for engraving purposes.
If a listing fails most of these checks, it is probably a finished home product rather than a blank. Both listings here fail the blank check, which is why neither earns a recommendation for engraving work.
Two listings, scored for engraving use
Ranked for the engraving topic, the OGANAZI glass set leads because tempered glass is at least the glass side of the question, while the Lazebox set trails because cotton and linen sit outside the topic entirely. Neither is sold as an engraving blank, so both score low.
OGANAZI tempered glass coasters. The glass material keeps it relevant to the glass side, and the listing states useful figures: 4 inch outer diameter, 3.6 inch inner, 0.5 inch height and amber color. The bullets say dishwasher safe, but the spec table says Hand Wash Only. The count contradiction (title says 5, spec table says 8) and the stray “Glass + Brass” material line cost it: confirm both with the seller before buying. It is still a finished drink coaster, not a blank.
Lazebox cotton and linen coasters. A set of 8 soft coasters with a metal holder, made for table protection and home decor. The listing is clear about what it is, which is exactly why it scores lowest for this guide: cotton and linen are not glass or slate, and nothing here serves an engraving project.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
Can you laser engrave these coasters?
Neither listing says so. Both are sold as finished drink coasters, and neither mentions laser engraving or blanks. If you want engraved coasters, buy blanks whose listings state engraving use.
What sizes are the coasters in this guide?
Both listings state 4 inches across. The OGANAZI listing adds a 3.6 inch inner diameter and 0.5 inch height; the Lazebox listing states no thickness.
How many coasters come in each set?
The Lazebox listing states a set of 8. The OGANAZI title and bullets say a set of 5, while its spec table says “Set of 8 Pack”; trust the title and confirm the count before ordering.
Which listing is closer to a glass engraving blank?
The OGANAZI set, because its stated material is tempered glass, while the Lazebox set is cotton and linen. Neither is sold as a blank, so neither is a real answer.
What should a real engraving blank listing state?
Material by name, thickness, dimensions and count, all agreeing between the title and the spec table. The two listings here show why each check matters: one has a count conflict, the other states no thickness.
Related: our slate coasters for laser engraving picks, how to laser engrave slate and the engraving materials hub.



