Best Largest FDM 3D Printer (2026): 4 Picks Compared
Four large-format FDM printers compared by build volume, speed, multi-color printing, auto leveling and warranty, from a 220 mm cube to a 260 mm cube.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallAnycubic Kobra X Farm9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best BuildFlashforge AD5X9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Best for BeginnersAnycubic Kobra X Home9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
Best Open SourceOriginal Prusa MK4S9.6/10View on Amazon
A big print starts with a big idea: a full-size helmet, a tall vase, a multi-part costume piece or a batch of shop fixtures, all in a single run instead of glued segments. This guide compares the best largest fdm 3d printer picks for makers who want room to print large, in color, without splitting every model.
Four machines were compared on build volume, rated speed, color printing, auto leveling and warranty, using only what each listing states. The volumes run from 220 mm cubes to 260 mm cubes, with one listing giving its print size in inches instead.
LaserEngraveHQ earns a commission from purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Anycubic Kobra X Farm: 260 mm volume, 600 mm/s, 4 colors native and up to 19 with expansion. Check price on Amazon
- Best Build Flashforge AD5X: All-metal Core XY frame, 4-color IFS and a 300°C nozzle. Check price on Amazon
- Best for Beginners Anycubic Kobra X Home: A project in 15 minutes with 49-point auto leveling. Check price on Amazon
- Best Open Source Original Prusa MK4S: Open-source design with input shaping and a 1 kg spool included. Check price on Amazon
Machines on the list

ANYCUBIC Kobra X 3D Printer, Native 4-Color
A 260 mm cube FDM printer built for batch production, with native 4-color printing that expands to 19 colors, 49-point auto leveling and an AI camera for fleet monitoring.
Pros
- 260 x 260 x 260 mm build volume for large single-piece prints
- Native 4-color printing, expandable to 19 colors with 4 ACE 2 Pro units
- 600 mm/s rated speed with a Benchy in 14 minutes
- 49-point LeviQ 3.0 auto leveling with 720P AI camera monitoring
Cons
- Print head warranty is 3 months and heated bed 6 months, shorter than the 1 year headline
- Fleet tools suit multi-printer setups more than one home printer
- No enclosure or filtration is stated in the listing
- Reaching 19 colors needs 4 ACE 2 Pro units beyond the native 4-color setup

FLASHFORGE AD5X Multi-Color 3D Printer 4 Colors
A 220 mm cube FDM printer with 4-color printing through an Intelligent Filament System, an all-metal Core XY frame and a nozzle rated to 300°C.
Pros
- All-metal Core XY frame for stability during printing
- 4-color printing with IFS filament detection and refill
- 600 mm/s rated speed with 20,000 mm/s acceleration
- Nozzle rated to 300°C with flexible TPU support
Cons
- 220 mm cube is smaller than the 260 mm Kobra X volumes
- No camera monitoring is stated in the listing
- No enclosure or filtration is stated in the listing
- The listing states no multi-color expansion beyond 4 colors

Anycubic Kobra X Multicolor 3D Printer
The same 260 mm cube Kobra X hardware in a beginner and family listing, with 4-color printing built in, 49-point auto leveling and quiet operation.
Pros
- 260 x 260 x 260 mm build volume with 4-color printing built in
- A project in as little as 15 minutes, per the listing
- 49-point LeviQ 3.0 auto leveling
- Operation at no more than 48 dB, plus power loss recovery and filament run-out sensors
Cons
- This listing describes the same Kobra X model as the farm listing, so the two picks overlap
- No enclosure or filtration is stated in the listing
- Reaching 19 colors needs 4 ACE 2 Pro units beyond the built-in 4 colors
- Print head 3 months and heated bed 6 months warranty limits apply

Original Prusa MK4S Fully Assembled High-Speed FDM
A fully assembled desktop FDM printer with input shaping for clean edges, an open-source upgradeable design and a 1 kg spool in the box.
Pros
- Input shaping reduces ringing for sharper edges at higher speeds
- Open-source design with long-term firmware updates and hardware upgrade paths
- Fully assembled with a 1 kg spool of Prusament PLA Galaxy Black included
- Lifetime technical assistance and professional customer support from Prusa Research
Cons
- No rated print speed is stated in the listing
- No auto leveling is stated in the listing
- Print size is listed in inches while the other picks list millimeters, so compare with care
- No multi-color printing is stated in the listing
Specs compared
| Model | HQ Score | Build volume | Rated speed | Colors | Auto leveling | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anycubic Kobra X Farm | 9.7/10 | 260 x 260 x 260 mm | 600 mm/s | 4 native, up to 19 | LeviQ 3.0, 49-point | 1 year |
| Flashforge AD5X | 9.7/10 | 220 x 220 x 220 mm | 600 mm/s | 4 | Fully auto | 12 months |
| Anycubic Kobra X Home | 9.7/10 | 260 x 260 x 260 mm | 600 mm/s | 4 built-in, up to 19 | LeviQ 3.0, 49-point | 1 year |
| Original Prusa MK4S | 9.6/10 | 9.84 x 8.3 x 8.6 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 1 year |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 3 November 2026. Build volume is the print size each listing states.
Buying guide: choosing the best largest fdm 3d printer
Build volume first
Volume decides whether a model prints in a single piece. The two Kobra X listings state 260 x 260 x 260 mm, while the AD5X states 220 x 220 x 220 mm, and the Prusa listing states 9.84 x 8.3 x 8.6 in. When one listing gives inches and another gives millimeters, compare the stated figures with care rather than assuming they match.
Speed and color
Three listings rate speed at 600 mm/s, and the Prusa listing states no rated speed. Color separates the field further: the Kobra X listings print 4 colors native and expand to 19 colors with 4 ACE 2 Pro units, the AD5X prints 4 colors through its IFS, and the Prusa listing states no multi-color printing.
Leveling and monitoring
Auto leveling decides how much setup each print needs. Both Kobra X listings use LeviQ 3.0 with a 49-point mesh, the AD5X states fully auto leveling, and the Prusa listing states no auto leveling. The Kobra X listings add a 720P camera with AI monitoring, while the AD5X and Prusa listings state no camera.
Ventilation and materials
FDM printing feeds filament through a heated nozzle and lays it down layer by layer, and the listings here state nozzle temperatures up to 300°C. None of the four listings states an enclosure or filtration, so plan ventilation for the room where the printer runs. Check the material list too: the home Kobra X listing names PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA and ASA, while the AD5X listing names flexible TPU.
Project Match
- Multi-color display models: Anycubic Kobra X Farm or Anycubic Kobra X Home, with 4 colors native and up to 19 colors with 4 ACE 2 Pro units.
- Large single-piece prints: Anycubic Kobra X Farm or Anycubic Kobra X Home, at 260 x 260 x 260 mm.
- Flexible parts: Flashforge AD5X, which states flexible TPU printing, or Anycubic Kobra X Home, which names TPU among its materials.
- Functional parts and prototypes: Original Prusa MK4S, which the listing positions for functional parts and detailed prototypes.
- Small-shop batch production: Anycubic Kobra X Farm, with fleet management through the Anycubic App and object skipping.
How the scores add up
Each machine is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing. None of the four listings states a safety certification, so safety scores nothing here, and warranty scores only where a concrete term is stated.
| Product | HQ Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anycubic Kobra X Farm | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 3 |
| Flashforge AD5X | 9.7 | 29 | 22 | 19 | n/a | 3 |
| Anycubic Kobra X Home | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a | 3 |
| Original Prusa MK4S | 9.6 | 26 | 22 | 19 | n/a | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
FAQ: lasers and CNC
What is the largest FDM 3D printer here?
The Kobra X listings state 260 x 260 x 260 mm, the largest metric volume here.
How does an FDM 3D printer work?
An FDM printer feeds filament through a heated nozzle and lays it down layer by layer to build the model. The listings here state nozzle temperatures up to 300°C and rated speeds of 600 mm/s.
Are FDM 3D printers toxic?
The listings here state no emissions or filtration figures, so emissions are Not stated. Print in a ventilated room and follow the guidance in each listing.
Is FDM 3D printing food safe?
None of the four listings states food-safe certification for printed parts, so food contact is Not stated. Do not assume a printed part is food safe from the material name alone.
Related: the FDM 3D printer hub and all 3D printer lists. Also see our PETG vs ASA filament, PLA vs silk PLA and best rack for 3D printers.



